We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kununurra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magnificent Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just come back from a 4 night stay at the resort in the very stylish Lake View Bungalows. Sunrise over the lake was beautiful and the water was gorgeous. We specifically went to the Lake to ski and we weren't disappointed. The resort is very well managed and all of the staff were very helpful, so thank you for all of your assistance. We were a family group and stayed in the 10 Bed Villa. Plenty of bathrooms! Airconditioned throughout and an equipped kitchen. The BBQ is just a short walk away. Very exciting to hear about the future plans and we are already discussing a return visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Public Relations Manager at Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi Clio M,
Many thanks for your great review of our establishment! The management and staff of Lake Argyle Resort work hard to ensure that guests expectations are always met or exceeded, so it is very rewarding to hear back from our satisfied customers.
Thank you once again, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and yes, we are also very excited about the upcoming developments that are taking place and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
From all of the team at the Lake Argyle Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    95
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
59
153
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed over night in the Villas and oh my god what an experience.
The staff are so friendly the rooms are perfect, and the view... where else in the world would you find something like that.
The work they will be doing over the next few years will only add to it.
The pool is rated in the top ten pools in Australia.
The food is very nice, decent sizes too.

I would go back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: The villas can be 4 bedroom, 2 or 1. depends what you want to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieb901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Public Relations Manager at Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Hi Charlie,

Many thanks for your wonderful comments! Always great to hear back from our guests. The dedicated team at the Lake Argyle Resort look forward to seeing you again when you return.

Kind regards,
From all of the staff and management at Lake Argyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a magical place to stay. We just had 5 days there and it was simply amazing. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the caravan sites were very shady and large. During our time there we had the experience of some fools lighting a fire where they shouldn't have and a rather large bush fire ensued and the staff were absolutely wonderful and worked tirelessly to keep the situation under control. They really need to be commended in the way they handled the situation. I would definately go back there and think that Lake Argyle should be on everyone's bucket list.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Public Relations Manager at Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hi Cheryl,
Many thanks for your wonderful feedback. We have a very dedicated team working at the Lake Argyle Resort and it is always great to hear from satisfied guests!
Kind regards,
From all of the staff and management at Lake Argyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a last minute change of plans and decided to give the Bungle Bungle a miss this time (and go at a better time of year when it was less dry and hot) and go to Lake Argyle instead. I'm SO glad we did! We rang the night before we were due to arrive there and they had an offer of stay 2 nights, pay for 1. We stayed 2 nights in the 1 bedroom Lakeview Unit for only $299. This was bliss as we had been mostly staying in a camper trailer.
Our Unit was very new and modern. Plenty of space for us and our 2 year old. The kitchen had two burners and a microwave. The ensuite was lovely (especially the shower), and the bed was comfortable. The view was EXCEPTIONAL (from our room) as our unit overlooked the lake. We had a little balcony that was nice to relax on. The TV was a good size (although we could only find one channel?).
I do have a few gripes however....one of them big, the others fairly minor. Our biggest gripe was with the lack of privacy at night. There is no blind on the side of the unit, so once it was dark, the bunch of 'ladies' next door on the balcony of the grand villa could see everything we were doing in our kitchen, lounge/dining area. We both felt very uncomfortable about that. A blind on this side window would solve that.
Another problem we had were bugs! A much bigger problem here than when we were out camping. Thousands of the tiny flying insects were attracted to the lights, and they were somehow getting inside.......by the thousands. By the time we realised on the first night we had been overrun by them. We solved the problem with flyspray (our own) around the windows and doors, but we were wading through tiny corpses the next day, which we had to try and sweep out. Bugs are a fact of life, but perhaps if something can be done about the seals to prevent them getting in?
The minor complaint I have is with the coffee. These are lovely, stylish, upmarket rooms and deserve classier coffee making provisions than Nescafe sachets (yuck!). Travelling throughout NZ, almost all of our accommodation, no matter whether upmarket or budget had a coffee plunger and a bag of 'proper coffee', replaced daily. It's the seemingly small things that can make the difference.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the pool was gorgeous! I have read that the pool was unswimmable from being too cold. We certainly found it cold (esp because we are from Darwin and are soft), but we did have a swim, and many others did too in the couple of hours that we were there. It wasn't the coldest pool we had swum in this trip. A bit more shade on the grassed area would be nice though for those of us who aren't sun seekers.
We took a sunset cruise through Lake Argyle Cruises and really enjoyed it. The sunset swim with a sparkling wine or beer was great, even our 2 year old seemed to enjoy the experience.
I really liked it here and will definitely return and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Make sure you know whether your room faces the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Public Relations Manager at Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hi Lianne,
Many thanks for your review. We consider that all feedback from guests is critical to ensure that we continue to improve our facilities. As you are aware, the Villa that you stayed in is very new and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. You will be happy to know that we have now installed blinds on those windows and we are trialling a number of different methods to control the insects. Yes, unfortunately, bugs are a fact of life in the tropics and from time to time, swarms of them do create some problems, but some lighting and screen changes will ensure that they will not be such an issue in the future. Re the coffee, yes we agree, good quality coffee does make a difference. We have noted your comments and will be looking at better quality alternatives to Nescafe sachets. The staff and management of Lake Argyle Resort are always working hard to try to ensure that we always provide an exceptional experience for guests, so once again thank you for your comments and we are very happy that you enjoyed your visit regardless of the issues you mentioned.
Kind regards,
From all of the staff and management at Lake Argyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We spent three nights camping in a powered site, followed by two nights in a room in one of their new villas. We had a great experience with both.

We stayed during peak season and the staff were rushed off their feet, but coped exceptionally well. The two English back-packers were brilliant and although obviously very busy always had a smile and went the extra mile to serve everyone. They also made the best coffee.

The resort is in a perfect location overlooking the lake and close to where the tours depart from. It was hard to take a bad picture, especially at sunset when the edge of the buff became a viewing point for sunset drinks.

The camp ground is well maintained and they try and water the sites whenever possible. The only downside was our ablution block, which is made up of individual showers/toilets. They look like they have come from a construction camp. Although kept clean, the water pressure was not good and unless you hit the showers at 5.30am there was only luke warm water.

The room in the villa was brand new and very clean. The ensuite was large and well decorated. Having some space was excellent after 10 nights of camping and a real bed very welcome. The room had tea/coffee making facilities, microwave and a fridge. It could possibly do with some other cooking area, such as a BBQ outside.

The room was in a villa with three other rooms, which means that it could be rented as a whole or you could rent 1,2 or 3 rooms. The only disappoinment is that the family room (1 Queen sized bed and 1 single) are located at the back and do not have a view over the lake. The other slight issue we had is that the front rooms to the villa were let out to someone else. With only a connecting door between we could hear our neighbours until quite late (we probably disturbed them as we left early in the morning)

However, a great stay in both foms of accommodation and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonandTracyBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Public Relations Manager at Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Hi Jon & Tracy,
Many thanks for your comprehensive review of our customer service, accommodation and facilities. We love hearing back from guests and your feedback is vital to our ongoing development of the resort to ensure that we can continue to improve what we do. I have passed on your comments to the team and the girls say a big "thank you" for your compliments!
All the best for the rest of your travels and hopefully we can welcome you back again one day.
Kind regards and thanks again,
From all of the staff and management at Lake Argyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have just spent four beautiful days and nights at this piece of paradise. The views from the beautiful pool and spa are spectacular, the staff are so friendly and very helpful. They help you arrange tours and make sure you have all you need. The park itself is grassy and shady which is wonderful for caravanners. Very clean ensuite facilities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suedroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Public Relations Manager at Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Hi Sue,
Many thanks for your comments. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again soon and we wish you safe travels and awesome memories.
Kind regards,
From all of the staff and management at Lake Argyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with a motor home - view from the pool was amazing and staff were very helpful.
Lots of things to do and see with the lake tours nearby and nice grassed park with lots of space, water and trees.
The only thing we were not keen on was the ensuite bathroom facilities with toilets and showers together in individual rooms.
Will definitely go back !

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Possum6076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Public Relations Manager at Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments. We value your feedback and have taken on board your comments regarding the ensuite facilities. Within the next few years we hope to dramatically improve the quality of our facilities in the caravan park and will be building a new Resort Centre overlooking our pool and the magnificent Lake Argyle scenery.
All the best for the rest of your travels and please come back again soon to see the progress or our development at Lake Argyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
22.4 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
23.0 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
22.8 mi away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
21.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park

Property: Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park
Address: Lot 3001 | Lake Argyle Road, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular location on hillside overlooking Lake Argyle and breathtaking rugged Kimberley scenery. Lake View Villas, Cabins, Safari Tents, caravan park and camping ground. Famous "Infinity Pool" with views over the lake. Activities include: boat cruises, helicopter flights, float planes, bush walking, fishing, swimming etc. General store, restaurant and bar open from 7.30Am to 8pm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing