We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of Faraway Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kununurra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Faraway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My partner and I spent 3 fantastic nights at faraway bay last week. It really is an experience not to be missed. The flight out there is wonderfully scenic passing over the King George Falls and the remote kimberley landscape. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Kevin and his lovely staff and then set off to see some Bradshaw rock art. My partner indicated he loved mud crabs so in the afternoon we ventured out on the boat for some sightseeing and fishing and Kevin dragged out his pots and we dropped them off along our way. We saw some some awesome sights ,swum in some lovely rock pools, fished , walked along shelled beaches, were served fantastic food and enjoyed great company at the end of the day sitting around the camp fire. The highlight for me was our day out on the boat to visit the King George Falls, we stopped off at lots of secret spots along the way and ended up at the magnificent KIng George- we managed to climb to the top ( with the help of the lovely Beth and Colleen to guide us) and then after our descent were showered under the falls followed by a glass of champagne- Beth you took some great photos! Thank you so much Kevin, you do an amazing job in such a remote landscape. Thanks also to Gemma and the girls for making our stay so enjoyable

Room Tip: All rooms have great views out to the bay and an outdoor shower that is great to watch the sunset fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southpawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We are so pleased that enjoyed your stay at Faraway Bay and got to experience the Amazing Kimberley and the Iconic King George Falls - it is truely amazing. No doubt you would have been relaxed and rejuvenated when you returned home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    1
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
26
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I visited Faraway Bay for the second time and were very disappointed in the level of service that we received this time. The area is indeed breathtakingly gorgeous, and the flight out is wonderful. They need to raise the bar on their service ethic if they continue to charge the rates that they are asking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graydon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback always appreciate guests views on their stay at our Wilderness Retreat. Sorry you felt disappointed with the service you received during your stay in May. Our other guests in May were extremely happy with everything so not sure what happened in your instance. Will as always work on providing the best service and experience for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Wonderfully run to provide an experience that is literally unique due to location, friendliness, and quality. The site allows access to unspoiled beauty, and the management work to ensure that guests are treated to a variety of activities that show the beauty, culture, and wilderness of the place. The food is excellent, and the resort cultivates friendships. Just the best.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank egtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

What a magic place.As a sole traveller it was not just the fun activities and the surroundings but the ease with which you make friends of the people you meet. There seems to be a special spirit about the place that binds everyone together,guests and staff.Loved sitting around the campfire chatting swapping stories drinking quality wine and eating superb food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay Ross, it is the perfect place to travel especially if you are a single traveller - as you said has a special bonding feeling - that is what we try to provide and experience for all guests - and old school communication - all sit around and talk! no mod cons/ phones/ipads to distract people
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a great 4 day/4 night stay at Faraway Bay Bush Camp - starting with a fantastic hour-long flight from Kununurra. FB is really laid-back, remote without the usual hardships of being remote... very comfortable ensuited cabins each with its own outside shower with a magnificent view. Food is excellent and plentiful - including lots of fresh fish after successful fishing excursions each day interspersed with exploring beaches, inlets, waterfalls and croc-safe swimming holes. Sunrise is gorgeous to watch - especially from the rocky outcrop behind the camp; sunsets are wonderful too - and the night sky.... well, you don't get to see the stars like that very often if you live in urban areas. Many thanks to Kevin, BJ and Gemma - as well as others at FB at the same time as us .... Ross, Gerval, Emily, Ben & Ian .... for all being part of our very enjoyable, restful and memorable stay at FB.

Room Tip: Can't speak for the other cabins, but the view from cabin 3 is magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We are thrilled you enjoyed your "Escape to Faraway Bay" and no doubt you were rested and rejuvenated when you left - our job was done
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed for seven days, zipped along pristine coast in the boat to find "secret' waterfalls and swimming holes, clambered up the ranges to find amazing rock art, stopped along the way to catch great fish which we enjoyed that night, ate great food, sat on a rock outlook sipping champagne watching the sun set, had a few great reds, saw huge crocks, sharks , big pythons,endangered quolls, supurb sea eagles, drank from "the fountain of youth", it does not get any better than this magnificent remote haven. Kevin and first mate Gemma (ask for her rocky road) worked tirelessly to ensure that we had the most wonderful experience

Room Tip: All rooms offer amazing views across the magnificent bay, rooms are not opulent but are comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Far Away Bay in July and were very lucky that is was just the 2 of us, and we were celebrating his birthday so extra special!
The plane journey itself all to yourself is amazing and as you spot the bay before landing, you really get the sense that all that is here, is the bay itself, the rest is outback!
We were picked up in a safari type jeep and taken to the camp, the view of the ocean from the lodge and the cabins is breathtaking and we couldn’t believe we had this place all to ourselves!
The cabins are a double bed, a toilet and a cool eco shower so you can look over the ocean, they looked lovely with gift packs left for our arrival, and views that make it feel like 5 star luxury!
Breakfast and coffees were awaiting us with a selection of juices, fresh fruit and yogurts, cereal toast and homemade muesli as well as the option of bacon and eggs - quite a choice! Whilst we enjoyed our breakfast seated at the dining table in the lodge covered with shells and overlooking the cliffs, and water and shark and croc spotting, the staff were busy preparing for our day out. Muffins appeared out of the oven for morning tea and as hot lunch was packed away esky's were filled with cold drinks, water, beer and wine!
Off we went to the amazing King George falls, but this is by no means a single trip there and back, we stopped at deserted beaches, learned about the history of the area and shipwrecks from WW2, we were taken to the “Black hole” where we climbed over rocks and swam in a pool with a waterfall, we drank from the fountain of youth, where we also saw a croc sunbaking on the rocks! All this before we travelled up the magnificent king George river, which really is like out of a movie, after taking pics and dipping under the water of the falls, we found a shady spot for lunch were pastries and homemade Lasagna and salads were accompanied with wine and beer – never had a lunch like that before in a place like that!
On the way home we stopped to try and catch a fish, and wow we got lucky, Kev said he knew a good afternoon spot for big snapper and we had only dropped the lines for about 5 minutes and they started biting! I got a big one first and then another, so beat my boyfriend on the fish count haha!

On return home we relaxed and showered, enjoyed the beautiful sunset and then return to the lodge for dinner, quite a transformation in the dark! A fire was roaring, candles were lit, the table was set and Kevin and Gemma were preparing yet another wonderful feast, we sat and sipped on wine till our entrees arrived, and wow what a platter! For dinner was our catch of the day, presented a la carte style we sat and dined with Kevin and Gemma and talked about our days and Kevin told us stories about Far away Bay and how it all came to be. He then informed us of our next adventure to see some rock art the next day, we set a time for breakfast and headed off to bed after a wonderful dessert, feeling well and truly spoilt!

Breakfast was as planned and lunch was on the go again and we set off in the 4 wheel drive again.
The rock art is really like nothing I have seen before and both Kevin and Gemma are great guides in clambering over rocks and the history and knowledge they have of the wildlife and the art.
We had a few different walks and they were all different so there is an opportunity for people of all levels to see something, which is great.
Lunch was planned at a “Billabong” which when we arrived by the water there was already a picnic table and canoes awaiting for sit down meal and a serene paddle in the peaceful water.
We arrived home a little earlier today and then to our surprise were offered if we would like a sunset trip, as it was Jack’s Birthday we thought this would be perfect.
It was a short drive to the top of the cliff and we were left to look over the views with a fab cheese platter, and bubbly – perfect!
Entrees were still presented despite the fact we had eaten so much cheese, diner was a scrumptious roast lamb which fell to pieces, and dessert was a fab cheesecake, accompanied with candles and sparklers to mark the birthday event.
After a wine by the fire and more chatting with Kevin and Gemma off to bed went, sad to think we were leaving this paradise in the morning!
As we headed off the next day we thanked Kevin and Gemma for our stay and truly meant that, they worked very hard to make our trip so special, and clearly love their jobs, which makes it a fascinating and fabulous place to be.
It’s a shame people have not posted more reviews about this place, as I will never forget our time here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
162.9 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
129.2 mi away
Home Valley Station
Home Valley Station
#1 of 17 in Kununurra
213 reviews
147.9 mi away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#6 of 17 in Kununurra
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
158.2 mi away
The Berkeley River
The Berkeley River
#3 of 17 in Kununurra
117 reviews
162.4 mi away
El Questro The Station
El Questro The Station
#5 of 17 in Kununurra
240 reviews
162.7 mi away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#4 of 10 in Kununurra
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faraway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faraway Bay

Property: Faraway Bay
Address: Diamond Coast, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kununurra
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Faraway Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote wilderness property on the Timor Sea. Fly in / fly out only, no road access. Unique open air lodge and cabins - an outback experience with comfort. Daily Tours - King George Falls, Billabongs, Fishing, Rock Art, Nature Tours - all included in Day Rate. Unique Australian Outback experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Faraway Bay Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing