We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Triple J Tours

Triple J Tours
Ranked #2 of 18 Tours in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Triple J Tours have been offering one of the longest river cruises in Australia between Kununurra and the Ord Top Dam at Lake Argyle (a distance of 55km one way) for over 26 years. Cruising on a section of the Ord River known as Lake Kununurra, Triple J Tours will have you admiring spectacular scenery, flora, bird life, crocodiles and flying foxes all from the comfort of one of their vessels aptly named ‘Peregrine’, ‘Harrier’ and ‘Osprey’. Fully shaded and with toilets on-board, these vessels cruise the river with ease and are ergonomically constructed so as to cause as little damage as possible to the river bank. Touring options can include a 70km coach transfer Kununurra to Lake Argyle (or vice versa), a magnificent cruise, a tasty buffet lunch at a riverside camp and/or afternoon tea. A commentary is provided on not only the flora and fauna, but also on the nature and history of the mighty Ord River.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We took a boat trip with Triple J Tours up the Ord River from Kununurra to the Ord Dam and back. Our pilot/guide Dylan was extremely knowledgeable without being overbearing. He was more than happy to stop and look for crocs with us. And he could spot them miles off - I kept seeing "Logodiles" as he coined them. I think you can get a bus to Lake Argyll from Kununurra and take the boat back, but I'd recommend taking the boat both ways as the river looks completely different on the way back. Added delights were watching the fruit bats, stopping for tea and scones on the river bank and the speed boat feel as the boat rushed through the reeds. Full marks to Dylan for making it such a fun and enjoyable trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TouristAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTripleJ, Manager at Triple J Tours, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thankyou for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your tour and seeing the "logodiles" on the river. We look forward to seeing you again if you ever venture into this part of the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    31
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I was recently in Kununurra and booked a trip with Triple J,we had a great trip and the area we traveled up the Ord River to Dam to be a wonderful experience and very pretty.. Thanks to Triple J for making our trip very good and would highly recommend them.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTripleJ, Manager at Triple J Tours, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thankyou for your positive review. We are glad that you had a great trip and thank you in advance for passing on the recommendations to fellow travellers about Triple J Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

When in Kununurra we did a tour with triple J tours they really looked after us. They picked us up from our hotel door step and we did the bus trip to Durack homestead, the dam wall etc and the tour guide was so informative. We then did the boat trip down the ord river it was the highlight of the trip. It is well worth the money and I would do it again if ever in Kununarra.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTripleJ, Manager at Triple J Tours, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thankyou for your review and kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you in this beautiful part of the world again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnamah
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ord river rush with triple J”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent yesterday afternoon cruising the ord river from Kununurra to the Dam and return with jeff As our driver,after being picked up from our accommodation.As this is the Wet season there were only the Minimum four of us on this trip (pays to travel with friends)so we had Jeff,s undivided attention and all the room that we needed for the afternoon.Amazing scenery and wild life ,which seemed to change very time we turned the next corner.I would recommend this cruise for anyone ,and would love to do it again sometime

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Do this trip”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A recent stay in Kununurra enabled us to make this trip. What an eye opener - the dam wall, the Durack homestead, and best of all the great trip down the Ord with the very knowledgeable Jeff. The flora and fauna was varied, and our understanding of this part of the Kimberley enhanced. Excellent value for money and a great afternoon out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank earnedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triple J Tours also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Triple J Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing