We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm portacot charges a bit on the nose!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great spot if you like a busy place, the lake views were relaxing and so was the spa bath, fabulous, some of the staff were great - like the man who checked us in with the great sense of humour, hilarious.
How ever where was the childrens activities or jumping pillow playground etc? If there was one we didnt see it and the pool was small with no seating around it so when hubby took the kids for a swim his only choice was to lie on the concrete, a chair or two would have been great.
I did think this place was very overpriced, we were even charged $15 extra for the use of the portacot which for a few more dollars you can actually buy one! And the cot was not set up or made up either, I have to say the $15 extra for the cot was not a winner with me and really got my back up....... out of all the places we have stayed over the years I dont remember ever been charged $15 for a portacot for one night! In fact the next place we stayed provided a brand new portacot which was assembled AND made up with clean sheets and blanket with the edges turned down to boot and was provided free of charge ( and had a free breakky for a cheaper priced newer accomodation with a far better view) ....... are you hearing me.....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redrockrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We value all feedback both positive and negative and are always striving to improve on the products and services we provide to our guests. Should you like to discuss any particular aspect of your stay with us please feel free to contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 186 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked in for 3 days stayed 2 extra and then came back a week later and stayed another 4 days. Kathryn and Mark are very hands on Managers and have only been here a few months but you would think that they had been here for years. They have different events arranged for 4 nights of the week - Camp Oven Cooking, Sausage Sizzle, Barra Burger Night and Seafood Platter Night and the cost is by donation to the Starlight Foundation and the St Johns Ambulance. Anni and Hollie in the office are fantastic, Anni is full of local information. The grounds are kept neat and tidy and the pool is excellent. It is not far from the main shops and it is very quiet. You can launch your boat from the park onto Lake Kununurra. We would highly recommend this park to anyone travelling.

Room Tip: We had riverfront Powered Sites both times but any site would be great.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2NotSoGreyNomads_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

We appreciate your feedback, thanks for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

From the moment I arrived, I was treated with the best customer service I have received in a long time. Mark was great, he gave me some tips in what were the best sites to see around town and he was always free for a chat whenever he saw you. The burramundi burger night they held on the Monday night was a great idea. The holiday park itself it great, its just outside of town in a nice quiet place along the river. Will be back the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archie1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn B, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Mark and I enjoy making people feel like they are at home. We understand what people want through our own experience in what it is we are looking for when we are on the road travelling.
Thank you for your kind comment.
Kind regards,
Kathryn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed 6 weeks in a two bedroom cabin by the lake.
Tis a little out of town so a great serene atmosphere without the chaos.
Got to know George and Rocky the local crocs and the permanent site holders were super friendly and helpful.
The rooms were great sized and the aircon brilliant in the wet season.
Overall fabulous. A great location friendly stuff and clean environment.
Check out the gold coin donation bbq put on to support the local community. What a great atmosphere.
Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trapezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn B, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

We thank you for your feedback and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This has to be one of the best caravan parks We have ever stayed in. A beautiful spot on the lake! The hosts of the caravan park are very friendly and hospitable. After staying here twice now, We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Lake view Cabin!!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elyssa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn B, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

We look for to welcoming you back to Discovery Holiday Parks Lake Kununurra on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our family of four rented the deluxe spa cabin and a deluxe cabin on our trip through the Kimberley. The cabins were clean and had everything we needed. Mark and Kathryn (the managers) were extremely nice and helped us organize a tour of the Kimberley with Shoal Air. Love this place!! We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe spa villa near the lake....love it!!!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissaw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn B, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We strive as a team to give the very best service and to provide an experience that creates special memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for three nights in October in a lake view villa. Wasn't cheap but was a nicely appointed and the park owners were delightful. The park is slightly out of town, but is subsequently quiet and peaceful. Right on the banks of the lake, you have a pretty nice view in the afternoon.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank carlos_yogya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
1.1 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
1.6 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
1.2 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#8 of 10 in Kununurra
185 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ivanhoe Village Caravan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra

Address: Lakeview Drive, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range: $80 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing