We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy - Great Staff”

Kununurra Visitor Centre
Ranked #8 of 35 things to do in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Kununurra Visitor Centre is a not-for-profit organisation that is a self funded visitor Centre (not local government), so pop in for a chat, book your tours and accommodation and help us keep this great service available for all to enjoy. We should always be your first point of call when visiting Kununurra and The East Kimberley. Our friendly and extremely knowledgeable staff will be able to get you on the right track! We have a fantastic relationship with all of our members and this means we can ensure that you get all of the options available. Make your booking with us too as we offer a free booking service for tours and accommodation throughout the Kimberley.
port pirie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Happy - Great Staff”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Liked everything - very helpfull in booking tours and very knowledgable or will ring operators to find out extra info. A must vist point if in the area

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank aussieharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    38
    18
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Why can't all Visitor Centres be like this?”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Couldn't fault the help we received here for information on the town and our forthcoming trip on the Gibb River Road. The lady (sorry cannot remember her name) knew her stuff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wad6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a joke.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lots of staff but what for i dont know.Some of them just dont have a clue.We booked our tours else where these people are just their....thats it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terrilee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia D, Manager at Kununurra Visitor Centre, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your review.
It is very unusual to hear the staff were less than attentive and disappointing that that caused you to book your tours elsewhere. The KVC is a not for profit visitor centre and we receive commissions from operators which funds our free services for visitors.
The KVC prides itself on great customer service and I'm disappointed that you did not have a good experience. I hope that you will visit our wonderful region again as well as use local visitor centres on your future travels.
I would be interested to hear the actual reasons for your poor review too help us improve, please email me at manager@visitkununurra.com.

Thanks Again.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth stopping in.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The service their is a joke,they dont know that much at all you are better off grabbing a pamphlet or asking a local,this place is just a joke.They have quite a few staff but you could be standing their for ages before anyone decides to help you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia D, Manager at Kununurra Visitor Centre, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for your review. I can assure you that all the staff at the KVC are locals that have lived in the area for many years, some have been with the KVC for over 10 years. I apologise that the wait time may have been longer than expected, the staff see an average of 600 people through the door per day as well as hundreds of enquiries per day over phone and email. I'm disappointed that you did not have a good experience and I hope that you will visit our wonderful region again as well as use local visitor centres on your future travels.
I would be interested to hear the actual reasons for your poor review too help us improve, please email me at manager@visitkununurra.com.

Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You really need transport to do it justice”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Staff are very helpful at the centre. No free internet at the centre, you sometimes find there is free internt for an hour or so at the visitors centre. Car hire is extremely expensive and without a car there was very little to be seen, the Mirima National park is well worth a visit and is walking distance. There are tours available but really expensive and not always available if they cannot get numbers which happened to me. I really enjoyed the museum too - local volunteer was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NualaOSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kununurra Visitor Centre also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Kununurra Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing