We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bungle Bungle tour with Slingair”
Review of Aviair

Aviair
Book In Advance
More Info
$322.32*
and up
Scenic Air Tour of the Bungle Bungle Range and Lake Argyle from Kununurra
More Info
$637.36*
and up
Bungle Bungle Scenic Flight and Southern Gorges Walk with Optional Helicopter...
More Info
$525.08*
and up
Bungle Bungle Scenic Flight Including Ground Tour of the Argyle Diamond Mine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Aviair (previously Slingair) was established in 1984 and has grown to become the first choice for scenic air tours of the magnificently beautiful Kimberley region of Western Australia. With over 30 years' experience in remote outback aircraft operations, our personalised service will ensure your fixed wing scenic air tour, charter flight, or air transfer are completed in comfort and style. Our tailored air safaris and fly drive tours showcase famous Kimberley attractions, including the Bungle Bungles in the World Heritage listed Purnululu National Park, Lake Argyle, Mitchell Falls, King George Falls and the Argyle Diamond Mine. Aviair solely operates the Cessna 208 Caravan, which it introduced into the Kimberley in 1994. The Cessna 208 Caravan is a turbo prop, fully air-conditioned, high wing, PA equipped aircraft. The aircraft offers a centre aisle, greater legroom and headroom than any other scenic flight aircraft in the Kimberley. In addition the safety and reliability record of this aircraft type is one of the highest in its class, thereby maximising passenger safety and comfort. Aviair is proud to operate the youngest fleet of scenic tour aircraft in the Kimberley. In addition to charters, tours and remote transfers, Aviair is also a fundamental bridge between remote communities and larger towns. Aviair also provide freight transport, mining support, survey, search and rescue, emergency extraction, and mail services to remote communities. Aviair is a subsidiary of the Aviator Group, a general aviation specialist with operations around Australia. Aviair operates 8 Cessna 208 Caravan turbo prop aircraft each with a 10 to 13 passenger seat capacity. The company's head office is in Kununurra with a base in Broome. Aviair offer 8 air safari tour options of which 6 include spectacular views of the Bungle Bungles; all provided by young Cessna 208 Caravan turbo prop aircraft. You can also combine a scenic air safari with a ground tour and helicopter flight. Aviair offers a comprehensive program that includes stunning views of Lake Argyle, the Argyle Diamond Mine (may include a ground tour); Kununurra Icons; Kimberley Panorama flight which takes you over the famous King George Falls and the spectacular Mitchell Falls. Aviair has experiences to suit any time frame and budget.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Baldivis, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bungle Bungle tour with Slingair”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We did the Bungle Bungle flight to the Bungle Bungles and then the helicopter flight and then the tour of the diamond mine. My husband absolutely loved the whole trip.Ryan,our pilot, guide and coach driver all rolled into one was great. I found the flight not so good as I got airsick and was disappointed with the helicopter as I had a back facing seat and could only get a partial view of the Bungle Bungles through tinted glass. My recommendation would be to drive into the Bungle Bungle caravan park and do a ground tour and then do a helicopter ride on a helicopter where you have only 3 passengers so will have a good view. My husband had a good seat so he would recommend the whole tour.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank colleenh52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knx, Public Relations Manager at Aviair, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for the review Colleen. We are pleased that you enjoyed your Bungle Bungle flight and Argyle Diamond Mine Ground tour with us and are disappointed that the helicopter flight was not what you expected. We use a variety of helicopters, the one you flew in was a Bell Longranger, which is a turbine engine luxury helicopter and seats 5 pax. One row does face backwards and one person sits in a middle seat, as you did, which is gratefully received by those who are uncomfortable sitting on the side where there is no door. We do also operate the R44 piston engine helicopters, these seat 3 pax all facing forward. Our flights departing from the Bungle Bungle airstrip give you the full flight time over the Bungles, whereas those flying in from outside the National park spend time getting there so the time over the Bungles is less.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    35
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great flight over Bungle Bungles”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We took the early morning two hour flight from Kununnura over Lake Argyle and the Bungle Bungles. Slingair are a very professional operation. Friendly pilot, excellent commentary and fantastic views - a great way to appreciate a geography that can't be really seen from the ground, particularly the scale and gorges of the Bungles.

Helpful?
2 Thank mick3187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AviairSales, Manager at Aviair, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi Mick

Thanks so much for your kind review. We're delighted that you appreciated the view from the sky. The Kimberley guards its secrets well unless you take to the air where views are simply stunning and spectacular.

Really appreciate the kind words about pilot.

Please feel free to share any photos you have of your trip on Trip Advisor.

Wishing you safe travels, and we hope to see you again in the future.


Kind regards,

Slingair | Aviair team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slingair 2 hour flight over Bungle Bungles etc.”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was an experience I never thought I would be able to have. We went on the first flight in the morning, being picked up at 5.15 am, but it was worth getting up for so early. The scenery is breathtaking and can be compared to a flight through the Grand Canyon in the US.
Seeing the whole area from the air which we had previously partially seen from the ground was fantastic! I can thoroughly recommend it. We had a good pilot too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Evalore B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AviairSales, Manager at Aviair, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi Evalore,

Thanks so much for your kind review. We're delighted that you appreciated the view from the sky. The Kimberley guards its secrets well unless you take to the air where views are simply stunning and spectacular.

Really appreciate the kind words about pilot. Please feel free to share any photos you have of your trip on Trip Advisor.

Wishing you safe travels, and we hope to see you again in the future.


Kind regards,

Slingair | Aviair team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Bungle Bungles (Purnalulu)”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We wanted to do the Bungles but did not have a 4WD nor were we experts at 4 wheel driving, so we decided to do the 1 day fly in fly out tour - we are so glad we did. We left at about 9 in the morning, flew out over Kununurra and Lake Arglye with expert commentary all the way by our pilot Ryan. We landed at the airstrip and were collected by an airconditioned bus and of course with another expert tour guide Bruce. We drove to the Domes walk, then walked for about an hour or so, taking in Picaninny Creek (where the Qantas Ad was done) and then into Cathedral Gorge. Here we had a delicious lunch provided by the company - he called it Hot Rock Cafe as we all sat around on rocks right within the Gorge. We then made our way out, dropped off a couple who were taking a Helicopter ride over the Bungles whilst the rest of us went to the Eco Village and had afternoon tea. At about 4 or so we all piled back into the aircraft for the journey home. It was a great way of seeing this remarkable part of our country. There are other parts (Echidna Gorge for example), but only so much can be done in a day. You can do tours which will take you into the Bungles for several days, but many of the roads are very very rough and you do need to be happy to bump over these roads and in some instances sleep rough. Whatever you decide to do it will be well worth it - I highly recommend a visit to the Bungle Bungles.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank aussieannAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AviairSales, Manager at Aviair, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi Ann,

We really appreciate your comprehensive review. We're delighted that you enjoyed the view from the sky. The Kimberley guards its secrets well unless you take to the air where views are simply stunning and spectacular.

Please feel free to share any photos you have of your trip on Trip Advisor.

Wishing you safe travels, and we hope to see you again in the future.


Kind regards,

Slingair | Aviair team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bungle bungles flight”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have to recommend the Slingair 2 hour 9 am flight over Lake Argyle, Bungle Bungles and Argyle diamond mine as a must for visitors to Kununurra. While it is suggested you can drive and camp at the Bungle Bungles and take walking tracks, this exposes you to a very small section of the expanse known as the Bungle Bungles. Sure on the ground you may get the height of the features but in the air at 2500 ft you get the overall vista of these amazing formations. The flight also enables you to try and comprehend the size of lake Argyle, some 30 times the volumes of Sydney Harbour.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank morjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AviairSales, Manager at Aviair, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi Morjoy,

Thanks so much for your kind review. We're delighted that you appreciated the view from the sky. The Kimberley guards its secrets well unless you take to the air where views are simply stunning and spectacular.

Please feel free to share any photos you have of your trip on Trip Advisor.

Wishing you safe travels, and we hope to see you again in the future.


Kind regards,

Slingair | Aviair team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aviair also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Aviair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing