We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Questro Homestead
Nearby Hotels
$106
$101
ibis Styles
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kimberley Croc Motel(Kununurra)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$283
$210
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$201
$178
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kununurra(Kununurra)
$103
$100
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Resort Kununurra(Kununurra)(Great Value!)
$135
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
117
11
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
11
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffchamberlain gorgeother guestsmiri miriel questrozebedee springsvisited ellong tablebucket listbungle bunglesmatching winesprivate diningfabulous scenerycold towelsgarden view roomhelicopter tripthe river
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 136 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We are a company who wanted to give away a trip to El Questro. Being a suposed premier business in our home state we would have expected some basic professional courtesy, such as phone calls being returned.

We hade decided that this was the prize that would motivate consumers. We prepared the art work, T&C's and so forth.

We repeatedly contacted the booking department and each time were assured that the person concerned would confirm our booking. No such luck. We have given up in total frustration. Our lucky winner is now going off shore.

Its ironic that Australian tourist destinations persist in crying foul at the lack of support for domestic toruist operators, yet there are expamples of supposed premier operations lacking the professional grit to return calls and emails when promised.

If this is the level of service and professionalism offered when they are trying to entice your money from you, what level of service do they offer once they have it.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Stephen W

It has been difficult for us to find the circumstance of which you write about, our team of specialist cannot recall this situation. Our staff are usually very quick to respond, thorough and more than willing to accommodate and look after people from the first moment of contact. This extends through to the experience on the ground as one can see from the many testimonies written throughout the years.

Please accept my apologies for what appears to be a lack of follow up and attention, and be assured that this is not our normal standard.

Best regards,

Lori Litwack
General Manager
El Questro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We travelled to El Questro Homestead with friends and spent six sybaritic days being pampered and entertained. The rooms are fabulous,there is something special about showering over the chasm.
We loved the views and the quiet and peaceful environment. Highlights were the Big Day Out, the chopper to Miri Miri Falls and the dinner at night sitting at the edge of the Chamberlain Gorge.
The service was fantastic, food and wine terrific and such largesse! I cannot remember a more relaxing holiday. There was lots to see and do and plenty of expert and friendly guides. All in all, I can't find anything I would improve. Totally memorable.

Room Tip: We had the second room from the end, I would think that all the rooms are fabulous. I wouldn't choose the most expensive.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petmar035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear petmar035

It is a delight for us to read such a pleasant review of the Homestead. We very much enjoyed the having yourself and your friends stay and to know that you were experiencing the best of what we offer. We appreciate your thoughtfulness in sharing your views on the Homestead and hope that your enthusiasm is infectious to others.

We hope that you have occasion to make your way to the Kimberley once again.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We just returned from a three night stay at The Homestead - a very generous birthday gift from my brother who thought I needed a get away relaxing break. With zero expectation due to the fact it was an unplanned surprise gift we set off to the Kimberley from Perth in late September. From the moment we were collected from Kununurra and made our way overland through the harsh red landscape I felt the stress start to fall away. The rugged remote setting on a steep Chamberlain river gorge, The Homestead is like a small calm oasis. The swimming pool sits on the edge of the cliff face facing the river which crocodiles, turtles and barramundi occupy and occasionally swim by. Bower birds collect sugar cubes off the dining tables and geckos and frogs race around in abundance. We had a Chamberlain gorge room and our daughter occupied the neighbouring garden view room. The gorge room was beautifully appointed with a bathtub positioned on a cantilevered deck over the cliff, we also had a large private deck where we chose to eat on our last night with lovely, professional staff member Julia ensuring that the service was absolutely perfect. The atmosphere is quiet and restful yet there are a great number of activities on offer too for people after adventure. The helicopter excursion to Mira Mira falls was an amazing experience as was drinks and nibbles at sunset at a Branco's Lookout where other guests spotted the 4m resident salt water croc. The highlight for me though was hooking a 70cm barramundi on a lure while in a small tinny (dinghy) at Explosion Gorge. The guide had just finished telling me that there were no barra at Explosion Gorge and he rated my chances at 3%. The surprise bite created absolute chaos on the dinghy and how we didn't end up in the water I will never know as all 7 passengers leapt to the starboard side at the same time to see this huge fish jumping out of the water. We all howled with laughter and it still makes me smile just thinking about it. According to El Questro tradition as we were told, 'spotters' get naming rights so the huge barra (that got away) is now named Boadicea and is still there swimming around in Explosion Gorge, just ask our wonderful tour guide Gavin. I arrived completely frazzled after months of hugely busy work and left feeling like I was walking on air. No phone, no Internet (ok there's free wifi if you are really desperate but seriously you're in the Kimberley so what's the point), the food was absolutely amazing, I probably finished off the Chardonnay supply there - the wine list was perfect and you really couldn't want for anything, our teenage daughter also had a wonderful time. The Homestead manager and his team and the lovely GM made us feel so welcome and totally at home. The Homestead only accommodates 18 people so it really is a tiny piece of paradise and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you all, I promise we'll be back.

Room Tip: The Chamberlain Gorge rooms are beautiful.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveller6010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Traveller6010,

What a very special gift indeed!! We are so pleased that your brother chose The Homestead as the get away location for your birthday gift. It is even more pleasing to see how much you and your family enjoyed themselves. Your praise of the Homestead team goes a long way and they will be delighted to see themselves singled out. They take a lot of pride in the service they deliver and it means a lot to be recognized.

We hope that your wonderful review encourages others to come and enjoy the beauty of the Homestead. And we certainly hope that you and your family have occasion to visit again too.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Everything about El Questro is superb. The friendly staff, the food, the atmosphere and the setting. Walking El Questro Gorge to the top fresh water pool and the helicopter trip to Mira Mira Falls were two highlights on the activities schedule.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Dominic,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the Homestead on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to see that your time with us was a memorable one. You definitely saw some of the highlights of El Questro, it is amazing to have a waterfall all to yourselves. We hope that you will get to visit us again in the future.
Warm regards,
Lori Litwack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

From the moment we booked our holiday, to when we were met at the Kununurra airport for the 60 minute plus transfer to the Homestead, we were in enthralled with the efficiency of this establishment. The experiences over the next 4 nights will forever remain vivid in our memories. From the absolutely gorgeous food and wines to the myriad variety of wonderful wilderness experiences it was a fabulous holiday. Whether one wants to be active or not this can be the perfect holiday. In spite of the rather high cost, this is definitely one experience we all need to have at least once in a lifetime.

Room Tip: Book for at least 4 nights and leave your white clothing at home and forget about your suit or sports coat. Pack good walking shoes and forget about personal weight issues.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pierre664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Pierre664

We very much appreciate you sharing your Homestead experience with others. Thank you for the high praise, we are so pleased that our intention to provide the most memorable holiday has been recognised. We pride ourselves on creating as you say, that little piece of heaven in the most remarkable location. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope that The Homestead becomes a regular destination for you.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews