We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor value and an incompetent management”
Review of Emma Gorge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emma Gorge Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
Gosford NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very poor value and an incompetent management”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Two days at El Questro was two days too many. Service; the room are so sparse that the only purpose they serve is somewhere to lay your head at night. We travelled by transfer from our hotel in Kununurra so decided to take some meager supplies. Upon arriving I discovered there was no bar fridge, no tea and coffee making facilities and nowhere to hang your clothes. I asked at reception for a jug and was told that they couldn't help. Most of our supplies spoiled and were despatched to the bin. Value; for the facilities provided it was overpriced. Sleep quality; I'm sure the bed linen was made from canvas. Cleanliness; The rooms were serviced daily however as we were located on an unsealed road every time a four wheel vehicle passed our accommodation we were covered in dust. Not having a vehicle we should have been located in one of the cul de sacs. Location; see above. Rooms; No facilities for hanging clothes so they were spread over the beds. The bathroom and toilet were a joke. A flimsy partition separated the bedroom and the toilet/bathroom. For all the good it did they might as well dispense with it. If you want some privacy when using the toilet go to the reception building and use the toilet there. If there was a jug you could have a cuppa while you waited for the hot water to arrive. Room service; The accommodation was cleaned daily however you need to remove your shoes outside or you will tread dirt into the room. As with everything wrong with the facilities there wasn't a broom to keep the floor swept.
I regularly spend months walking long distance walking tracks solo and have to say I can provide better facilities in my backpack then are provided by El Questro.
Oh, my wife didn't think it was too bad so my criticism is a personal perspective.
If El Questro want a good manager to rehabilitate the place I can come out of retirement.

Room Tip: Take the camping option or stay in Kununurra where the accommodation is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beepacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Beepacker

I am thankful to have the opportunity to address your concerns regarding your recent stay at El Questro Emma Gorge. I appreciate your viewpoint and certainly can agree that additional facilities would be welcome in the tented cabins. Whilst the management certainly isn’t incompetent, it is relatively early days for the new owners of El Questro.

Since Delaware North bought El Questro in 2010 we have been fortunate to see a vast array of improvements across all 3 resort areas. We have a strategic plan for the whole Wilderness Park that will allow even more upgrades, including those you have highlighted. It would appear simple to install 60 mini bar fridges but we are actually incapable of running them on the power supply that we have. As you can imagine, a new power station is not just a quick fix.

Your concern regarding the tented cabin itself is more to do with the design and the fact it is essentially a large permanent tent with ensuite. It is intended to allow the scents and sounds of nature to drift through the screened in opening at the top. Being in close proximity to nature, we do see the red soil come through the screens and settle in the cabins. I apologise if the cabins were not represented to you in a fair manner and that it did not live up to your expectations. We do have many visitors each year that love the back to nature style of the accommodation and were pleased to hear that your wife did enjoy Emma Gorge.

El Questro Wilderness Park does offer many different stles and levels f accommodation, if you happen to visit the Kimberley again, perhaps one of our other options would prove to be a suitable choice for you both.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    57
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
84
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I did not have high expectations of a visit to the Emma Gorge Resort restaurant but after having been out to El Questro Station and Zebedee Falls we decided to stop at Emma Gorge and have lunch after the walk. It was excellent. Friendly staff, excellent service and great food. We opted for simple fare - Caesar Salad with Prawns and Roast Beef Bagette - and both were fresh, top quality and reasonably priced ... especially compared to some Perth restaurants. We were very happy with our visit .... the staff went out of their way to chat and be helpful and the Gorge itself is awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussiesOver55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear AussiesOver55

Thank you both for the terrific feedback on our restaurant at Emma Gorge. It is excellent to see day visitors enjoying the facilities when they walk the gorge. We have been very focused on delivering a high standard of food at Emma Gorge and offering a diverse menu to suit many tastes. We are really pleased that you liked it there, thank you for visiting.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

After having heard lots of good thing from a friend who visited Emma gorge last year, this has tempted me to go this year. I promise this was my first & last trip over there.
I've visited Emma in the beginning of June 13 with a European friend as I wanted her to explore the outback experience. We got checked in a cabin guess what?? Just a bed....... Nothg else no tv, kettle, fridge...
Food was overpriced & disgusting, foh staff unexperience and no knowledge of any food and wines.
A rude British accent front office manager who was taking our comments for granted n made us feel that it was all our mistake.
We had spend 1 night over there n through recommendation of other guess we have moved to home valley for couple of nights. We had a very good experience over there. So people if u dnt want to ruin yours holiday better stay in home valley or kununurra n take a day pass to Elquestro.
Location good though and rangers not bad.
Our lunch at station township was good as well.
So peeps check well b4 you go

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angelica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique J, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Angelica A

It is disheartening to see that your experience at Emma Gorge was not of the same, excellent standard that others have advised us of during the same time frame. We will certainly work hard to iron out the inconsistency in our food and beverage department as it is a shame to go from “wonderful” and “perfect” to “disgusting” within a couple of days. My sincere apologies that we did not reach the high level of quality we strive to deliver.

It is also very unlike our manager to be anything other than over the top friendly and attentive to our guests needs, he is very sorry to hear that is how he came across as he is very proud of the service Emma Gorge regularly delivers.

Our cabins have seen many improvements this season with new beds, linen and towels. We unfortunately or fortunately, depending on your view, are a wilderness experience and our self generated power does not allow for fridges or kettles in the cabins.

I do believe Emma Gorge is worth a visit by all who travel the Kimberley, not just for the day, but to stay and enjoy the environment and surrounds. A second visit would undoubtedly be a different, more pleasant experience as we improve these concerns.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My daughter and I had a superb lunch today at the resort. We were so well looked after by staff who obviously love their job as they were happy, friendly and efficient, in particular Myra. Our meals were faultless and very good portion sizes. To top it off, the location is beautiful, tranquil and natural. It's a must for anyone travelling the East Kimberley.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Carolyn R

It is really heart warning to hear about your excellent experience at Emma Gorge Restaurant. The staff are very engaging and it is good to see that their love of the place shows. Thank you for telling others of you positive experience, it is definitely worth stopping at when on the Gibb River Road or even driving from Kununurra to visit for a meal.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Interested in earlier reviews in which the feeling ‘ripped off’ seems to predominate in relation to Emma Gorge. We had so been looking forward to visiting this resort, but do admit we weren't expecting city service because of the remoteness and guessed we would be hit with city prices. Those expectations were certainly met.

We really enjoyed the ‘walk’ (not for the faint hearted, lots of boulders and rocks to clamber over ; but the experience of the Gorge swim at the end is absolutely exceptional) to the Gorge and treated ourselves to a night in their tented accommodation as a reward. As the picture unabashedly illustrates, there’s no luxury associated with that accommodation, apart from the price – yes an en suite, but no basic luxuries such as: air conditioning, frig, tea making facilities, hairdryer, secluded location/view, comfortable beds- those things that you expect when you're paying inflated prices.

The service was friendly enough but some rather big gaps were evident. On checking in we were cheerfully advised that our ‘tent’ had a parking place for our 4wd – ‘That’s a specialty included in the price”. When we got to our accommodation it was interesting to note that we were one of the very few tents WITHOUT a parking place – especially intriguing as it was quickly evident we were only one of 3 tents occupied by independent travellers. All other guests were passengers on the 2 bus tours lodging for the night and clearly the last thing they needed was a parking space. Such a basic consideration to be dealt with at booking time you would think.

A la carte dinner was us and another couple – the hordes were off at the group dinner. Wait staff was very pleasant and accommodating but food was just average – barramundi over cooked and ridiculously fussy with miso and noodles and just trying to be too clever. Breakfast: again friendly staff but little anticipation of needs. We waited for the groups to move out before arriving at breakfast and the bain maries had nothing in them, the toaster had broken, no fruit. We were paying an awful lot for this accommodation + breakfast. We actually had to ask for replenishment, rather than it being evident as soon as we arrived that we would want it. Very odd.

That said we had a pleasant stay. The setting is lovely in amongst the trees with the red Gorge as background - and we were at the beginning of our holiday and determined NOT to be disappointed, whatever the price.

But let's face it to all of this, if you please, we had to add $60, for the privilege of driving through the rest of El Questro and enjoying the walking/driving tracks and lookouts. The main station looked little better to us in accommodation and food options – and indeed our experience here is why we arrived the next night at Home Valley Station, further along the Gibb River Road, with such low expectations. In fact there, we were blown away by the seriousness with which they took the quality of their accommodation, service and facilities.

So in fact, do yourself a favour: walk the Gorge (I gather that’s $10); explore El Questro (is that another $60?), then head off to Home Valley Station – the amount you’re paying for accommodation there is evident in its service and facilities, which is absolutely not the case with Emma Gorge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Sue W,
It is pleasing to see that overall you enjoyed your stay at Emma Gorge. The points you have highlighted regarding service and value are very important to us as a measure of how we are performing. I appreciate that the cost of a tented cabin can appear higher than a normal city stay. We do however carry the burden of being in a remote location and with this comes a self sufficiency that does prove to be very expensive for us.
The location also influences our introduction of a Wilderness Park Permit as we clear all of our roads and tracks, sign the trails, provide complimentary information and conduct land and weed management throughout the park in order to provide access to the wilderness areas for our visitors to enjoy. As a private entity we raise the funds to accomplish this through the permit system.
We have been improving the cabins this year with new bedding and linens to lift the overall appearance and comfort for our guests. Unfortunately, the power that we do generate does not allow for the other comforts you mentioned such as fridges, air conditioners or kettles.
The buffet replenishment at breakfast is being addressed and I do apologise that when you visited, the food was not put out fresh again after the groups. This will be fixed from now. I also welcome the comments regarding dinner and will look to our chef to make improvements on the cooking and the menu selection.
We do have the new car parking spaces beside selected cabins and the staff should be able to easily allocate appropriately, a mistake was made on your allocation.
I believe that we take very seriously our resort and hospitality business. I am truly sorry that this did not shine through when you were with us but hope that if you have occasion to visit in the future, our normally high standards will be in evidence.
Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Fellow travellers need to be aware that you need to pay $10 per person even if you just drop in to the resort for a coffee and have no intention of taking the walking track to the gorge (which I didn't have due to an obvious disability). When I queried this, I was told by the receptionist that this charge applied 'by virtue of being on the property'. I paid but felt ripped off!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 100pluscountries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear 100pluscountries,

I am terribly sorry that you had to pay the $10 day pass when you only intended to have a coffee. The vigilant staff of Emma Gorge misunderstood our policy. We have always waived the park permit if travellers wish to use the restaurant or lounge without accessing the Wilderness Park areas. We well and truly welcome all passers by to enjoy the hospitality of the restaurant and do not require the fees to be paid to just enjoy a meal or a coffee.

Please know that this has been emphasized and widely communicated to all El Questro staff and should not be a problem for your fellow travelers.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at Emma Gorge Resort for 3 nights in May. We also stayed 3 nights at the Station Township in a river view bungalow. Our stay at Emma Gorge was fine but we preferred the Station for a number of reasons.

We were lucky when we visited Emma Gorge as it was the beginning of the season so we practically had the resort to ourselves. The staff were friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. The service was great in the restaurant and we enjoyed our meals there.

Emma Gorge Resort has more of a low-key feel to it than the Station. The tented cabins were clean and comfortable (though we missed a few home comforts - having a kettle and small fridge would have been great). The bungalows at the Station had these extras which we missed when we moved to Emma Gorge. We were a little surprised that the accommodation at Emma Gorge was more expensive than the Station bungalows as we felt the bungalows offered more. Both the cabins and bungalows were serviced each day, which was great. We weren't expecting that for this level of accommodation.

Breakfast was either a buffet or a la carte (depending on whether a tour group was staying). Both were fine and there was a good choice of breakfast options.

If you can't get accommodation at the Station, then Emma Gorge is a great option. Because most of the tours leave from the station (and it's closer to a lot of the walks), we found it more convenient to be based there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuddy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Travelbuddy010

I love your review of Emma Gorge and the comparison to The Station. It is often part of my job to try and sell the difference between the 2 properties and you have done a great job for me. I am pleased that Emma Gorge served as a peaceful alternative and that you enjoyed the location and meals in the restaurant.

Emma Gorge is typically less expensive than the Station however I believe you must have enjoyed a Stay3Pay2 special at The Station which made it less on this occasion. Thank you for sharing your review, we hope that you have further reason to visit either of the resort again in the future.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.7 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.1 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
0.6 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#8 of 10 in Kununurra
180 reviews
55.4 mi away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#6 of 17 in Kununurra
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Questro The Station
El Questro The Station
#5 of 17 in Kununurra
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emma Gorge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emma Gorge Resort

Property: Emma Gorge Resort
Address: 75 Coolibah Dr, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Emma Gorge Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden within the fiery red of El Questro’s Cockburn Ranges lies the spectacular Emma Gorge Resort, with excellent facilities for the whole family. Emma Gorge Resort offers comfortable tented cabins, each with their own private facilities. Shaded pathways link the tented cabins with the restaurant, pool and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Emma Gorge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emma Gorge Hotel Kununurra
Emma Gorge Resort Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing