We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the outback”

Kelly's Bar & Grill
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Kununurra
Price range: $9 - $38
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Kelly's Bar & Grill, centrally located at the Kununurra Country Club Resort, serves modern Australian cuisine. The resaurant is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with both indoor and outdoor dining options. Reservations highly recommended. Take Away Pizza is available 7 days a week from 5pm. Kelly's is also the perfect venue for special occasions and corporate functions.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A gem in the outback”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had visited Kelly's on a trip to the Kimberly area in 2009 & my diary note was wow! As a retired Hospitality teacher that was a big compliment so on a return holiday to WA just had to return & return we did, twice in 3 days! Both for dinner. The food was absolutely beautiful, service very good & a great wine list as well. Our friends were equally impressed. An unexpected gem in remote WA.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    65
    26
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Food-impressive Service-lacking Ambience-ok”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The food at Kelly's is the best in town at the moment.
Modern, but still reasonable size.
Presentation is on the mark-high level.
Food was excellent.
Service: it would be improved by having English speaking waiters/waitresses.
Some meals on table beside ours came out, & then they served our table, & then they finished serving neighbours table!
WTF?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobynUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Manager at Kelly's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of Kelly’s Bar & Grill. We were pleased to read you enjoyed your meal. We were disappointed that our service did not meet your expectations and will certainly retrain all staff on standard meal delivery processes.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kelly’s Bar & Grill in the future.

Resort Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Okay but not good”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We went there for dinner on our way to broome, not again.
We had scallops with bacon and majo, dry and overcooked, main small
for the price we paid. But the service was good, but not the food.
Don't stop there, is not a place to be.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Manager at Kelly's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of Kelly’s Bar & Grill.
We appreciate all our guests comments and thank you for taking the time to review us. We apologise that your meal was not up to our usual standard. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the service.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Resort Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant times”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although small, Kelly's Bar & Grill maintains an atmosphere that is relevant for most occasions. The meals are well prepared with mains probably being a little too big. Pricing is average but a little too high for the Restaurant and location. Service can be very good but at times is hit and miss. One criticism is that a bottle of reasonable red was on special and when selected, the staff brought a bottle straight out of the cooler and whilst we are not wine snobs, the coldness would have done nothing towards the enjoyment of the wine. As we selected another bottle, perhaps we may have received a discount? We also pointed out when paying the tab that they had forgotten to add 2 x coffees. Despite some shortcomings from time to time, we usually enjoy our meals and the atmosphere at Kelly's Bar and Grill.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KununurraKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No consistency”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

This place in town is the "fancy one" although I have dined for more than 3 years in a row Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner multiple times.

Could not say there is any consistency!

Breakfast over priced buffet; the food was beginning to dry up & chef/cook grumpy man not happy more diners were coming?!?

Lunch great atmosphere; quiet great Barramundi; although ordering couple of drinks nearly had them toppled onto myself.

Dinner is where its inconsistent previously dined with 3 people; mine(seafood with prawns) were under the heat lights 30 mins while others were cooking, mine came out finally only for 2 to be cooked; while our friend had to wait a further 25 mins for fish??
Had a Jus, and it was thick like jelly & unbearable to eat; also side salad consisting of Lettuce & red onion; asked the waiter to have more salad for the chef to yell, "if he doesn't like it f&%k off"!

Had a wonderful mid week dinner; to pleasantly return to on the weekend; not replicated and servings considerably small for the price!

Ordered few cocktails on the menu to be told; they don't know how to make majority of ones requested.

Country Club isn't a favourite & tavern serves a mean meal for less price!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarzapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Manager at Kelly's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to bring your dining experiences to our attention.
We were disappointed to read that your wonderful mid-week dining experience was not replicated on each and every occasion you dined with us, and we apologise for the inconsistency in our service.
Management will discuss your comments with the relevant staff to ensure points raised are not repeated.
A new menu has been introduced into Kelly’s Bar and grill in January and we hope you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future.

Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Bar & Grill also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Kelly's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing