We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Kununurra Lakeside always was the best location in Kununurra, but now it also has the newest, freshest rooms. This place is getting a total refurb - everything in the motel rooms has been gutted and replaced with new, stylish fittings. New beds, new tiles, new paint, curtains - you name it's been replaced. Even a lovely new lady on reception - Di, who has been a Kimberley favourite for many years. Great for business or leisure.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly refurbished Motel rooms - available in early May.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 170 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

I had booked months in advance, upon check in found front office in a bit of disarray. Training new staff and a change of ownership. But it got sorted.

Had booked a self contained room, unfortunately the facilities are not what one would expect when booking self contained. We had to live with it. Closer inspection of the room found poorly cleaned floor, shower and toilet. This was compensated by way of a gift pack containing a few extra toiletries and a complimentary drinks voucher at the bar.

We had been travelling into remote areas so had loads of washing to catch up on the laundry facilities were serviceable.

The overall appearance was nice but closer inspection leaves a bit to be desired of, I hope things have improved since we stayed.

We actually came back a week later as we wished to upgrade our camping spot elsewhere to a cabin and they suggested this place.

Unfortunately we decide to dine out beside the pool and the meal was not up to scratch either.

Although we had a wonderful Kimberley Holiday we felt a little let down on these two nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place was very nice great grassy sites right on the lake clean amenities this would have been every thing you could want until u get served by the Asian lady at dinner we stayed 4 nights. Ate in the outdoor dinnining area by the pool it was amazing night one the lady was a grouch and just very rude I got over it as every one has a bad day.. Night 2 ohhh my god she was worse and not just to me but another customer, they asked for some cash out and was told no in the most rudest way with a role of the eyes and lucky the eft machine had a cable attached or I recon the way she hurtled it ove the counted it would have been in the lake.. I tried to make conversation with her and was just met with a grunt and a WHAT !!! I did not know what to say next my mate said to her u are so rude!! She looked roled the eyes at us and said RUDE HUH over the counter flew the eft again at us to pay for dinner. I then asked her how long she was there for she told me she is on a 2 year contract.... Well get out of there and let some one in that enjoys the job and has a little bit of customer service......will not be back while she is there and talking to a few other guest they were of the same opinion as us on her rude aditude!! If u stay avoid the bar and restaurant while she is there....

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jayz_24a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very disappointing - had a self catering double room booked 6 months in advance (and paid for 6 months in advance) for a family wedding. $180.00 per night for a room with dirty room curtains and stained shower curtain,rusty basin. 'self catering' turned out to be tea and coffee making facilities. Food in restaurant was excellent but not enough to make me stay there again.

Room Tip: make sure if you want self catering room this is stipulated when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night after a long ride in and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They had us booked in and organised quickly, with good instructions.

The room (Twin Share) was spacious, modern and clean - it's a very professionally run resort and the value was excellent. It was a lot cheaper than a few other places we tried in town.

Some other guests recommended the in-house restaurant which was a great moved - excellent meals with friendly service down by the pool.

Highly recommended and I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

When we arrived in the afternoon the park was almost full. The friendly staff gave us a map with options and allowed us to walk around the sites available. In the mean time we found two vacant sites with water and power and we asked about these they told us that these were the last sites that they offered people as they were close to the Dongas that were occupied by contractors that left early in the morning and they were also close to the bar, which could be noisy but closed at 10. These sites suited us perfectly and we accepted the conditions. Noise was not an issue and we had two grassed and shady powered sites with water. Lovely small caravan park that gets busy. Our dogs were welcome too! We have noticed that caravan parks that take dogs are mostly busier as to ones that don't. As we are travelling with two dogs, we appreciate parks that welcome them. We paid a dog bond, which is not unreasonable.

Stayed: June 2013
4  Thank knhAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Once again we have a large lakeside site that is relatively private. The park has a big pool, nice bar and restaurant alongside offering $10 meals to campers only a few nights a week and theme nights for all on others. They have just started to take bookings over the season (used to be you had to be here around 9am and queued up to hope to get a site). Staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful and amenities are pretty good. We are here for a week so got a 10% discount off our site fees.

Room Tip: Try for a lake view site-they are generally a bit bigger, and you'll be rewarded with glorious s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justjans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.5 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.7 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#3 of 10 in Kununurra
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Resort Kununurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Resort Kununurra

Address: P.O. Box 1129 | Casuarina Way, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Price Range: $98 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeside Resort Kununurra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside Resort offers a unique location on the banks of Lily Creek Lagoon. Enjoy watching the sunset over the Lagoon before heading to our poolside restaurant for dinner.Our newly renovated premier King Rooms offer a 4 star city corporate style including King Bedding, full size fridge and a 36 inch TV with DVD. Continental Breakfast is included in majority of room rates. We are "Kununurra with a view" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeside Resort Kununurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Resort Kununurra Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing