We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing scenery, great bush walking, the perfect Kimberley experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Questro The Station
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery, great bush walking, the perfect Kimberley experience!”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Really loved staying here. this was my second time at El Questro; it was just as magical the second time around! The campsites are fabulous - nice and spacious. This time, we stayed in the Riverside rooms.... would recommend spending the small additional amount to stay here, rather than the cheaper "garden view" rooms. The Riverside ones overlook at river (go figure!) but are much newer and nicer - money well spent!

Stock up on beverages and snacks, etc... for your mini bar fridge before you make the drive out (in Kununurra or Wyndham). Once you are at the Station, you are beholden to the selection and timing of the restaurant. They do a great job - but if you want a snack outside of "eating hours", you will be limited to the pretty basic "general store", which doesn't have a great choice. So bringing a bit of stuff along will make it much more pleasant!

I absolutely love Zebedee Springs.... it is just divine. Not a long walk in, but a great place to relax for an hour or so! El Questro Gorge is my favourite bush walk.... a bit strenuous after the first half, but absolutely stunning.

There is just so much to explore at El Questro - really 3 days is a minimum. The first time I was here, I spent 5 days and that was just about right - in order to hike all the gorges, etc....

We did a Sunset tour which was great - the Ranger was super knowledgeable and very friendly. Finished off with wine and cheese at a great spot overlooking the Chamberlain and *some other river* - who's name escapes me at the moment! Anyhow, it was great.

Room Tip: The Riverside Rooms are lovely; newer and a much nicer aspect than the Garden Rooms. Worth the litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamaletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    69
    21
    17
    8
See reviews for
67
104
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We travelled to El Questro as part of a large family group. We stayed in the Station bungalows for 3 nights and the safari tents at Emma Gorge for three nights. The bungalows were very comfortable, with a good-sized deck to sit and gaze at the fast flowing Pentecost river and the twisted paperbarks with kingfishers perching on their branches. The sound of the river was a very soothing backdrop to sleep. A very comfortable queen-sized bed, as well as a single with a trundle underneath. They were serviced daily. Small coffee plungers and ground coffee provided in each bungalow, as well as a range of tea bags. The restaurant has a good menu and we ate there each night, as well as having breakfast and lunch there on a couple of occasions. All of the meals that we experienced were good to very good. It is BYO. It would have been good to have a BBQ or self-catering option. There are wooden recliners on a grassy bank overlooking the river, which is a great spot to relax with a book after a strenuous hike up one of the many gorges. We really enjoyed Zebedee Springs, El Questro Gorge, Branko's Lookout at sunset and the Chamberlain River trip. The natural scenery is absolutely breaktaking.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow near the Pentecost River - a couple of them are closer to the shop area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieJ115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I stayed out at El Questro station in the campgrounds for 6 days in June, working just down the road for a few years it was my first chance to see El Questro.

Overall the experience was sensational, saw some of the most beautiful places in my life, endless gorges and amazing landscapes! However one thing that did disappoint me and my family was the bar, there was no real effort to get fellow travellers to mingle, and most nights you could find the bar almost deserted. Everyone came down for the Saturday night BBQ but once that finished it was deserted again! The music was quite poor for something you would expect to be of quality... Where is the Australian country music?!?! People want to experience the full package not parts of it! Other than that it was great... Would definitely recommend the helicopter flight!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjgeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNAPR, Digital Marketing Executive at El Questro The Station, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate very much highlighting the good and not so good points. Yes we agree wholeheartedly with your comment relating to the Natural Wonder of El Questro Wilderness Park. Thank you, and with reference to your comment regarding the entertainment we appreciate your opinion but trying to balance music to please every taste is difficult and we did have a variety of music during June especially during the middle of the week which is strange that you did not encounter. We also feature a camp fire atmosphere which keeps people around the Swinging Arm Bar up to closing time of 10 pm and the mingling aspect is really up to the individual whether he or she wants to connect with other guests............The music that you experienced was Col Fritz being our resident entertainer, highly acclaimed muso in his field and an ELQ Ranger. Col mostly plays twice a week and his music is Blue Grass but will mix it with other styles depending on audience interaction. We also have guest appearances from other musicians passing through which creates more flavour to the music atmosphere. Given the liquor license compliance the bar must close at 10 pm and we also need to be conscious of noise pollution.

We thank you again for your lovely feedback and we are sorry that the bar issues did not meet your expectations.

With kind regards,
The Team at El Questro Wilderness Park & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We travelled in a group of 11 adults and 7 children and stayed in the bungalow accomodation at 'The Station' within El Questro. I rate the entire experience at the very top of all of my travels. The walks and natural features are exhilarating and definitely worth the effort of getting to. The bungalows aren't overly large but are comfortable enough for 2 adults and 2 children, they'd be excellent if they included self cooking facilities, even a bbq would be great. The restaurant served good food but the cooks could improve on getting the steaks as ordered, rare was never really rare. The vast majority of the staff were excellent and went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one and were very tolerant of our young children. Our waiter Karl deserves a special mention for his outstanding effort and Kym in the general store was also exceptionally helpful and a pleasure to deal with. This is a must do trip for everyone, enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhdodd67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed for one night in a bungalow at the Station Township. We chose this because we are not campers but we found the Township very relaxed and laid back. There are excellent shower blocks and washing facilities if you are bringing your own tent. The bungalows were cosy and surprisingly well equipped with shower/loo, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. There is also air conditionning or fans. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of room for our teenage daughter without being on top of each other. The Township does not have a pool but there are sunbeds by the river. The restaurant was good but very busy and there was a wait for food. However considering the staff were working like mad to produce great food in the middle of nowhere I thought it was worth it. It is an expensive place to stay and the shop provisions are pricey. $2 for a packet of M&Ms! You have to remember the cost of flying in goods to the Kimberley region generally and then transporting to El Questro. You also pay for wilderness park permits but this is nature at its rawest and there looks like a lot of work to get the trails cleared each season. The evidence of the power of the Kimberley rains is all around you. We had driven ourselves in a 4 wd so we were quite independent and did not go on any official tours. They are expensive and get booked quickly. However we found it great fun to drive ourselves to the gorges, follow the walking trails and bathe in the safe water holes. You do however need a 4 wd if you are going to drive the tracks in the parks as you need to drive through rivers (and this was the dry season). The scenery is stunning and having briefly seen the new Home Valley station I think this is where El Questro wins. Emma Gorge is very pretty and the tented cabins looked good. We saw the Homestead from the air and drove quite close. It has good views but the gorge is not as steep as the photos suggest. However if you have £1000 a night I'm sure its very comfortable. The Township is spreadout and some of the private camping positions looked wonderful if that is your thing and they are no more expensive. Some of the pitches close to the Township did look rather close to the road and amenities but so did the Emma Gorge ones and the accommodation in Home Valley Station. This could put off some people who are looking for a "complete wilderness" experience. The Township Cabins are next to the river and because they are more of a building you are protected from neighbour noise. We only stayed the one night and found 2 days plenty of time to see most of the area. If we had been able to stay longer we would have walked El Questro gorge and hired a boat on the Chamberlain river but I do not think it is necessary to stay 3 nights to have a great experience. El Questro park is unique in the Kimberley and has perhaps lead to a degree of complacency in terms of pricing and facilities. Home Valley station is fairly new and not really been marketed. It is government funded to work with indigenous people so may be better if you are looking for that sort of thing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltshire3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

I guess it's OK but not up to expectations. You're basically staying in a busy campground/caravan park. Rooms are OK, nothing special. Restaurant was acceptable for dinner but busy so very slow - french toast at breakfast the worst I've ever had! Staff generally friendly but the new owners really need to lift the game - it still seems like tired old Voyages.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grangeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNAPR, General Manager at El Questro The Station, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback and we apologise for having failed to meet your expectations.

El Questro Station is designed to accommodate a mix of guests, from campers to guests in the Bungalows, and as the ‘hub’ of El Questro, it can be busy around the Station Store and also during BBQ and entertainment nights. However, The Riverside Bungalows are well situated further away overlooking the Pentecost River and amongst the lush tropical rainforest. The Garden Bungalows are closer to the Store but also far enough away.

We are investing in a raft of improvements this year which should be completed prior to our re-opening on April 1st. A new kitchen is being installed for The Steak House Restaurant and we expect to have the French Toast up to scratch as the Head Chef is French.

The new BBQ area off the Station Store will provide an improved and more comfortable environment to enjoy the starry nights, relaxing by an open fire and listening to the live entertainers and background music and on BBQ nights enjoying a special outback experience.

Your feedback is important to us, so thank you. Once again, we are sorry that we failed to live up to your expectations, and we do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Team at El Questro Wilderness Park & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwin
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

This has become our annual holiday. We had decided to try spot along the Gibb River Road as something different this year but were disappointed and returned to El Questro.
We have never stayed in the accomodation.
We camp in our own tent and each year have managed to get one of the prized " private camping sites" which to us is heaven. No toilets, no showers just your own site and far enough away from the next site so that you rarely hear them.The sites range from 1km to 8kms away from the Homestead depending on which one you manage to get on the day.
The Homestead does have showers, toilets , shop , restaurant and a bar which you can utilise.
Our days consisted of waking up about 0530( sunrise) enjoying a unrushed breakfast and deciding what walk/ swimming hole we would tackle for the day.The walks are well marked,written fact sheets on all.

Most campsites are along the river so fishing and putting in the prawn pots are a must with the kids.
Campfires are allowed so our cooking was done on the open fire and in a camp oven..
Our favourite is the ElQuestro walk but we do only go to the halfway point. The waterhole is lovely for swimming in.
Plenty of 4WD tracks
Zebedee Hot Springs in the mornings is a must .It is closed from 12midday

We find the staff amazing, the shop has the basics that you need. We overheard a lot of people complaining about the prices of items there but one has to remember the cost of transporting food and groceries to these areas is not cheap
There is a large grassed area where you can find some shade and mix with the other visitors near the shop.
There are also some swimming holes at the back of the shop and restaurants which is great for kids to swim in although the water is a bit cold.
All in all we love our relaxing/unwinding and picturesque holidays and will continue to arrive each year

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sam63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.8 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#10 of 10 in Kununurra
65 reviews
55.5 mi away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#6 of 17 in Kununurra
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Emma Gorge Resort
Emma Gorge Resort
#3 of 10 in Kununurra
172 reviews
60.6 mi away
Home Valley Station
Home Valley Station
#4 of 17 in Kununurra
205 reviews
1.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Questro The Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Questro The Station

Property: El Questro The Station
Address: 75 Coolibah Dr, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Questro The Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Questro The Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Questro The Station Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing