We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magic Place”
Review of Emma Gorge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emma Gorge Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2009

I loved Emma Gorge, we stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. We stayed in the luxury tents that were very comfortable with wooden floors, ensuite and fan. It was very hot about 40 degrees each day so it was too hot to go inside the tent during the day. The pool was a popular spot to cool down. The walk to Emma Gorge is a must. The staff at Emma Gorge Resort were fabulous, nothing was too much trouble. I also thought the meals were of a high standard considering the location. A great place to stay in the Australian Outback

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 183 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2009

El Questro has a series of stunning gorges, hikes, bush walks, hot springs and look outs. Each day was filled with hiking alongside small streams up narrow gorges to waterfalls cascading into pure pools at the top of each gorge.

Emma Gorge Resort (where we stayed) was an outstanding accompaniment to this amazing landscape. all accommodation is in tented cabins - decking, fibre board walls and a canopy roof - that all include decent individual bathrooms. Only issue - watch out for the frogs that will want to find their way into the bathroom and jump on you at night! Once you are aware this surprise is easily avoided!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tygr_tygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Stayed at the Emma Gorge Resort, part of El Questro, for 4 nights in Easter 2009 with my partner.
Numerous pluses;
+ great location to explore the Kimberley, including many lovely (albeit reasonably short - no more than 3-4 hour) walks on the El Questro property. Highlight was El Questro gorge - beautiful natural pools to swim in.
+ great service... helpful and friendly staff, genuinely loving being there, no "attitude"
+ fantastic food... i don't know how they do it, to be honest. And they were comfortable with us taking our own wine to dinner, which was great (their range is OK if you don't, though).
+ lovely pool, 2+ m depth, to cool down in at the end of the day
+ access to the El Questro facilities without paying the Homestead rates
+ no mobile phone reception, and you can forget about wireless broadband too. lovely :-)

A few minuses;
- Emma Gorge has permanent tents - not really like real camping (which was a plus for me!). Facilities in them are limited though. For example, there's no fridge, not even a small one, which in the heat of the summer is disappointing.
- Resort geared-up (i think) to guests spending a couple of nights there... if you're staying longer, you might get bored with the menu (given you have to eat at the restaurant or drive for ages to somewhere else). A daily "variation on a theme" would have been great.
- You're in the wilderness, but very likely pretty close to other cabins. If you can, get one that's as remote as you can...

Finally, you don't really need a 4WD (at least in dry season) to get to the resort from Kununurra. If you plan on exploring El Questro and the Kimberley, though, get one as it will open up more opportunities.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

In May 2007, I stayed 3 nights at the Emma Gorge resort, in their luxury tented accommodation.
The previous review is very accurate. Kununurra is about 1 hour by 4wheel drive from el questro "Emma Gorge Resort". About 30 minutes from EG is another accommodation site, also under el questro. There is the very expensive "Homestead" (my sister stayed here 2 nights, very nice but unless you take the suite there is no view from the room). It prides itself on it's exclusiveness - to the point that I wasn't allowed in even for a drink! Suitable for Hollywood stars wanting a slice of outback Australia.
5 minutes down the track from the Homestead is the "Station Township" - there they have some bungalows and camping sites, a restaurant and gallery. The bungalows and rolling lawns down to the river are idealic and I imagine great for families.
The Emma Gorge resort tents are great, exactly as desribed in the earlier review. The restaurant is good, not great.
There are loads of activities, and small planes land on the private airstrip for day trips to the Bungle Bungle mountains - a terrific day.
Loads of walks, the Emma Gorge itself and several more of varying difficulty.
The front desk staff were all very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The staff at the restaurant though were not very genuine, all the right words but very fake - that was a pity as it's really a pretty casual place.
Staff at the "Homestead" I heard were wonderful, and very nice about turning me away!
The resorts are closed during the wet season, May was very hot but wonderful scenery, blue skies and a terrific way to see the outback.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Jane_KualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2006

If you only had 1 place to visit in the Outback, El Questro would be our suggestion.

We had many nights of camping in the Outback from Darwin to Broome...but this was the Best of Both Worlds. A little luxury...in the middle of nature. Untouched, and unspoiled.

Emma Gorge Resort...was as natural as you can get...with a whole lot of class.

The cabins were an A Framed tent with zippered windows for privacy or air with a deck in the back.

They were not airconditioned....although, there was a fan. We were there in September..and the nights are perfect...so we were in heaven.

The bathroom is clean and the showers have the massive Swiss shower heads.

Our room had a Queen sized bed with a doona, plus 2 twin sized beds.

The service was super, and the restaurant was excellent. We ate there both nites...and enjoyed a first class dinner, wine and dessert.

At the front desk, they were able to give you maps, suggestions and book you for any tours or meals at the Township. The resort also contained a nice laundry facility in the back.

We enjoyed the El Questro Gorge trek....with butterflies, a river brook...and swimming pools along the way. If I were to highlight one thing in the whole outback...this would get my vote..it was gorgeous.

Then...we did Zebedee Springs...which closes at noon. We got there at 11AM after the tour busses, and there were enough pools to give everyone their own secluded spot. Amazing.

We ate lunch at the Steakhouse in the El Questro township which was excellent, and did the Chamberlain Gorge cruise in the late afternoon.

The cruise was a fun experience...gorgeous sites...and champagne and fruit at the end.

Our only disappointment, was the way they placed guests in their rooms. There are 3 lines of cabins. 2 on the outside...and 1 in the middle. We were placed in the middle alongside 2 other occupied tents while most of the resort was empty. Our view was the cabin behind us.

Therefore, I would recommend asking for a cabin along the outside...as your view is beautiful. Because you have a deck, it's nice to chill and enjoy a bottle of wine outside...without looking at your neighbors.

Even though we were not impressed with the location of our cabin...everything else was amazing...and completely blew away our expectations.

We hope you also enjoy your trip....if you decide to stop and visit.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
20  Thank rosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank albeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TizBia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.6 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.0 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
0.5 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Questro The Station
El Questro The Station
#6 of 17 in Kununurra
249 reviews
55.4 mi away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#5 of 17 in Kununurra
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emma Gorge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emma Gorge Resort

Address: 75 Coolibah Dr, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Price Range: $228 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Emma Gorge Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden within the fiery red of El Questro’s Cockburn Ranges lies the spectacular Emma Gorge Resort, with excellent facilities for the whole family. Emma Gorge Resort offers comfortable tented cabins, each with their own private facilities. Shaded pathways link the tented cabins with the restaurant, pool and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Emma Gorge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emma Gorge Hotel Kununurra
Emma Gorge Resort Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing