We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoochery Distillery

Hoochery Distillery
Ranked #11 of 34 things to do in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hoochery Distillery is closed for the holidays from Dec 24 until early February. Our rums are available via mail order or from the bottle-shop (check our stockist list on facebook for a stockist near you. See you in 2017
Carnarvon WA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Alcohol was expensive for what it was, but the food was reasonably priced and this is a nice place to stop for lunch after visiting the nearby sandalwood factory.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    35
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ah the cake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We have visited Kununurra two years in a row and each time have been out to the Hoochery not for the rum but for the cakes. Though they are well flavored with rum they are scrumptious. It's a nice place to sit either inside or outside and just enjoy the day with a coffee/tea and cake.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Dropped in the Hoochery, not really expecting much as my partner and I don't like rum (not really sure what lead us there to be honest!!) but so glad we did. We grabbed a slice of Rum Cake and the Cheesecake and two non-rum drinks and the cakes were fantastic. They were both very rummy (luckily I don't mind it in food) and a strong taste of molasses in both but they were fantastic. In fact I have emailed them for the recipe and I would be happy to buy a bottle of rum in order to make the cake! Would make a perfect Christmas cake.
Great little set up on the working farm, perfect to drop in for a beer even if you don't like the sound of the cake....and the Sandalwood factory down the road is another great stop too.
Didnt realise there was a tour but would have been interesting I think.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DS-Team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrabundah
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Rum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Don't miss the opportunity to sample the best rum in Western Australia bar none. I was driving past and spotted the brewery and thought why not go in. I was not expecting a lot but I found that the staff were very friendly and had a lot of local information. Then the surprise they offered me a sample of the rums giving 2 nips for $5. Well I want to buy the lot but I was a long way from home (Canberra) so I only bought a single bottle of the top of the range at 76% by volume alcohol but it was very smooth not tasting overall strong. I wish I could have bought the full range but I only had a small suitcase with me and was flying out next morning so I did not want to carry too much breakable items. The rum I did buy came in a lovely wooden crate and was well protected. It survived the trip home but has since been sampled with much pleasure.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gordon35au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Coffee & cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had coffee, cake & rum tasters. Great atmosphere, excellent rum cake.
The cane royale liqueur is really nice, would make a great gift
Well worth the trip out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoochery Distillery also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Hoochery Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing