We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under a clear desert sky” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hodka Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hodka Village
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Under a clear desert sky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Probably one of the most unique "hotels" I have ever stayed in!
Shaam-e-Sarhad is a tent village located in the Kutch Desert in Gujarat. There are two types of accommodation, tents and bungas. The tents are comfortable but spartan, with attached bathroom. If you make arrangements, the staff will bring you tea in bed each morning. The bungas are a little more upscale. We stayed in a tent.
In February, with clear skies, it was cold at night. However, this allowed for some spectacular stargazing. It had been a long time since I had seen the Milky Way in all it's glory. With the assistance of Starwalk on the iPad we were able to identify tons of stars and planets. Every evening we were entertained outdoors by local musicians, next to a roaring fire.
The food is good, however, as this area is vegetarian there are not a lot of choices available. We stopped on our way out of Bhuj, the nearest big city, for eggs to bring with us for breakfast. The staff was happy to boil them for us. Also, this is a dry state, so no alcohol is available. You are on your own. Hint.
Every morning we rose early and as it was the right time of year we were treated to huge flocks of geese winging their way across the rising sun. From time to time we could hear the Indian Army artillery practice. This camp is very near the Pakistani border.
Security is provided by Uncle Bhandi who patrols the compound at night with a rifle on his shoulder and a gentle tune on his lips. A sweet man! I left him my fingerless wool gloves and my travel binoculars. To help him keep us safe!
My only regret is that we did not travel to White Desert, which is nearby.

Room Tip: The bungas are little more comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jayPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    60
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very charming lodge in the middled of the desert . Only 3 cottages available , the rest are tents : mind you at night the temperature drops also inside the tent and the bathroom is private , but you need to go outside to reach it ! Also the rastaurant is open air and it is quite unconfortable to eat all dressed up with coat, hat and scarf !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gneccocristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Run by the village panchayat, this eco-resort with tents is a great place to stay in the great Rann, Very authentic, good attention to detail, clean and very well maintained. The bathroom tents are well appointed and have running hot water. It is well located to explore the Great Rann at Dhordo (15 minutes drive), Kala Dungar (45 minutes drive) and about an hour from Bhuj. The food is relatively simple but well presented and tasteful. There is a cultural program in the evening which is fine but nothing great. We had gone during the Rann festival and were happy to have stayed here instead of the tent city at Dhordo. Had booked for one night and extended by another.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asheeshg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you Asheeshji for your review. Your stay is always encouraging us to promote Community Driven Resort to Rural location of Kutch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Lovely place to stay to get a true feel of Kutch. The tent and the bhungas are briliant ! Seated on a charpai, listening to the folk songs and staring at the numerous stars shining above, one can sit for hours together enjoying the night ! The food is simple and tasty.

Would recommend this place to anyone going to northern part of Kutch. Will definitely go back to this place as we had not had enough of Kutch. There is still lot more to explore in this part of the country !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manjula_Blore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you Manjulaji, for your views about the Community Driven Resort.

You may please plan your next trip to Kutch, and we will assist you for other destinations in Kutch also. -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

A great place to experience rural Kutch. The hotel is located in midst of the desert region. The people are very warm and friendly.

The hotel is maintained with the help of local community. Food quality was good and you get to taste local food. We also had a chance to see the cultural program in the evening after dinner.

The tents are comfortable and well maintained. you get to experience staying in the open in natural settings. The nights are cold during winter especially when staying in tents.

All in all this place should be on your itinerary when visiting Kutch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mehtaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much to staying with us, and your kind words about the community driven resort. Again thank you for recommending us to Kutch Itinerary. Wishes from Paarth & my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Superb location - with key attraction within a viscinity of 50 kms....kalo dungar, Nirona, Fossil park, Chari dhanni. Right in the middle of nowhere..the resort is like an oasis in a desert...Excellent setting and very good authentic food....service too very good.

Definitely recommended

Room Tip: Go for the mud huts(Bhunga) Only. Tents are not too great. Insects, ants, bugs etc a plenty
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vedpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales Consultant at Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for very transparent review for the "Village Resort".
Shaam-E-Sarhad is an eco-resort built in a Kutchi village-style setting using locally sourced materials and crafts of the region. And your visit and stays always appreciating to promote community driven resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Probably the only place in Kutch, which is true to its spirit of offering flavros and hospitality. One can feel the warmth in the people who manage them and the way they take care of you. Located a little far from the urban area of Bhuj (which is actually its USP), Shaam-E-Sarhad is appropriately named and located, in the middle of wilderness and next to the Hodka village. It was fun reaching there as I had ventured from Ahmedabad and only gotten in its vicinity at midnight, where moon-light was the only light that could be seen in any distance. But after retiring into the tents, which I must say, are very clean and well-kept, I had the most comfortable sleep ever. The nights are very cold in Kutch and temperature was way below but the tents were nice and cozy. The place serves great food, almost home-made, and is maintained by the locals. One is astonished to speak with them in English and Hindi and they are very fluent and hospitable. The place is nicely lit up in the night when one of the local music groups come and play and one can have great fun listening to them. I had an enormously great time here and I would love to come back. The only downside is making a reservation: phone does not work and one has to rely on emails which are not answered quickly. Other than that, it's a must-visit place.

Room Tip: try the tent more than the bhunga, for a cozy experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank aanujj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Your visits always motivating to Community Driven Resort - Shaam E Sarhad. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hodka Village
31.2 mi away
City The Village Resort
60.8 mi away
Serena Beach Resort
Serena Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Mandvi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
30.5 mi away
Regenta Resort Bhuj
Regenta Resort Bhuj
#8 of 18 in Bhuj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.0 mi away
Hotel SevenSky
Hotel SevenSky
#15 of 18 in Bhuj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
29.6 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#1 of 18 in Bhuj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
20.6 mi away
Toran Resort
Toran Resort
#1 of 3 in Kutch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort

Property: Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort
Address: Hodka Village 370510, India (Formerly Shaam-e-Sarhad Rural Resort)
Location: India > Gujarat > Hodka Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hodka Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors: Shaam-E-Sarhad is an eco-resort built in a Kutchi village-style setting using locally sourced materials and crafts of the region. It is owned and managed by the Hodka village community and is open only from October to March. The resort promotes Endogenous Tourism where one travels not just for pleasure, but also to appreciate local community and their life in rural Gujarat. "The Endogenous Tourism Project in Hodka village seeks to promote local culture and craft based tourism for sustainable livelihoods and integrated rural development. Its aim is to improve the local people's quality of life, by creating more livelihood options, while preserving and allowing the community to develop their unique culture and share it with visitor."~ The use of local architectural style, the intricate art & crafts is very evident as soon as one enters Shaam-E-Sarhad (translated 'Sunset at the border'). Hodka village is not very far from the Rann of Kutch region which shares the border with Pakistan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shaam-e-Sarhad Rural Hotel Hodka Village
Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort Hodka Village, India - Gujarat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing