We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kununurra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Valley Tourist Park
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have stayed here a few times now and have always found it clean and comfortable. We stay in the cabins, they have basic cooking facilities, ensuite, tv and airconditioning (not sure about heating as we didn't need it).
Nice pool area, washing facilities, helpful and friendly staff.
I like that it is not right in town, therefore, no trouble. But it is still within walking distance.
Up north, the accommodation is ridiculously expensive at most places. Hidden Valley is a great price too, highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1986traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    11
    13
    13
See reviews for
17
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Not sure what the last three people were on about (why would you stay somewhere for a month if it was terrible?) I stayed here for 6 nights in a caravan, originally had booked for 3 nights but ended up extending for another 3 nights. The pool is lovely and well maintained, the ameneties are clean and the staff are very friendly and helpfull. the backdrop of the national park and being able to walk in to the national park was great. The site I had was nice and grassy and large compared to many others ive been to. It was also within walking distance to the town (5 mins) but far enough away from it so as to not be disturbed. Id reccomend this place to anybody from backpackers to people in caravans like myself as it does well in catering for a wide range of needs and if i ever come back to kununurra id be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesshaw S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very small sites, most of the powered sites are dusty because they are so busy. Some sites have a light pole or low tree branches, which you won't know until you try to park (after paying). Poor maintenance of the roads, curbs and sites, easy to roll an ankle at night due to the uneven ground and pot holes.
Amenities are filthy, but probably from the volume of use, cleaning more than once a day is needed.
Stained hand basins, leaking taps. One newer amenities block, heading the same way as the others as its not being cleaned properly.
Too many filthy backpackers for my liking. Fly blown dirty pots with food in them and rubbish on mire than one site. Management were polite and acted quickly, but not followed up, so by the next morning, still rubbish laying around (empty food tins).
For a place advertised as quiet, it was very noisy at night. Talking, car doors closing, cars driving in and out.
A product of too many backpackers. Many of them very polite and considerate, just a few who wreck it for everyone.
Great proximity for views and walks into the National Park, but they don't make up for this dump.
Plenty of much better parks in Kununurra, I won't be back here! (Even if this park had the last available site in Kununurra).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 4wd-Camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We originally booked in for two nights, sight unseen. We were quite surprised to find the park extremely overcrowded with not just travellers but many permanents. We were allocated a horrible patch of red dust with no shade at all. We were all jammed in like sardines due to the very small sites, so there was no escaping the sounds of continuous dogs barking. The amenities were old & dirty, don't even get me started on the shower!! After a night of no sleep we decided to bail & find somewhere nicer. When we asked for a refund (long before check out time) for the 1 night, the receptionist gave us a flat out 'no' with no consideration or further discussion. We have since found somewhere much nicer on the other side of town & like it so much we've decided to stay longer!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed at hidden valley for a month and was absolutely disgusted with the amenities and park in general. We have since moved to a better place. It is a shame because i know of people that have stayed there many years ago when it was lovely. Maybe spend some money on the DIRTY ammenities. If you want to stay somewhere that is clean and friendly i strongly suggets you go elsewhere. It is a very popular backpacker park which is fine, but when they get in the pool at all hours and wake people up its not cool. Management doesnt seem to care, as long as the money is coming in they will turn a blind eye. Would be fantastic place if they kept it maintained.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Washing machine took my money and only half washed the clothes. When I went back to get my clothes the water was still in the machine. Another lady had trouble with her washing machine so she reported both hers and my problems to management.They said someone would come and look at it. I waited and waited standing all this time at the laundry for 1 and a half hours. The lady reported it again half an hour later and was advised she{the office lady} would get onto maintenance.After half an hour I then rang the office and the office lady said she would find the maintenance man. Eventually he turned up and his excuse was " The lady told him she was at the main laundry and when he went to that laundry the machines were working" I would have thought when there was more than 1 laundry surely you would check the other laundries as well. I am writing this so that it may save someone else waiting at the laundry for 1 and a half hours as there was nowhere to sit down in the laundry.

Noisy backpackers until in the camp kitchen area. until 1.30 pm. Apparently not unusual

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horw, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was traveling around Western Australia and came right from Purnululu in the worst season (hot and humid). This camp site is sort of outstanding. At an excellent price you can have a perfect service, friendly staff and a perfect view on the national park. The tent sites feature two camp kitchens which are openly constructed, which fits to the expectations around here. The pool is quite lovely.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huskyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
11.3 mi away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
64 reviews
11.8 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
12.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Ivanhoe Village Caravan Resort
11.7 mi away
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
#4 of 10 in Kununurra
158 reviews
11.2 mi away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#5 of 10 in Kununurra
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Tourist Park

Property: Hidden Valley Tourist Park
Address: Weaber Plains Road, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Tourist Park Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing