We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When in Bhuj, stay here!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hodka Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hodka Village
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level Contributor
170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“When in Bhuj, stay here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

These are mud huts & tented accommodation in the middle of the vast deserted Rann of Gujarat. It is exactly 50kms from Bhuj. I recommend staying here only if you get to stay at their mud huts......i will give reasons why.
1) The tented accommodation is less secure with animals visiting in the night. One night when we came back to the resort we were shocked to see that our beds were stained with animal blood with dirty foot steps of a mongoose who had its prey there!
2) The bath room cannot be locked or tied up properly, which made me uncomfortable whenever I used to go for a bath. When I told the staff about the discomfort I was facing, I was told that no one will come & end of story!
3) We were there in the end of January when the temperatures are a little low. The tents are not equipped to handle that kind of cold. When we asked for a heater, they refused to give & that too very bluntly! So, if visiting in winters(dec-jan), make sure no tents!

Mudhouse is awesome, very earthy with mud flooring, warm in the night when the temperatures outside were 15degrees. There is a mosquito net, big space for all ur stuff, dressing table & a fan. The bathroom is outside after crossing a little backyard, traditional with contemporary facilities. There is a handicraft shop inside the resort but I recommend buying from the locals. There are cultural events in the evenings around a bon fire.

Now let us operate their functionality. The food is Gujarati, tastes good but the choice of menu is not much. Its a buffet style meal & so one has no choice! The service is average with the staff not very well trained, blame it on the concept on which the resort runs! I felt that the staff were a bit annoying, staring almost all the times & not very polite. I do not expect a 5 star attitude but at least an above average for the price I was paying!

Even after a couple of the above aberrations, I would recommend staying here as it is the best in the area, with a good location( 25kms from the White Rann & 50kms from Bhuj). It is a micro village in itself & so a picturesque property where one can find solace & can meditate. It shuts in the high summers as the heat is too strong in the desert.

A couple of pointers for travellers travelling to Bhuj:

1) Please book a cab in advance before arriving at the Bhuj airport as there are almost none at the airport to take one to the city(which is only 5kms from the airport). The cabs there are hire for long distances from Bhuj.
2) If staying for a night in Bhuj there are many options, the best one is B Cube hardly a km from the airport. Its a new hotel with great food & good service.
3) Theres not a lot to visit within the city except for a temple & a dried up lake for good birding.
4) If interested in eating local food try the wads pav at the Shanker Samosa wala. We wanted to try the Kathiawadi(local bhuj cuisine) food so went to the RYAN RESORTS, it was a complete disappointment!
5) Make sure you have a transport at your disposal all the your stay in Bhuj & around. For a local experience, a ride in the auto-rikshaws(tuk-tuk) is not bad.

Room Tip: Please take a Mud House/hut for a better experience of the village & security!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank monica j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    60
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

¬The resort is absolutely beautiful and Kutchi in every way- meals, interior of tents/bhungas, the ambience and people. It is a real treat and experience to stay at Shaam-e-Sarhad. The staff is hospitable, warm and really helpful. Once can also buy Kutchi shawls, souvenirs and crafts from inside the resort and these are all well-priced and of the same cost as you’d find outside around. The tents and Bhungas are spacious with clean and pretty big bathrooms. The homes of Hodka craftspeople are just 10 minutes away from the resort where one can see them at work (on leather crafts, jewellery, mirror work etc.) and also buy from them directly. It is the best place to stay near Rann of Kutch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndiaOffRoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

based on trip advisor reviews we booked ourselves in a tent accommodation as the bhoongas were not available.we reached late afternoon but we were continuously being monitored by the people as to where we had reached and how much time we would take.they waited and kept lunch.for us.the tents are wonderful,with double bed and sitting area,changing area and modern washroom.The buffet food was good with a wide variety and simply made.great hospitality.extra bed was bought on time.a fire after dinner with some local dance and music. the night was chilly and morning were chilly and nice.some good sight seeing around the location is good.

Room Tip: all the tents are with similar facilities and good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raj0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I am truly impressed with Shaam-e-Sarhad. The picturesque resort offers 3 mud huts called Bhungas & about 10 tents. It has been beautifully designed & constructed by the villagers, who also own & manage the place. The decor has traditional Banni crafts on display. Printed fabrics, Kutchi dolls, lamps, & pink bougainvilleas add colour to mud plastered walls. The food is local cuisine but finger-licking good. The staff is attentive & courteous. A folk music performance had been arranged for the evening. They also have a small stall that sells the craft & embroidery items made by artisans of the region.
We stayed one night in the traditional Bhunga. Extremely spacious & well suited to modern needs alongwith local crafts & decorating styles. Attached to the room was a large balcony sit-out. Another small open balcony led to a well stocked bathroom, as big as an average sized room.
The resort is about 20 km before the White Desert & way better than the other half hearted, concretised attempts at creating Bhunga resorts. Overall, a perfect relaxing getaway for everyone. Go get charmed!

Room Tip: Please spend atleast 24 hours here to experience & appreciate the beauty of the place during dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank U S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had been to Kutch trip on 28th January, 2013 with my wife and a friend and his wife. We are from 50 to 55 age group.I had seen the photographs and had read the reviews on the internet before booking. As stated by others in their review, it is excellent. I may say it is an experience of different kind and a pleasant one.
I was to arrive at the resort by 1.30 p.m. for lunch and stay. I received a call on my mobile at 9.00 a.m. in the morning when I was having my breakfast in Bhuj. I confirmed that we are coming and are on the way. (Pl. note they do not cook extra food. If you do not confirm it in advance you will not get food.)
Staying in a mud hut, that too well equipped with separate toilet. The ambiance is great and arrangements are lovely. The food too was very good. Utmost cleanliness was maintained.
I felt sad that I have booked it for only one night as I had squeezed my entire trip in just four days due to non-availability of train reservations.
The remarkable things was they did not charge me for parking as well as accommodation and food of my driver.
The sad part is they do not allow alcohol as Gujarat is a dry state.
"I wish we should have booked for 2 days at least," This is what my wife and my friends wife (the most difficult ladies to please) uttered while leaving the resort. We are planning to go back soon.

Room Tip: Go for Bhuga (mud huts) instead of tents. Each Bhunga is independent and great, so choose any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjivmulye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

As my title goes its the people here which make this place so wonderful.. they are such wonderful people with such a large heart.. We stayed in a bhunga which was made in mud.. spick and span.. the bathrooms were made with all modern amenities. though they dint have hot water in the room, they would get a bucket of hot water even before we asked in the morning and evening.. every work they did was with a smiling face and with love and care!!
when we arrived we had a 6'4'' tall guy with rusty looks and a pathani dress and big stick in his hand at the reception, we were a little worried, however he turned out to be a wonderful guy who took us to the room. took care of my son when he was playing around.
nights we had folk music and everyone at the resort joined!!
food was basic but served with lots of love and ghee.. special care was made to make soft and non spicy food esp for my son.
had alot of fun!! wanted to stay more however had to leave the next morning.. took loads of pictures with these people for which they sportingly posed :)
will definitely visit here again, but this time for a week!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhramanti_chennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

An effort for Eco-tourism and to preserve and showcase the traditional way of living Shaam-e-Sarhad is a different experience altogether. Good staff and amazing food made our stay even more wonderful. It's very close to Dhordo village which hosts the Rann Utsav, so it is very convenient to move around. Even Kaalo Dungar (Black Hill) and Bhuj are about an hour away.

It has three mud huts and nine tents. The bathroom tents have been impressively made. You can capture amazing shots of the rising sun near the entrance and the night sky shimmers and looks like a blanket studded with shining diamonds. If you are planning for a vacation in north Kutch just book your accommodation at Shaam-e-Sarhad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kartik1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hodka Village
31.2 mi away
City The Village Resort
60.8 mi away
Serena Beach Resort
Serena Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Mandvi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
30.5 mi away
Regenta Resort Bhuj
Regenta Resort Bhuj
#8 of 18 in Bhuj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.0 mi away
Hotel SevenSky
Hotel SevenSky
#15 of 18 in Bhuj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
29.6 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#1 of 18 in Bhuj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
20.6 mi away
Toran Resort
Toran Resort
#1 of 3 in Kutch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort

Property: Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort
Address: Hodka Village 370510, India (Formerly Shaam-e-Sarhad Rural Resort)
Location: India > Gujarat > Hodka Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hodka Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors: Shaam-E-Sarhad is an eco-resort built in a Kutchi village-style setting using locally sourced materials and crafts of the region. It is owned and managed by the Hodka village community and is open only from October to March. The resort promotes Endogenous Tourism where one travels not just for pleasure, but also to appreciate local community and their life in rural Gujarat. "The Endogenous Tourism Project in Hodka village seeks to promote local culture and craft based tourism for sustainable livelihoods and integrated rural development. Its aim is to improve the local people's quality of life, by creating more livelihood options, while preserving and allowing the community to develop their unique culture and share it with visitor."~ The use of local architectural style, the intricate art & crafts is very evident as soon as one enters Shaam-E-Sarhad (translated 'Sunset at the border'). Hodka village is not very far from the Rann of Kutch region which shares the border with Pakistan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shaam-e-Sarhad Rural Hotel Hodka Village
Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort Hodka Village, India - Gujarat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing