We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
darwin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Overall nice place, relaxed and peaceful, as it is close to the water I would prepare yourselves with repellant but that is expected anywhere. BBQ areas, pool and selection of accommodation. Dog friendly too a bonus for those who travel with the entire family.would stay here again should I ever be passing through

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank lazysundaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi lazysundaze, thanks for your review and for sharing your photo. We look forward to welcoming you the the park again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    53
    13
    12
    4
See reviews for
34
97
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed at this park for 1 night, which made us crazy. Lots lots of bugs at night, and for the next morning, our car and tent were covered by lots lots of birds drops. If you wanna stay at here, away from the tree. Actually, it seems trees are everywhere in the park.

Bathroom is not clean. Lots of dead bugs and small geckos. Geckos would not bite you, but it always came out from somewhere suddenly, which was quite shocked.

And the camp kitchen, I think you can imagine ants and flies everywhere, in the toaster, on the bench, and even drop in the kettle.

If you have to stay here, please prepare for this bugs world.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytreefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hihappytreefirend, thanks for your review. This time of year does bring a lot of native fauna to the park and we do try to make it as comfortable for our guests as possible. We appreciate your feedback and will continue to improve and develop the products and services we deliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
484 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We only booked in for 1 night passing through and ended up staying 5.
When we first entered reception we were met with a huge smile and welcome from Mark, in fact everyone we dealt with at reception went out of their way to make you welcome.
We were in a basic cabin but it was immaculate with great lakeside views. The only downside is they don't provide fresh towels daily and they don't have a children's play area.
You can hire boats on the lake (marine license required) or you can hire a canoe ($10 per hour) what fun we had. If you are feeling brave you can even swim in the lake with the resident croc George, don't worry he is a freshie not saltie.
Every other day they have some kind of entertainment on with sausage sizzles, seafood, steaks etc for a small donation - all proceeds go to charity.
There is so much to see and do in Kununarra so we will be back.
Ps Mark we picked up the laser lights from Mindil Market (thanks for that)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi CLAZZ59, Thanks for your review. We're very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We checked out 3 C/Parks when arriving in Kununurra as we had stayed in another Park on a trip a few years beforehand with fond memories. The Lady at reception at The Discovery Park was so pleasant and helpful and let us look around and went out of her way to get the 3 of us a great spot altogether right on the bank of the river. The Park is well kept and the Toilets and Showers were spotless. The Pool area is very nice and also very clean. We met the Husband part of the Management Team (sorry cant remember their names) during our stay and he was also pleasant and very helpful. The park has its attractions with resident Crocs and birds. We went to a Barra and Beef night on the Banks of the River within the Park grounds on one of the nights with some of the Park folk putting on a bit of a fund raising concert and it was a great night with invovlement and work put in from the Park Manages. I would recommend this Great Park to any one who may be visiting Kununurra in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLAZZ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi CLAZZ59, Thanks for your review. We're very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We camped here one night after having driven from Darwin, and found it to be very nice and safe. We pitched a tent right on the waters edge, the powered sites are spacious - plenty of room for camper trailers/caravans or tents. Ammenities were clean and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KattyWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi KattyWanderlust, Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Wow, what a pleasure staying here, Fantastic customer service, very helpful and friendly.
The park is very well kept, the prices are great, the lake view from our caravan is so relaxing.
I had problems with my Big4 membership card and I was told to go, set up, relax and come back later and they would sort it out for us. We went, we set up, we relaxed, we went back later.
Not only was it sorted, the fabulous ladies at reception even printed out a temporary membership card for us. The manager Kathryn is a hands on lady, easy to talk to and made us feel very welcome. DEFINATELY stay here every time we are in Kununurra.
Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catbee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Thank you Kathryn. Your sincerity and genuine committment to customer service are outstanding. I think that it is very easy for things in any caravan park or hotel to go wrong - however it is how the management then respond that determines the lasting impression. We had concerns that were not addressed well by a staff member and had decided to leave and go elsewhere. On our way out, luckily Kathryn was on the desk. She not only listened, she acted and went out of her way to ensure we did not leave here as disgruntled customers. She gave us a fantastic price on a delightful unit. We are now sitting here with big smiles on our faces, feeling so well looked after.
I would really recommend this park to anyone. The deluxe villas are gorgeous and if you have a negative experience in this park, ask for Kathryn or Mark because they will want to know about it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi Shanara1, thank you for your post. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Lake Kununurra and that Kathryn was able to help you with your needs. We look forward to welcoming you again on future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
1.1 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
1.6 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ivanhoe Village Caravan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra

Property: Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Address: Lakeview Drive, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing