We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a little bit more money than an average camping site.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Questro The Station
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay on a tent site. A fabulous experience for just a little bit more money than an average camping ground. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. They had only opened 1 week earlier but other than being short on a few beer brands all was fine. The swimming hole near the restaurant is a must do.The commentary during the gorge boat tour was excellent and informative. The green staff uniforms are smart and relaxed, sorry to see them changed on the day we left to a 6 star white Sheraton styled dress code.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank jvhensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro The Station, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear jvhensen

It is fantastic to read such a good review of The Station after it had only been open for a couple of days. It is the best time of year to visit, when the waterfalls are flowing harder and the land is greener. We are glad that it was an enjoyable experience and thank you for sharing it with others. The uniform change was a long time coming, although white shirts, it is in a true Station style, with khaki coloured shorts and created by an Australian station outfitter, RB Sellars. We hope the rest of your travels in the Kimberley were also memorable.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for El Questro The Station
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 246 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

We arranged for a driver to take us into El Questro. Rather than staying at the all inclusive Homestead, we chose a cabin at The Station. The cabin was charming and had a view of the river. Each day, we arranged for a driver to take us to a trailhead and pick us up again at the appropriate time. The hikes into the various canyons are amazing and while the trails are rocky, we would go again in a heartbeat.

The only issue I have is drinking water. We were led to believe that the tap water was not drinkable. If that was so, we should have been offered complimentary bottled water.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a river side bungalow. It was very well maintained and comfortable. The staff were very kind and helpful. We ate all our meals at the restaurant and were surprised to find that the food is what we would rate up there with any top restaurant in a Capitol city, and these guys are in the bush!!! They did have occasion to not have certain parts of the menu available but hey,,,look at where they are. The roads and walking trails were all well maintained and well sign posted. We honestly could not fault the whole experience. It seems that a lot of acknowledgment from any past negative reviews has been acted on. Forget about cost, take the experience !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The El Questro Station is about 2 hours away from Kununurra. It is very expensive, you don´t get electricity and the bathrooms are only ok. The campground is very basic, but at least there is an (expensive) shop where you can buy something. We stayed here to walk to the El Questro Gorge and it was amazing! It is definitly worth the stay, one of the best trails we hiked! Emma Gorge is also a nice trip, we loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunflower1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

El Questro was a great place to relax after 6-7 nights on the Gibb River Road. After not being able to get into the restaurants at Drysdale Station and Home Valley Station, we were relieved to finally get into the restaurant at El Questro. Whilst the restaurant was somewhat upmarket, they could not have done anymore for our children. They fell over themselves to ensure they enjoyed their dining experience and this contributed to us (as their parents) having a great night. The next day when we tried to book into a sunset tour (which was booked out), they went out of their way to organise an additional tour to ensure we didn't miss out. This was followed by an impromtu DVD night for the kids next to the township shop. The location is excellent, with plenty of shade in the campground. The toilets/showers were always clean and hot. The staff were friendly and excellent at all times.
In addition to this, the natural attractions are numerous and spectacular. The hot springs and Emma Gorge were a highlight.
Whilst some people may be put off by El Questro being run by a large tourism company, in this instance the impact is positive.
We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro The Station, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Chris F

It is really pleasing to hear from our valued guests about the wonderful holidays had at our park. Thank you for sharing your experience. It is wonderful to hear of the high service standards you encountered as this is the level we strive for.

We hope that you have occasion to visit us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
General Manager El Questro Wilderness Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

For $20 per person a night, one would expect the showers were not dirt cold! We made our complaint to the reception upon checkout and it was explained to us it was "normal" during peak season (but we observed that only 50% campsites were taken) and that "the system cannot keep up with the demand". We asked for a partial refund, but even that was denied.

Another disappointment that we had to missed out on Zeddabi Spring because it was full and it was only open to park pass holders from 7:30am to noon. The afternoon was reserved for private tour groups.

Nonetheless, I would like to point out that the gorges themselves were fantastic, especially El Questro Gorge, but we would not recommend staying at the El Questro Station.

Room Tip: A large section of the campgrounds are on a slope. First in first serve basis and the amenities are...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FnBSunburnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro The Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear FnBSunburnt,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip Advisor about El Questro Station. We do appreciate all feedback, even when we haven't performed our best. I understand your disappointment regarding the showers for the campground and do apologise that this impacted on your camping experience. We have tried exceedingly hard to manage it this year, but the volume of travellers has in fact outnumbered the capabilities of our hot water system. It is the number one priority for replacement this year and will be rectified for future visitors.

In regards to Zebedee Springs, we do have restricted opening hours. This allows us to have 30 or 40 people from a tour group come through without making a large impact on the individual travellers there.

We hope that you understand the reasoning behind it as we try to make the experience at the Springs better for everyone and lessen the environmental impact as well.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
General Manager El Questro Wilderness Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We camped for 3 nights in the main campground. If we had been wiser we would have gone with the private campgrounds as people around us were using generators and el question generator runs all night. The general campground felt like an overcrowded caravan park. I would have thought that with all the land available the campground would have been more spacious. But we did check out the private sites and they are a much better option.
We had a great dinner at the restaurant and the service was fine. The ablutions block were ok but if you are in campground D they are a bigot a walk.
However you are at el questro for the gorges, plunge pools and the 4wd. So for that reason all else is forgiven.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Mumbles44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro The Station, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear Mumbles44,

It is very nice to see that you enjoyed the beauty of El Questro's famous gorges. Thank you for sharing that with the Trip Advisor readers and your views on the Station campground. I understand your comments and appreciate that the general camp ground is quite crowded in peak season. I realise that with one million acres your perception would be that we have lots of space. We do!! and we are looking at the best way of expanding our facilities and camping area to accommodate people in a more comfortable manner.

This would include upgrading the shower and toilet facilities and trying to reduce the noise pollution of the genrator. We hope to see some significant improvements for future seasons.
Alternatively, as you say, the Private campsites offer that space and seclusion, they are definitely worth seeking out.

We hope you get to visit again and enjoy more of El Questro's attractions.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
General Manager, El Questro Wilderness Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.6 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.0 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
0.5 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.4 mi away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#5 of 17 in Kununurra
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emma Gorge Resort
Emma Gorge Resort
#4 of 10 in Kununurra
181 reviews
60.5 mi away
Home Valley Station
Home Valley Station
#1 of 17 in Kununurra
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Questro The Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Questro The Station

Address: 75 Coolibah Dr, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range: $263 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Questro The Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your El Questro The Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Questro The Station Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing