We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 8 nights on powered site. Great location on the lake and just outside of CBT and next to the renowned Pumphouse. Friendly staff who were happy to assist us into our site. On 4 evenings throughout the week there was a BBQ etc for a small charge which went to charity - great idea and opportunity to meet both other campers and the managers/staff. The park itself is a little tired and the amenities we used do need urgent upgrading however the overall tone of this park and the new managers outwayed these issues for us. Mark and his wife have only been in charge since December and appear to know what will be required to bring this park up to the usual good standard expected of a Big4. Will definitely visit again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Beverley,
Thank you for your kind comments. We are continually making improvements to the park and look forward to welcoming you on your return.

Kind regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    54
    16
    13
    5
See reviews for
37
99
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every moment of it. Located right on Lake Kununurra it is quiet and peaceful. The staff were friendly and helpful. This park also puts on bbq's etc several times a week. Have stayed there before and would stay there again. 5 minutes from town and no traffic noise. Just great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clareville251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Clareville251,

Thank you for your feedback. We just love sharing our backyard with our guests. It is a superb location. We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends to our magic part of Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We found this place by chance on a trip from Darwin to Broome. We arrived out of hours with no booking and called from the phone outside reception. Mark was there in seconds with a friendly smile and offering us a camping spot. The location is beautiful, right next to the lake with the friendly croc who the locals have called George. We stopped here again on our return trip as we liked it so much. Mark and his wife were fantastic and very welcoming. Would highly recommend this park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canningkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear CanningKJ,

Thank you for your feedback. We are here to accommodate people no matter what time of the day and will always welcome our guests with a friendly smile. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our stay at Lake Kununurra has been so wonderful we have decided t stay here for another week. The managers Kathryn & Mark have been wonderful hosts & their knowledge of the area so helpful. The burger nights & camp cookouts they organise are a wonderful way for the park residents t mix and enjoy each others company. Thanks again for our most enjoyable stay everything was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raelene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Raelene L,

Thank you for your kind words. We with our team enjoy the interaction and also the positive feedback from our guests. We recognise there have been a lot of friendships made through the interaction between our guests on evenings we organise that will carry on. Happy travels.

Kathryn P
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Although Lake Kununurra is really just a section of the Ord River that is dammed at both ends, it provides a peaceful site for this caravan/cabin spot. We stayed in a 2-bedroom cabin here and, although it is relatively close to the airport so that you hear the planes arriving and taking off during the day, we were not disturbed at night at all. (The airport is busy due to the close proximity of several tourist destinations - Purnululu National Park with its world heritage listed Bungle Bungles plus the Argyle diamond mine and Lake Argyle.) The owners of the caravan park were lovely and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and ensure that all our needs were met. We used the clean, well laid out laundry to bring our clothes back to use. The park itself is set out on an isolated spit of land so that you feel as though you are miles from anywhere whereas in fact you are only a short hop from the shopping hub - or, if you feel like a nice meal out, the Pumphouse Restaurant is within walking distance and also overlooks the lake. Due to the remoteness of the area, we found everything quite expensive but their trucking-in costs must be high too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nera0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn B, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Nera 0414,
Our Oasis on the Ord is as you say peaceful and isolated, although only 2km from the town centre of Kununurra. The location to the airport is in close proximity providing an easily accessed service to all the Kimberley has to offer. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent a week here and it was fabulous.. From the initial check in up until our departure.. could not find any faults, and it was during the muster week as well, and the park was fully booked. Kathryn and Mark are great managers, always smiling and helpful. I must say the 4 meals they put on each week are an excellent idea and a good way to meet other travellers and exchange experiences.. the food was really good, even catering for special diets. We will be back. Thanks for a great week.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenne8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn B, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We thoroughly enjoy what we do and sharing our back yard with you and all who visit is an absolute privilege.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

From beginning total muddle, booking made with staff over phone - staff member booked us for wrong arrival date, unpowered tent site instead of powered van site, no consistency as to where vans are put, came back on the Saturday and Sunday night to find we were blocked in at front, even though there was room to spread vans out, total lack of organizational skills as to were vans and tents are put. Asked manager about places to go on the Sunday for lunch was offered 2 suggestions found it easier to drive around ourselves and find somewhere. Have decided that due to poor organization that we will stay elsewhere next time even if it is more expensive

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn B, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Debbie 2509,
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide an enjoyable time for all of our guests, however sometimes things go wrong. Unfortunately it seems your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been. We do email a confirmation at time of booking and ask that this is confirmed when received or at least verbally confirmed when booking. We will undertake further training with our team to ensure this important step is not missed. As we have only been managing this park since December 2012 we have needed to experience a season to ascertian the faults with regards to the layout of the park. To rectify this we have got plans in progress to make the park more conducive to organised and efficient use of land space. We can only guess your stay coincided with the Kimberley Moon weekend, which is our busiest time on the calendar with many tents occupying sites that are usually reserved for caravans. Whilst we take the time to show guests to their sites sometimes they move slightly to enable a better position and we found that during this weekend there were several guests that had multiple cars on their sites that only choked up ours. As we do not have formal markings on the ground fo all sites it is difficult to ensure guests stay within boundaries set. If there are any problems at the time of the guests stay we ask that these are brought to our attention immediately so we can address them to make the stay more enjoyable. When asked for suggestions regarding places to dine there is only a limited choice, our first recommendation is the Pump House Restaurant situated right next door. We would welcome the opportunity to host you again and gain feedback as to any noticable changes and to enable us to offer you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
1.1 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#10 of 10 in Kununurra
65 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#8 of 10 in Kununurra
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ivanhoe Village Caravan Resort
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
#4 of 10 in Kununurra
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra

Property: Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Address: Lakeview Drive, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing