We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Triple J Tours

Triple J Tours
Ranked #2 of 16 Tours in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Triple J Tours have been offering one of the longest river cruises in Australia between Kununurra and the Ord Top Dam at Lake Argyle (a distance of 55km one way) for over 26 years. Cruising on a section of the Ord River known as Lake Kununurra, Triple J Tours will have you admiring spectacular scenery, flora, bird life, crocodiles and flying foxes all from the comfort of one of their vessels aptly named ‘Peregrine’, ‘Harrier’ and ‘Osprey’. Fully shaded and with toilets on-board, these vessels cruise the river with ease and are ergonomically constructed so as to cause as little damage as possible to the river bank. Touring options can include a 70km coach transfer Kununurra to Lake Argyle (or vice versa), a magnificent cruise, a tasty buffet lunch at a riverside camp and/or afternoon tea. A commentary is provided on not only the flora and fauna, but also on the nature and history of the mighty Ord River.
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

When in Kununurra we did a tour with triple J tours they really looked after us. They picked us up from our hotel door step and we did the bus trip to Durack homestead, the dam wall etc and the tour guide was so informative. We then did the boat trip down the ord river it was the highlight of the trip. It is well worth the money and I would do it again if ever in Kununarra.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTripleJ, Manager at Triple J Tours, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thankyou for your review and kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you in this beautiful part of the world again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    25
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carnamah
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ord river rush with triple J”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent yesterday afternoon cruising the ord river from Kununurra to the Dam and return with jeff As our driver,after being picked up from our accommodation.As this is the Wet season there were only the Minimum four of us on this trip (pays to travel with friends)so we had Jeff,s undivided attention and all the room that we needed for the afternoon.Amazing scenery and wild life ,which seemed to change very time we turned the next corner.I would recommend this cruise for anyone ,and would love to do it again sometime

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Do this trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

A recent stay in Kununurra enabled us to make this trip. What an eye opener - the dam wall, the Durack homestead, and best of all the great trip down the Ord with the very knowledgeable Jeff. The flora and fauna was varied, and our understanding of this part of the Kimberley enhanced. Excellent value for money and a great afternoon out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank earnedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“85km per hour up the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Jeff of Triple J Tours does an excellent trip out of Kununurra. They have several fast boats with sun awnings, plenty of speed. Topped off with Jeff's knowledge abundant wildlife and beautiful surrounds, it makes for a great trip.

We had a group of 10 international visitors and organised a private trip at very reasonable rates (it was out of the main tourist time). I'd highly recommend the experience

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AjmSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Must Do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

It was our 3rd visit to Kununurra and the 3rd time we have done this tour. We did the J4 - boat to and from the dam wall. Each time the Ord River impresses us with its spectacular scenery. The commentary is fascinating, learning about the history of the area, the damming of Lake Argyle, and the Ord River Irrigation Scheme – very interesting. All the tour guides are professional, very knowledgeable, friendly & enthusiastic. A must do !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triple J Tours also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Triple J Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing