We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeside Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Resort Kununurra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
Port Campbell, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Lakeside Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We love this caravan park, in fact we are still here !
On arrival, it was very busy, but Claire handled it very well and professionally. We were staying one week, but a nice site became available, so Claire said we could move, and we booked another week.
We asked to have our interstate mail sent up, and Di at the motel assisted and rang when we got our mail. We also had a courier parcel arrive in town, and Carol the manageress picked it up and delivered it personally to our caravan, thanks Carol.
The sites are a mix of shaded under the trees, and some in the open, the best are on the lakeside of course, but are not powered, but Carol did say when approval comes through, some of the lakeside ones will be powered and with water. The amenities are quite good and are cleaned everyday, plenty washing machines, but no dryer, we feel that one dryer would be an advantage to this laundry area. Plenty of bird life in the park, we have seen kingfishers, kookaburras, tawny frogmouth, not to mention all the water birds, jacanas and freshwater crocs, we even got a shock the other night as a kangaroo ran in front of us around the lakeside in front of the motel guests, with a straw necked ibis chasing it in full flight, what a site, the poor roo jumped the fence at the end of the park. Would recommend this park when in Kununurra,
Mike n Gail.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MikenGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakesideResortKu, Manager at Lakeside Resort Kununurra, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hi Mike and Gail,
Thank you for your review on Lakeside Resort Caravan Park. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our staff were able to help you with all your needs. We're waiting for our new lease and then as you say, some of those wonderful spots on the lake will have power and water. We hope to see you back here again soon. Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Thanks,
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    63
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
88
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We visited two other caravan parks before settling here for 3 nights. It's a little gem, and gets my vote for the best one in the Kimberley! Sure it's in a big town, making it easier to provide facilities thsn the ones on the Gibb river Road. But this was a great stay, from the lakeside (we were literally by the lake!) camping site, great pool, good bathrooms and washup area and always had hot water, plus free wifi. The staff were really friendly too. They had accommodation as well as camping, which I got good reports of.

Room Tip: Try and get a lakeside position, a few midgies but some insect protection deals with that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank genbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakesideResortKu, Manager at Lakeside Resort Kununurra, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hi Genbye,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Lakeside Resort Caravan Park. We are glad you chose to stay with us and enjoyed your time here by the lake. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you again in the future.
Thanks,
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We arrived at the Lakeside Resort slightly deflated as our car had broken down and was being fixed at the local mechanic. We were soon feeling much happier upon wandering around the resort and taking in the scenery. The facilities are clean and well maintained and the staff are very friendly and welcoming.
We set up our tent alongside a lake with amazing views.
The resort is not far from town but far enough to be peaceful and is only $38 a night for a powered tent site.

Our two small children played on the banks where there was sand and swam in the beautiful large pool (which was very cold, but we are from Darwin). The café serves reasonably priced meals and has a special each night. Our family enjoyed the fish and chip night and my wife commented that it was the most beautifully cooked fish she had ever eaten.
I am an avid football fan and the resort has an outdoor projector next to their restaurant and beside the pool area where the staff kindly screened the AFL match for me.
My wife and children had to leave early to fly back to Darwin while I waited for the car to be fixed and Di at the front desk kindly offered to show them the sights of Kununurra before driving them to the airport free of charge. She said that she didn't want them to leave without seeing the highlights of the town and I was blown away by her generosity and the passion for her town which she clearly has.
Our family would like to personally thank all the staff at the Lakeside Resort Kununurra for the kindness you showed towards our family. It certainly made our trip much more enjoyable despite the fact that we had car troubles and our road trip from Darwin to Broome was cut short. We would highly recommend it to others and will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussiesFromTheTopEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakesideResortKu, Manager at Lakeside Resort Kununurra, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Lakeside Resort Caravan Park. Despite your car troubles I'm glad we were able to make your stay enjoyable and your family got to see a little bit of this beautiful town. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hopefully you'll get to finish your travels and come and visit us again one day!
Thanks,
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
266 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Rocked up with no booking for an unpowered site and given a spot right on the edge of the lake. The sunrise and sunset views were delightful along with some croc watching. Had dinner here both nights. Service was inconsistent - slow one night and fast the next night. Toilet was very good - warm water! Bit out of the centre of town but the views on the lakes are wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakesideResortKu, Manager at Lakeside Resort Kununurra, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hi Markmik,

Thank you for your review of Lakeside Resort Caravan Park. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and got to experience the beautiful Kimberley sunsets over the lake! Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you again in the future.
Thanks,
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Spent one night here with a girlfriend before heading off to El Questro. Very happy with our room. It was practically brand new, very clean and well maintained. Beds were really comfortable and the sheets were so new they were still scratchy! Lots of hot water. The resort is located on the edge of a lake with some lovely views. It had a pool, bar and restaurant. We had dinner and breakfast there as well with no complaints. Would stay there again if ever back in the Kimberly.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakesideResortKu, Manager at Lakeside Resort Kununurra, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi Karen,
Thanks for taking the time to review Lakeside Resort. We are glad you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Happy travels.
Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Chose the newly renovated motel room and couldn't have been happier! It was the most expensive option ( we were offered cheaper rooms) but after travelling across the Tamami track and camping in the Bungle Bungle ranges we were looking for some real creature comforts.
Stunning outlook onto the lake and large room very clean, king size comfortable bed and full size fridge as well.New bathroom too.
Reception staff extremely helpful , particularly Carol who offered fantastic tourist info.
Sat outside our room each afternoon with a cold drink soaking in the view!

Room Tip: Choose 20-24 rooms if possible as they have best view and furthest away from pool. ( if you want qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teenbatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakesideResortKu, Manager at Lakeside Resort Kununurra, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to review Lakeside Resort. We're glad you enjoyed your time here and that you experienced some of the fantastic tours we offer in Kununurra. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you again in the future!
Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

The scenic lakeside position in Kununurra and well treed, grassy sites makes the caravan park side of Lakeside Resort Kununurra the best. Helpful, friendly staff. Great pool, big enough for a good swim plus cafe and bar are all part of this well appointed facility. Plenty of hot water and pressure in showers, all clean. Lovely to hear the sound of birds around the lake and enjoy fabulous sunsets.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakesideResortKu, Manager at Lakeside Resort Kununurra, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi Margaret & Nev,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Lakeside Resort & Caravan Park. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you again in the future.
Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.5 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.7 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#5 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Resort Kununurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Resort Kununurra

Property: Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Address: P.O. Box 1129 | Casuarina Way, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeside Resort Kununurra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside Resort offers a unique location on the banks of Lily Creek Lagoon. Enjoy watching the sunset over the Lagoon before heading to our poolside restaurant for dinner.Our newly renovated premier King Rooms offer a 4 star city corporate style including King Bedding, full size fridge and a 36 inch TV with DVD. Continental Breakfast is included in majority of room rates. We are "Kununurra with a view" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lakeside Resort Kununurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Resort Kununurra Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing