We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, fresh and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff. Breakfast was good, although costa coffee machine was broken during our stay. Would agree with other reviews the food served at night at the brewers fayre was fairly basic/standard but did a job! Only downside was very noisy stamping around from the room above, don't know if this is due to quality of the building or just heavy footed guests above! Still a good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola_l_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 621 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights here when touring the North West; as usual it's predictable Premier Inn - fast checkin, good parking, comfortable rooms.

At the front of the hotel is a pub - and that's it for about 3 miles in any direction, so you are in a quiet setting but will have to chance Whitehaven or one of the other towns by car to get anything.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cran4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Excellent disabled accommodation, excellent food & service. However access for the disabled is very difficult by virtue of steep steps, steep slopes, and the distance between the hotel and Brewers Fare. Beware!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.
We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.
Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I’ve stayed in this Premier Inn 3 or 4 times now, so it is a fair time to write about it. The reception area proudly displays (October 2012) a TripAdvisor award of some sort, and it is well deserved.

Each time I’ve stayed in different rooms, and each time I have found the room fault-free. As hotel rooms go, they are nothing much to shout about – they are typical Premier Inn products in fact – but everything looks new, everything is spotless and well-maintained, and everything works. The room itself is spacious enough – maybe a tad larger than some other Premier Inns? – and it has a large flat screen digital TV on the wall with lots of DTV channels. Likewise the bathroom is a sensible size. Both are bright, with lots of lights, something I especially value. My only gripe (and I do mean only): there is no shaver socket. So if you need to use a mains shaver, bring a UK 3-pin adapter.

The restaurant on the same site is not so good however. It has just (October 2012) been made over and re-branded into a Brewers Fayre. The décor of the building badly needed attention, and it now all looks a lot better. But the service is slow and unpredictable. Yesterday’s dinner took 105 minutes for two courses, for example; one of the dinners was served incomplete and one was probably not what we ordered, and this is not unusual. The restaurant staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, they couldn’t be nicer – but it looks like there are not enough of them. Mind you, the meals are cheap, which is a good thing as the place is a bit isolated – about 2 miles from Whitehaven, and I don’t think there are many options within walking distance.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room in the new block overloooking the field of sheep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macroKenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

really good nights sleep, very clean, comfortable and spacious. good location and easy to find, will be booking more dates, good offers if you book early. Restaurant is very handy and has a reasonable day time offer.

Room Tip: end of corridor rooms are best,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaRion2012437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Excellent! Very helpful and friendly staff. Clean and comfortable room. A great nights sleep. Excellent restaurant. Couldn't ask for more. Looking forward to returning to see how the refurbishment for the restaurant has come on.

Room Tip: Room 15 Spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Sorry to say that, but we're accommodated last Saturday in this hotel, in room 44, which was just awful. This room is surrounded by 3 doors, which were clattering until noon and from 5 in the morning again, due to in- and outgoing people. This room is an impertinence, avoid any reservation!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Rooms
Thank iramike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing.

It is a shame that your stay was disrupted by actions of other guests; please be assured that the hotel staff will do all they can to prevent disturbances like this in the future.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howgate
4.9 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
5 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
284 reviews
6.2 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St. Bees
454 reviews
6 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel

Address: Howgate CA28 6PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Howgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howgate
Price Range: $66 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive Georgian coastal town is just a few minutes from Workington, Parton and the Lakes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel Howgate
Whitehaven Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing