We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outback Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Questro Homestead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2011

El Questro Homestead has arrived at an excellent balance of high end comfort in an extraordinary frontier setting. Lori and staff provide faultlessly attentive, helpful, friendly service without being intrusive or ostentatious.

Alan provides wonderful meals. Dinners comprise top restaurant food with no compromise being made for the isolated location and lunches, whether in-house or as a picnic, are thoughtfully varied, light and delicious.
The bar is well stocked and generously available, with an excellent little wine list.

October is hot up there, but antidotes include being able to participate in excursions early in the day; or to aim for a shady walk up a scenic gorge to a beautiful swimming hole; or to use the homestead pool for a cooling dip (or, as a last resort to retreat to the comfortable rooms and admire the view from within the air conditioning or a cool bath).

The interaction with the scenery and the wildlife was memorable and the guides were all nice. The Homestead takes pains to make sure you never feel pressured or crowded, and in October, with the number of visitors beginning to fall, we found we had most of our excursions to ourselves.

All in all it was a superb way to indulge in some luxury while taking in an experience of a remarkable part of the country.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 135 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2011

The hotel is beautifully built on a slight cliff by the river Pentecost. It is decorated in great taste. The staff is very knowledgeable and absolutely charming. The cook is phenomenal and flexible to any dietary requirements. The rooms are very nice, although on the smaller side. You do not have much spacce for your suitcase. It is a place to relax or to go on different hikes. there are some breathtaking gorges near by. Just remember to take your hiking boots. All the terrain is very irregular and with many slippery stones.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diver994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Stayed in the secluded and very exclusive Homestead. Simply amazing. 6* service, magical location, beautiful building with relaxing rooms and gardens.

Unfortunately only stayed one night as it was at the end of a long event we staged around the Kimberly's.

Would love to come back one day.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonyhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

What a fantastic place - 6 star luxury in the middle of the breathtaking wilderness. We stayed at the Homestead for 5 days in September & enjoyed every minute of it. OK it is expensive but I would recommend this place to anyone. From the moment you arrive you feel like you are at a luxury home, not in a hotel. Everything is included - beautiful rooms which are serviced EVERY time you leave them, the food cooked by Chef Alan is casual fine dining at its best. The atmosphere is relaxed luxury & the staff are absolutely superb. You even get your own private tours with knowlegeable park rangers. We loved our stay & we will be back again. Thanks to our amzing hosts Lori & Alan, along with the lovelly staff Charlotte, Chloe & our rangers, Dale, Breandon & Chrisso for a magical holiday in the Kimberley

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidCS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We spent three nights at the Homestead and were amazingly well looked after. The site and rooms are beautiful and the staff are wonderful. Food was spectacular and our quirks were accomodated. We enjoyed the excursions we took and as we had our own 4WD we were also able to explore on our own. It's expensive, but well worth it for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

I'm writing this on our last night at the Homestead at El Questro. We were a little concerned as the property had been sold to an American resort company a few months ago, but we need not have worried as there have been no major alterations.
The Homestead is relaxed, and quiet, but doesn't skimp on the little luxuries. We were upgraded to a Chamberlain room, with a view from our balcony and our bathroom of the Chamberlain river below. Lori, the manager, and Alan her partner (the amazing chef) have been here for quite a few years, and effortlessly make you feel welcome. They and all their staff looked after us incredibly well. Alan's cooking is to die for.
We did quite a few activities, and these are the main reason for trying to stay on more than a few days if you can. We did a hike up El Questro gorge - rained cats and dogs, but it was an amazing adventure; cruise up Chamberlain Gorge (with huge Barra and spitting Archer fish as entertainment!); cruise up Explosion Gorge; helifishing; scenic flight over the Bungle Bungles; and some drives up to Branco's Lookout for the best view ever.

I've read other reviews complaining about El Questro. I couldn't find anything to complain about, except that I'm definitely going to have to lose some extra kilos after eating Alan's amazing cooking for 5 days!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kittycat888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed 4 nights for my wife's 30th birthday and the homestead exceeded all expectations. It would be easy to do too much at ELQ with the range of activities on offer so we made sure we left time to relax and enjoy sitting around the pool. The rooms don't have TV's in them and there is no cell phone coverage which makes getting away from it all very easy. A 4 night stay was not quite long enough, and in future I will make sure that we book in for 7 nights, as it seemed that no sooner had we arrived but it was time to leave again. The drive in from Kununurra was a great experience, just over an hour on a very rough road and enabled you to really experience the outback. For the return the homestead staff organised a helicopter flight which was amazing and really showed the isolation of the homestead. This was one of the many trip highlights.

This is the most I have ever paid for a hotel on a per night basis but the hard work in saving for this holiday was well rewarded.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
55.2 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
232 reviews
55.4 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
55.1 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.5 mi away
Emma Gorge Resort
Emma Gorge Resort
#4 of 10 in Kununurra
183 reviews
55.5 mi away
El Questro The Station
El Questro The Station
#6 of 17 in Kununurra
249 reviews
18.7 mi away
Home Valley Station
Home Valley Station
#2 of 17 in Kununurra
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Questro Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Questro Homestead

Address: Gibb River Rd | El Questro Wilderness Park, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range: $1,603 - $1,990 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Questro Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Questro Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Questro Homestead Hotel Kununurra
El Questro Homestead Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing