We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected, will definitely be returning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kununurra Country Club Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2011

After reading some quite negative reviews I was somewhat apprehensive about this resort. Well I was pleasantly surprised. Check in was smooth with a friendly young lady giving me all the information I needed about the resort. My room, a Club Room, was spacious with a very comfortable queen bed plus a single. It had all the usual items including flat screen TV with built in DVD player. The bathroom was supplied with toiletries and plenty of nice thick towels, plus pool towels. It was quiet with no noise from adjacent rooms or traffic. The room was serviced every day and the cleaning staff were friendly and cheerful. The restuarant was great. I ate there four nights out of the five nights in Kununurra. Every meal I had was excellent. The grilled rib eye was cooked to perfection, the barramundi was moist and tasty, and very generously sized, and the sticky date pudding was to die for. Restaurant staff were efficient and friendly. I had nothing at all to complain about. I don't know about the previous negative comments, I do know that me stay was all I could have wanted and next time in Kununurra i will certainly be staying at the Country Club resort.

Room Tip: I had a Club Room in the Barramundi block. It was very quiet, close to the restaurant and the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ouestmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Kununurra Country Club Resort Management at Kununurra Country Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Kununurra Country Club Resort and hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 220 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2011

Great hotel and the restaurant is the best place in town to eat. Rooms are great and it is easy to walk all over town. The staff is great, fabulous suggestions on what to do and see in the area. Probably the best meal I had in Australia at their restaurant!

Pam Hartman, Protravel International, Boston Ma

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Kununurra Country Club Resort Management at Kununurra Country Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Kununurra Country Club Resort and hope to welcome you back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The best located hotel in KNX, within easy walking distance of all the town's facilities. Restaurant food is excellent, probably the best place to eat in town. Unfortunately the place is let down by a lack of maintenance, giving it a run down feel. The rooms are clean & functional, but not to the standard depicted in the publicity photos. The term "resort" is probably misleading - it is motel style accommodation with a good restaurant and pool.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This accommodation was very nice but I am used to staying in very average places!

The room was nice and clean although a fair way from car parking which is a problem because you can't be sure about security here.

The pool was overlooked by the restaurant and bar so was less than inviting. Pool towels were available from reception though if any towel went missing you could expect them to charge your credit card $100. For some reason a clean towel was left outside my room which I didn't want made up. Fortunately this was not pinched!

The grounds are beautifully vegetated with palms and has it's own bit of rainforest.

Watch out for the cane toads! And book well in advance!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

As a regular to Kununurra for Buisness this is my pick of hotels.

Nice grounds- very central location, most rooms are reasonable.

Service is limited - the kitchen and especially th breakfast facilities are poor - no espresso machine in operation ( there is one but no one knows how to use it!).

Diner is marginally better during the peak tourist season- but read the reviews- the pump house is much better.

Servicing of the rooms is marginal- they just make up the beds.

I found the reception staff to be friendly and efficient.

The pool is small and too public to be used after work- I am loth to torment bar users with my dugong like body.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolgarDansk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Resort Manager at Kununurra Country Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Thank you for your review of the Kununurra Country Club Resort. We value the opinions and feedback of all our customers and use this to improve our Resort and make our guests stay as pleasant as possible.

We are also thankful for your continued patronage and that the Kununurra Country Club Resort is your pick of Hotels when visiting Kununurra.

A superior level of customer service is a high priority here at the Kununurra Country Club Resort and we are very pleased that you found our reception staff friendly and efficient. We do apologise for the certain areas you believe were not up to our usual standard and would like to take this opportunity to address some of these areas.

Our qualified chefs work hard to provide good quality fresh food to our guests on a consistent basis. Under new management we will be continuing to review our food and beverage department and making necessary improvements in training, equipment and processes where applicable.

With regards to room servicing, if a guest chooses to remain in their room whilst housekeeping staff are servicing it then the service is executed as quickly and efficiently as possible depending on the guests’ wishes, to ensure they are not interrupted or inconvenienced.

Once again we thank you for your valued feedback and look forward to welcoming you again at the Kununurra Country Club Resort.

Alistair Cooray, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We spent a night here while on a Kimberley tour. The garden surroundings were a beautiful oasis on a very hot day and the pool looked inviting, though we didn't use it. The room was large and comfortable with a good bathroom. However, we were greatly disappointed with our buffet dinner. There was little choice and the roast meats were dried out and almost inedible. It looked like they'd been sitting in their water baths for some hours. It was a shame when the hotel could and should do much better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Resort Manager at Kununurra Country Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Kununurra Country Club Resort. Your feedback is valued and directed to management in order to improve our resort for all future guests.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and accommodation during your stay here in the Kimberley Region. We pride ourselves on delivering great service and quality accommodation to all our customers who stay with us and it is great to hear positive guest feedback.

It is disappointing however to read your comments in regard to our buffet dinner. When tour groups stay with us we do our best to provide quality food in accordance with the budget specified. We can assure you that roasts are made that day and they are not left in water baths at any stage. Our new management team will be introducing changes in the food and beverage product in the coming months to ensure our food and service are at the highest level.

Again thank you for your valued feedback and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again at the Kununurra Country Club Resort.

Alistair Cooray, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed at the Country Club for a week.
Forced to take a down graded room after paying for a luxury room six months in advanced.
Offered a complimentary breakfast each morning as conciliation.
Reception staff were abrasive, did not go through the facilities of the resort - in fact anything.
Rooms were clean except for the shower where we purchased some domestos to kill the large areas of mould in the grout.
The large green frogs coming up through the wc was kind of exciting - a highlight!
Breakfast is disgusting and should be complimentary - one should not pay for it. It did not improve over the week. Generally, the food was over cooked or stale and the rude waitress made the experience all the more displeasing. Coffee was close to dishwater in colour - very weak and not hot.
In house movies did not work for the week we were there. The reception staff were dismissive and rolled off repetitive excuses.
Pool area was cleaned three times in seven days. Glass, beer cans, ash tray would stay around the pool area for two days before generally a guest moved the mess to the breakfast area. Tables around the pool area were not cleaned and as a consequence were sticky and dirty.
The cleaning and grounds staff were a delight. They were helpful, polite and always ready to greet you with a smile, unlike the breakfast and reception staff.
This is not a resort. It is motel style accommodation that looks more impressive on the web site than in real life. Kununurra has some great cafes and eating houses these days - go out for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Resort Manager at Kununurra Country Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Thank you for your comments, all feedback is addressed and appropriately actioned by management. We are sorry to hear your stay with us did not live up to your expectations, we have conducted an investigation and feel it is important to address the issues you raise in your review.

We apologise that the initial room you booked was unavailable upon your arrival. We would like to express that the room you were assigned to was not a ‘downgrade’ but the same room type which also has disabled facilities provided. As mentioned we did offer complimentary breakfast each morning of your stay as compensation for any inconvenience.

At the Kununurra Country Club Resort we take pride in providing great customer service to our guests across all areas. We closely monitor and audit our house keeping team to ensure high standards are kept all year round.

All of our buffet staff are continually trained in order to provide best quality service to our customers. Our new management team will be introducing changes in the food and beverage product in the coming months to ensure our food and service are at the highest level.

Unfortunately we experienced a power outage during your stay which we worked on fixing each day however were unable to correct the problem. As this power outage was out of our control we ensured that our guests were offered DVD hire from the local shop as compensation.

Again we apologise for any inconveniences experienced throughout your stay.

Alistair Cooray, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.6 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.6 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
#5 of 10 in Kununurra
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#3 of 10 in Kununurra
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kununurra Country Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kununurra Country Club Resort

Address: 47 Coolibah Dr, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Price Range: $109 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kununurra Country Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kununurra Country Club Resort is the ideal sanctuary from which to explore the extraordinary East Kimberley region. The 4-Star Resort features modern rooms set in lush tropical gardens - a great retreat after a long day exploring. A range of onsite facilities includes swimming pool, bar and restaurant. Conference and meeting facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kununurra Country Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kununurra Country Club Resort Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing