We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howgate
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAY”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night as we were attending a family christening. There was a family of 10, 6 adults and 4 kids. We arrived an hour before check in and were told the rooms were ready, which was a godsend as it was freezing weather. My husband and I had a double room and the other 2 rooms were family rooms. We were all over the moon with our rooms, the receptionists were lovely and helpful. The Brewers Fayre was good for the food. A very pleasant and peacefull one night stay.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet double room ask for a room on the top floor in the reception block facing the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphinsunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitehavenPI, Manager at Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay. It was really lovely to read that you enjoyed it. I hope you revist us again. Regards, Amy Mcguire, Whitehaven PITL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    201
    60
    22
    11
See reviews for
176
214
20
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed her in November 2013 whilst visiting family in Whitehaven. It's a perfect base for us with clean family rooms, great buffet breakfast next door in the pub and lovely bar meals. Staff were great both in the hotel and in the pub. Good prices, good value.

Room Tip: Lovely breakfast, but try to avoid the 'rush' of workers early morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis-Hurst_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitehavenPI, Manager at Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Whitehaven. So glad to read that you enjoyed it and hope to see you again. Regards, Amy McGuire, Whitehaven PITL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed one night on Boxing day. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room, as always, was clean & comfortable. Despite the storm raging outside we had a good night's sleep.

We were in the annex & had to walk outside to the restaurant & reception which wasn't fun in the weather.

Room Tip: Premier is premier wherever you are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frostie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitehavenPI, Manager at Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was happy to read that you had a good nights sleep as this is our guarantee to guests. We hope to welcome you back again in the furure. Regards Amy McGuire Whitehaven PITL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel is actually about 4 miles from Whitehaven, in the village of Howbeck. The hotel is split into two parts, with two one storey buildings and is attached to a Brewers Fayre pub/restaurant, where all meals for hotel guests are provided.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReggieP590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torksey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just stayed 3 nights in two rooms , four adults on the meal deal in the Brewers Fayre Howgate. Good quality, clean rooms.
Restaurant on meal deal limited menu but quality of food excellent.
Staff really superb, all of them wanted to make sure every thing was good.
James M in the evening was brilliant. The morning staff were also insistent that we were happy and well fed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Hotel is very clean and the reception staff were very helpful, we were on a walking holiday , hense we had lots of gear and the parking was excellent we stayed at Kendal Premier Inn and that was just the same. well done, the pub was also a nice environment to eat in, Premier inn really do cater for the traveler well, would highly recommend this hotel for any traveler visiting the Lake district

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Sometimes you can catch a Premier Inn at the much-reduced price of £29.
We did and prepared ourselves for an OK experience at a great price.
Wrong! This place was first class:
- A warm, friendly greeting from the check-in staff and subsequently, from everyone we met
- Excellent bed - big, firm and comfortable
- Well-appointed room, with new flat-screen Samsung, with normal Freeview, instead of the weird mix often offered in hotels
- Power a-plenty. We counted 9 mains sockets.
- Very nice bathroom with excellent shower
Obviously, everything was beautifully clean, as you nearly always get at Premier.
With the accommodation being so cheap, we plumped for the full breakfast. It's not particularly cheap at £8.25 per head, but it's great value for money, with hot, perfectly cooked and well-varied serve-yourself English breakfast food. Excellent.
The site is a little steep, so take care if you're not totally fit.
It's so good, we're going back next week.

Room Tip: I believe the annex, where we stayed, may be newer, but we never saw the main building's rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howgate
6.2 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St. Bees
424 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St. Bees
156 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
73 reviews
6.0 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
Address: Howgate CA28 6PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Howgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive Georgian coastal town is just a few minutes from Workington, Parton and the Lakes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel Howgate
Whitehaven Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing