We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveler rating
364
254
84
29
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
364
254
84
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brewers fayre meal deal the pub good nights sleep lake district no lift restaurant next door cumbrian coast plenty of parking family room all you can eat minute drive reception staff comfortable stay western lakes car park stayed here for one night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 747 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2019

usual premier inn standard - good but building tatty on outside. tv off centre from bed so neck ache when watching. bed smaller than other premier inns we have stayed at. Not in town centre. Brewers Fare meal was luke warm and sparse, but the breakfast was great

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Thank BackPacker708087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Excellent value, particularly if you're flexible on dates. Good location for Western Lakes inc. Ennerdale & coast very close by. Easy to get to. Nice room, recently refurbished. Had a great and thoughtful service from all staff I met. Thanks to the team here.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank JDWhitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

Ok so it was booked a long way in advance at less than £50 and you get what you pay for but you could easily pay twice as much as this or more in which case you would expect it to be a little more slick and polished. It's not Cockermouths new Premier and it's older buildings but ...

3 buildings if you include the Brewers Fayre and they could do with a good lick of paint to the outside....first impressions and all that.

Check in - as ever smooth and easy although had to ask about booking a table on the Brewers Fayre and what 'meal deals' they had on. Surely they should be prompting the customer !

Room could be in any building and there is an outside walk to the Brewers Fayre...is it a problem...not really but yes it could be raining. Some slopes around so wheelchairs could be an issue.

Room - as youd expect..clean etc. But there is no way to cool the room ( the control is heat only) and yes I know in these days of people accidentally falling out of windows every day you have to restrict window opening but surely you could allow it to open more than an inch. It was 20 degrees in the room...in the heat of summer could be unbearable. No lift so if you can't get up stairs tell them before you book.

Brewer Fayre....it was quiet ...ok pretty much empty...so didn't need to book a table really and it was a 'just find somewhere to sit' rather than taken to a table.mmm customer service ! Order at the bar. Be careful with the meal deal because yes you can upgrade your 'free house wine' to a pinot for a quid but you can't upgrade to a 'sav' blanc'...thats full price...so no free drink. Surely it's not beyond being able to upgrade to other than a pinot...sav blanc is hardly anything special! Food - as you'd expect...it's ok but it's a chain so expect chain.

Bar staff - need training...ok I could just possibly get that you don't stock a Shiraz but please please please don't say at the table when taking an order...I think we do only to return to say no we don't...to be asked ok what have you got...errrrrrrrr blank face.....a merlot perhaps....oh yes I think so.....you should know what you have and if you do have to return to say sorry no we haven't at least come armed with what you do have :) . Oh and stock your bar chillers up...it look awful to see shelves empty...fill them with something...bottles of water even ! Oh and keep someone on the bar to serve...no one likes waiting when it's empty . Oh and when you arrive

Breakfast is meant to be a buffet but because they on ly had 42 booked in the hot buffet was taken as an order....where you are asked for how many of each item...how many sausages , how many tomato halves etc etc. Bit odd but I get why....keeping a full hot buffet on for 4 hours for 42 guests is a waste of food and money and you wouldn't want eggs hours old would you. Yes it could be a problem if you booked expecting hot buffet and were in a hurry.. BUT THAT SAID...it was cooked to order....it was all very hot (and no not reheated!)...and the plate was very full. Far far better quality than if you'd served your self. So not complaint at all - great breakfast.....help your self still to drinks, pastry, cereals, toast etc

so overall...great breakfast cos it was cooked to order, outside is tired, staff need training, food is alright. It just need a few quid spending and training in house is cheap. Would I be as generous if I'd paid over £100 for just the room....no ! Would I stay again...yes at £60-£70.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMG19672018AMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Booked a room last minute , only £68! Very clean well equipped room with everything I required. Brewers Fayre restaurant attached which was great for a late dinner. If I need to stay over that way again I’ll certainly choose here .

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank weldonwares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

For great value and convenient access to Whitehaven, the Cumbria coast and also the Lake District this is a lovely hotel to stay. Distant sea views from the front patio and countryside surrounding. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Restaurant on site - fast food but convenient with children. No complaints at all.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Thank patriciabrown2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews