We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Part of the East Kimberly”
Review of Emma Gorge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Emma Gorge Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Very Special Part of the East Kimberly”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had three nights in this hidden treasure, the cabins are basic but comfortable and the restaurant is great, the food fresh and tasty. The staff are so helpful and great for a chat. The prices on everything is inflated, but you are in the middle of nowhere. We did not partake in any tours or activities on offer as we were travelling by helicopter, allowing us to explore the wildness park from a different perspective. El Questro Wilderness Park absolutely blew my mind; I have never seen anything like it and would highly recommend a visit, even more so if you are an Australian. This place gives you a view that we only hear or read about, it is untouched and natural, a very special part of the East Kimberly.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L_E_W_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear L_E_W 111

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Emma Gorge experience. It is a truly amazing part of the worls, and one of the finest sopts inthe kimberley. It may seem that the prices are on the high side, but as you say, it is in teh middle of no where and everything comes to us from a minimum of 4,000 km away. We love to hear good feedback about the staff and appreciate you telling us your thoughts. Hopefully you can enjoy a stay here again in the future.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
General Manager, El Questro Wilderness Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    53
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
75
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

A great location and well worth visiting but poor value for money in our view. The accommodation was expensive but the tents - as other reviewers have commented - did not match up. No fridge, no reading lights and no where to hang clothes or put cases. Compared to other safari tent accommodation we stayed in this was distinctly second rate. The biggest disappointment was the restaurant; service was friendly but chaotic; they'd run out of lots of the menu items and kept saying they were waiting on the truck to come; the food distinctly second rate; breakfast was a fight to get to the rolls and croissants before they ran out. The restaurant at the main El Questro station was infinitely better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiselleEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear GiselleEdin,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide feedback about your stay at Emma Gorge resort. I am very sorry that you experience was not up to standard at what is indeed a great location. There are definitely some issues you have raised that I am able to address immediately with the staff. As such, I would expect that the shortages on the buffet at breakfast, the quality of the food and the service standard will be addressed and improve straight away. We do pride ourselves on delivering quality food and the inconsistencies you encountered are really not our normal operating standard.

The amenities in the cabins are due to be improved, we will look at your other suggestions during the process and I hope that we can also address these concerns with our future plans.

If you have occasion to visit the area again in the future, I would be pleased to see you at El Questro once again and personally ensure that you have a special stay.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
General Manager, El Questro Wilderness Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We are from perth so wonderful to see the beauty of our state.Spent 2 nights in the wonderful tent .Got to resort mid afternoon after driving from kununurra to wyndham(croc farm a hoot).Was lovely to relax around pool.Delicious buffet meal then sleep and awoken by beautiful bird chorus.Walk to emma gorge great fun and had a lovely long swim and got back to resort for lunch.and a repeat of the day before (swim/read/relax /eat).
The tents were roomy for a family of 4 with great bathroom,food and staff also faultless.
We got a great deal -accommodation and breakfast for 4 for $249/night.
then the next day we drove to the station for 3 nights in a bungalow which were also stunning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Jenmax,

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of El Questro's Emma Gorge Resort. It is most appreciated that you have shared your good experience with the Trip Advisor readers. We certainly agree that Emma Gorge offers a wonderful family holiday destination, but it is always good to get that affirmation from our guests. I am pleased that the staff provided such faultless service, they are a real asset to the guest experience, much like the birds (who come back year after year, even without a work contract!!!)

We hope that you will have the opportunity to come up from Perth again and further explore El Questro and the East Kimberley. We would look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack, El Questro Wilderness Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

A huge disappointment. The safari tents were okay, but lacked reading lights for the beds, there was no fridge, no jug and no toaster. If you stay there you are completely dependent on the resort for meals - and frankly the evening menu was very limited. We were lucky that the night we ate dinner there, there were 2 groups staying and a buffet was on offer. There was complimentary tea and coffee available at the main reception area, but our tent was at the farthest point from that and we had to park our 4-WD vehicle near reception as there was no car space at our tent.
The gorge itself was interesting, but the track is difficult in places. The highlight of our two nights there was leaving at 6.30am to reach Zebedee Springs on the road to The Station before 7.00 am. We were there when the ranger arrived to open the gate and had the hot springs to ourselves for an hour. Bliss!

Room Tip: Make sure you can park at your tent and that your vehicle is equipped with a camper stove and fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Toni V,

Thank you for taking the time to review El Questro's Emma Gorge Resort. I would like to apologise to you as I can read that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.

We do work very hard to ensure that provide guests with a memorable holiday experience, through your feedback I can assess where we need to improve and plan where we need to invest our attention.

The cabins at the resort are meant o be a wilderness experience, thus they were designed with limited electrical infrastructure. Whilst a good idea at the time 20 years ago, guests expectations have outgrown this design and we do recognise that having a fridge and tea and coffee in the room is a standard need. We are working to a solution for this however it is a long road as we would be required to refit all exisiting electrical infrastructure to make it happen. We are looking at a quicker solution and hope to have a form of communal tea and coffee facilities for each cabin group in hte near future.

On the other hand we have been able to change immediately the restaurant menu and are providing a broader range of choices. Thank you for pointing out that it was not sufficient enough for your liking.

We hope that the Kimberley has captivated you as it does so may visitors and that you take the time to explore it further if you have the opportunity.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
GM El Questro Wilderness Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

.We went to El Questro and went for a walk at Emma Gorge a few weeks ago and we were made to feel so welcome. Not only was the scenery wonderful but a lovely blond lady with glasses bobbing around in what looked like an oversized green lawnmower stopped and spoke to us. We were after water and she took us to the Boab tree so we could fill our bottles up with Boab water. She told us how lucky we were to have had the rare experience of drinking Boab water as El Questro was the only place that had this water from the tree. I still think it was a yarn but not sure. We asked about the cane toad box and she went back with us and gave a mini lecture and what El Questro was doing to try and stop these horrid creatures. We were not guests and she had a pile of bedding in the back of this mower yet she took the time to speak to us. We went up the Gorge and it was magnicifent. We are a fit couple so it was an easy walk for us. The middle pool was so blue and its an experience that I will never forget. On our way out of the Gorge we saw this staff member again. We asked her about Zebedee Springs as we wanted to go there but unfortunately if was closed for the day.. We are still struck by her and she made our visit that much more special.

One day we would like to return and stay in the Tent cabins here.

I highly recomend a visit to the Gorge.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kingston B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Kingston B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback about El Questro's Emma Gorge and your interaction with one of the housekeeping team. It is a wonderful guage for us to see how we are living up to visitor's needs and expectations.

You highlighted the cane toad initiative and it is worthwhile that you mentioned this. We have been attracting great interest from the science community who are now using the natural attraction of cane toad fence to monitor and survey other species of wild life at Emma Gorge.

We hope that in the future you get the opportunity to come and stay for a longer visit.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
GM El Questro Wilderness Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halls Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

"Doing the Gibb River road" is high on many travellers agenda - and even if you only do the first section from the Great Northern Highway to the Pentecost, you can say you've done the Gibb. If you can combine staying at the wonderful Emma Gorge resort, then you've achieved a great deal. The Resort is part of the El Questro station, a huge cattle range about 60 km from Kununurra. The country is magnificent - huge mountains rise from the plains and the sky goes on forever. The resort is located about 30km along the Gibb River road and comprises tents in the bush, with a central restaurant and bar complex. The immediate attraction is Emma Gorge itself, a fabulous pool one kilometre of tough walking away from the resort. The tents are modern, clean and have ensuites, with views into the surrounding bush. A good pool is located at the central complex. The restaurant serves excellent modern food and the staff are attentive. This is quite a contrast to the wildness of the surroundings - that is very much part of the charm. Speaking of wilderness, we drove down to the Pentecost River - and decided to cross it. The water came up to the windscreen of our high clearance 4wd - scary but fun! A really great weekend at Emma Gorge!

Room Tip: The tents all have a small outside area facing away from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Kimberley Dave,

We were so happy to read your fabulous review of El Questro's Emma Gorge Resort. We can tell from your words what a great impact the property and location had on your visit. We take great pride in offering outstanding food and unique accommodation in the wilderness. Glad to see that we delivered and met your expectations.

We hope that we will see you as a frequent visitor to El Questro.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
GM El Questro Wilderness Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
193 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

a trip out the gibb river road from kununurra will bring you to emma gorge, and the emma gorge resort. the open dining area appears like an oasis through the trees as you wind up the driveway. this really is a resort with a difference.

accommodation here is in safari tents, an experience you could refer to as “glamping”. these tents are raised off the ground by a good metre to assist in cooling, with a hard floor and all the usual tent designs to allow maximum airflow when needed. they have a bathroom at one end with a swiss-head shower which is most welcome at the end of the day.

the tents are set away from the dining and lounge area which helps ensure a quiet night’s sleep.

we were blown away by the quality of the food on offer, both at breakfast and dinner. you really do work up an appetite out here and the kitchen at the resort didn’t disappoint. we also found the staff to be very helpful and polite.

the walk into emma gorge will you take you anywhere between 40 minutes to an hour, depending on how you pace yourself. take a bottle of water, knowing when you finish it you can simply refill it in from the stream you’re walking along. swimming in the gorge at the end of your hike is ample reward – a beautiful spot on the map of Australia.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capt_Funkelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Capt Funkelicious,

Both myself and the team at Emma Gorge are so pleased that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us. We're very proud of the resort and the beautiful, tropical atmoshphere that the gardener works so diligently to maintain. It is indeed a "glamping" experience with a difference.

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. We hope to see you visit us again in the amazing Kimberley.

Warm regards, Lori LItwack-General Manager El Questro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.7 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.1 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
223 reviews
55.4 mi away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#6 of 17 in Kununurra
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Questro The Station
El Questro The Station
#5 of 17 in Kununurra
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emma Gorge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emma Gorge Resort

Property: Emma Gorge Resort
Address: 75 Coolibah Dr, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden within the fiery red of El Questro’s Cockburn Ranges lies the spectacular Emma Gorge Resort, with excellent facilities for the whole family. Emma Gorge Resort offers comfortable tented cabins, each with their own private facilities. Shaded pathways link the tented cabins with the restaurant, pool and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Emma Gorge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emma Gorge Hotel Kununurra
Emma Gorge Resort Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing