We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hmmmm, very average service lets it down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kununurra Country Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kununurra Country Club Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hmmmm, very average service lets it down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked and paid for a club room, then they put us in a cheaper room. Had dinner at Kelly's bar (at the hotel) waited
40 minutes to even get a menu, there were less than 40 people in a restaurant that holds about 80. Sat with out even a bottle of water for 30 minutes. Then had to ask if we could order, they had to check if that was ok? 2 hours later, finished main course, couldn't even get the waiters eye to order a drink to replace the ones I finished over an hour ago....

Food is over priced, and I reckon the barramundi from the Katherine rsl for $20 cheaper was a thousand times better.

Won't be staying again, over priced.... Pitty....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenParks, Manager at Kununurra Country Club Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Please be assured that all our 88 rooms are classified as Club rooms and are identical in amenities, price and bedding configuration. We apologies for the slow service at Kelly’s Bar on the night you dinned with us. We make service a priority, we will pass on your comments to Management to use for the ongoing training of our staff. We are very disappointed to read you did not like the barramundi as it is one of our more popular dishes.
Thank you for your feedback.
Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    79
    34
    10
    1
See reviews for
20
70
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the country club for 2 nights in August. Wish now that we had planned to stay longer. Great place, excellent & friendly staff. Room was fantastic & we were very central to the rest of the town. The staff in Kelly's Bar & Grill were wonderful. One member of our group had special dietary requirements, no problem. The staff not only catered to this but added suggestions to help make the meal more memorable & were willing to adapt menu items to suit. Not many places will do that.The presentation was the best I have ever seen. Highly recommend the Kununurra Country Club.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here again for a few nights fir my work in Kununurra. Club rooms basic, but had all the amenities one needs and the hotel is nicely located in the city centre. Shopping mall at walking distance. Restaurant of good standard.
Only flaw was the lack of internet. There is a network available and one becomes a password but the signal is so weak that no internet traffic was possible. Quite a negative point in 2013 and something for country club to work on.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at the country club for a week on a work trip. we were all impressed with our rooms, they were clean and had everything we need however the TV is ridiculously tiny and may as well not even be there. The beds are comfy and the showers are good. The breakfast was impressive, everything you could need howevere the restaurant is no good. we ate there twice and were disappointed both times. For an amazing steak and all round great meal go to the Kimberley Grande.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
299 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were travelling with a small group and this Resort was on our itinerary. I think it would be great for people travelling through the Kimberley on their own, too. The Resort is very well built (in keeping with north-western Australian type buildings i.e. galvanised iron) and attractive. The grounds are lovely with tropical plants and trees. The pool is exceptionally good. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully decorated and our en-suite bathroom even had "his and hers" vanity basins. The food in the dining room was extremely good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were in a bus group travelling the Kimberley and we were pre-booked into this resort.
A very comfortable spacious room with quality fittings throughout. Great grounds for the early morning walk after a comfortable sleep. The food was quite acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Takeiteasytheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We travelled as a family of 3 and found the club rooms to be a good size and nicely appointed. The pool was great and we used it a lot. The hotel was well kept and loved the atmosphere of the resort. The breakfast was great and the girls made great coffees. The only down side was the restaurant which we thought had slow service. Overall a great resort.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.7 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#5 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
#4 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kununurra Country Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kununurra Country Club Resort

Property: Kununurra Country Club Resort
Address: 47 Coolibah Dr, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kununurra Country Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kununurra Country Club Resort is the ideal sanctuary from which to explore the extraordinary East Kimberley region. The 4-Star Resort features modern rooms set in lush tropical gardens - a great retreat after a long day exploring. A range of onsite facilities includes swimming pool, bar and restaurant. Conference and meeting facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kununurra Country Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kununurra Country Club Resort Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing