We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kimberley Grande
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Reviewed June 30, 2014

They've done a solid job of doing up an old motel, with some decent bedding and nice fittings, turning it into a swish-looking hotel. It looks rather more luxurious on the website than in reality, however it's perfectly acceptable and one of the better options in Kununurra.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graceful_Hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at The Kimberley Grande, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Londoner1879,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
I believe that the Kimberley Grande is the most distinctive type of property in Kununurra with its magnificent sand stone structure, the elements of the Kimberley can be harsh and our maintenance team do a great job to ensure that the resort is kept up to scratch for our lovely guests.
The finer points such as bedding and fittings also ensure that guests feel comfortable whilst staying with us and the large rooms give a sense of space that the region is famous for.
You are correct in your statement that the Kimberley Grande is one of the better locations to stay at in town, I personally believe its the only place you need to stay.
Thank you again for your review and also for choosing to stay with us, I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Mark Shannon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 230 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here two nights. The location is slightly out of town but fine with a car. They picked us up from the airport. The room was spacious. We had a garden room but the view was average as we looked across to the other units. Lack of chairs on balcony but staff found some for us when asked, although these were removed before we even go to enjoy them. Not sure if by staff or other guests. Good size shower, bathroom. The pool area was of generous size.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at The Kimberley Grande, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear BSGB,

Thank you for staying at the Kimberley Grande and also your recent review.
I am glad you enjoyed the 2 days you stayed with us and that in general your experince at the hotel was a good one.
The large room seems to have pleased along with our lovely large pool area.
I hope if you return to Kununurra you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Mark Shannon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I arived in the afternoon and I would have gone for a swim in their magnificent pool had I not wanted to go straight out and get some sunset photos. I went straight across the road and got this shot of the boab by the river. I didn't get a great deal of time to take too many photos and I think a car would have certainly helped in this remote locaion.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming and I was comfortable as soon as got there. My room was very spacious and it felt very appropriate to the surrounds. I loved the cowhide rug under the coffee table and the furnishing were very nice. The room had a very classic country feel to it and the bathroom felt quite elegant with it's big wooden framed mirror and raised sink.

I ate at their sports bar one night and the steak was very well cooked and tender, the sides were delicious and the beer was nice and cold. I didn't eat at their restaurant but it looked very nice.

They reccomended the Pumphouse Restaurant and Bar for some nice food with a view of the river and then drove us there as they weren't sure how long we would have to wait for a taxi.

Kununurra's taxi service is not the most reliable and finishes at about 10pm so if you get home plan to do so early. The hotel staff were well aware of this and offered lifts when they had the time to do so. They even gave me a lift to the airport on the last day.

It just felt like the manager went the extra mile for us at every available opportunity.

Room Tip: If you want to take good photos I think some transport to explore would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiguelGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at The Kimberley Grande, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear MiguelGallagher,

Firstly let me say thank you on behalf of our hard working team for the kind words regarding your stay and of the service you were so impressed with.
We have had a many visitors recently who are keen photographers, staying at the Kimberley Grande is ideal for anyone with this passion as we are situated just across the road from some gorgeous scenery such as Lily Lagoon and alike.
I am glad you appreciated the style of the property and the touches that have been included to remind guests of the unique area of which is the Kimberley.
You mentioned you enjoyed the dining experience in the Sports Bar that is perfect for a casual night out, it's great you also got to experience some of the other quality dining available in town and is re assuring to all that there is plenty of quality in Kununurra.
Once again for your kind words and I hope to welcome you back to the Grande again soon.

Kind Regards

Mark Shannon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on our trip around the Kimberley. Room was spacious, cool, clean and comfortable. Staff were very helpful, friendly and professional. The attached restaurant and bar were great. Lovely food, no rush to get into town for a meal. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Admittedly no room service but you can pick up your meal and take it back to your room. Lovely park opposite. Pool was enormous. A bit of a walk into town but nothing too taxing. Laundry facilities available at a cost. All in all really happy we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal and Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at The Kimberley Grande, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Hello Mal & Denise B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your 2 night stay at the Kimberley Grande.
We are lucky that so many of our guests take the time to offer information to other travelers looking to make their way to Kununurra and our property.
The information that you have offered is a perfect snapshot of our facilities and service, it is also one that so many other guests have agreed with.
At this point the Kimberley Grande has the most reviews of any property in Kununurra and our rating on Tripadvisor consists of mosty 4 then 5 stars which is a great indicator for anyone looking to visit.
As always I will pass on your comments of how friendly and professional our team are, I will also inform our Food & Beverage team that you loved our dining and bar.
Thank you for staying at the Kimberley Grande and we would love to look after you if you ever make it back to Kununurra.

Kind Regards

Mark Shannon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This oasis of a hotel was very welcomed by us after crossing the outback. The room was large and comfortable, the restaurant was very good with a good menu and excellent food. The pool was fantastic, clean and large. Service was very good throughout the hotel. One of the best hotels we experienced across 5000 kms of Australia.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms and above are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestyTweedValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at The Kimberley Grande, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Hello WestyTweedValley,

To quote your review "One of the best hotels we experienced across 5000 kms of Australia" is a wonderful endorsement for our property.
I an glad you enjoyed the Kimberley Grande and that each department has had a posative experience for your stay.
As a manager it is great to hear that the service was great throughtout the property and I can assure you that I will be passing this information onto the team.
Your journey (5000km) must have taken you through some fantastic areas of Australia and the thought that we have helped makes this a special experience is very satisfying.
I am sure you were ready for a dip in the best resort pool in the Kimberley followed by the excellent dining on site.
Thank you very much for choosing the Kimberley Grande and if you ever make it back to Kununurra we would love to look after you again.

Kind Regards

Mark Shannon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I stayed at the Pinctada Kimberley Grande for 1 night. The room was really spacious, stylish and very clean, bathroom and shower area was massive and the concrete flooring and walls made it nice and cool inside. I ordered off the in room menu and went to collect it from the grill restaurant. The meal was delicious and very well priced. The staff seemed very friendly. I enjoyed my stay at The Kimberely Grande, I would stay there again if I was ever in Kununurra again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at The Kimberley Grande, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Varns,
Thank you for the recent review you have taken time to post.
Your post has mentioned most elements (other than our fantastic pool) of our property and you seemed to be genuinely happy with everything.
It is nice that you took the time to mention our friendly and helpful staff, I believe we have the best team in the Kimberley and will pass on the point.
You also mentioned the delicious meal that you had, once again I believe we have the best dining in the Kimberley and will make sure the kitchen team are aware of your comments.
We would love to see you back at the Kimberley Grande should you be able to make it back into Kununurra.
Kind Regards

Mark Shannon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed 4 star no way more like 3 .room service yes but you must go and get your meal.1 movie channel.old rooms .furniture p.ss poor .must have been nice 10 years .ago.overpriced overstated.very disappointed

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjbAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at The Kimberley Grande, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

rjbAustralia,
I would generally start my reviews with a thank you but in this instance it is very difficult.
There does not seem to be anything about the property you were happy with, which is very disappointing as it is a long way to come to not enjoy.
I believe our star rating on Tripadvisor speaks for itself with the majority of reviews rating our property as 4 star and a high percentage believing the resort is worthy of 5 stars.
I do hope you had the opportunity to enjoy some of the region however as you did not give a review on the area I fear there was little you have found to your liking which is unusual.
Should you choose to return we would be more than happy to offer you some great insight into the Wonderful Kimberley.

Regards

Mark Shannon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.1 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.6 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
#5 of 10 in Kununurra
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#3 of 10 in Kununurra
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberley Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberley Grande

Address: 20 Victoria Hwy, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Price Range: $116 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberley Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberley Grande is the premier resort destination in Kununurra, the perfect place to use as a base whilst exploring the Kimberley's ancient landscape. Tranquillity and relaxing atmosphere awaits our guests to rejuvenate before embarking on the next adventure within the untouched beauty of the Kimberley’s. Our 72 rooms are very spacious, stylish and modern, all fully equipped with air-conditioning, 55 inch plasma TV’s, tea and coffee facilities and extra-large showers. All rooms have a 3.5m sliding door / window that lets in an abundance of natural light. Outdoor seating is provided to enjoy the full beauty of the Kimberley outback and our resort in which our beautiful gardens and palms surround our 25m swimming pool. The Kimberley Grande also has 5 luxurious spa suites. The Kimberley Grande is famous for its typical pleasant outback hospitality. Our aim is to ensure your stay with us is a highlight of your Kimberley experience. Free WIFI is available for all guests. Our guests can indulge in the exquisite dishes at our onsite restaurant indoor or in our courtyard. Alternatively, guest may choose to eat by the pool, our outside front deck or in the Sports Bar with its multiple large screens and range of international sports. Just 2 minutes from our town centre by car and 4 minutes from the airport - The Kimberley Grande sits across from the picturesque Celebrity Tree Park along with the sparking Lily Creek Lagoon. The legendary Boab trees line the front of the property. Onsite parking available for guests extends from just cars to those with camper trailers or motorhomes. Airport transfers are available. Tour desk on site. The Kimberley Grande is under new management and is no longer operated by Pinctada Hotels & Resorts Pty Ltd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kimberley Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Grande Kununurra
The Kimberley Grande Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing