We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
McCracken Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite disappointed!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Was expecting a lot more from this hotel. As it's rated 41/2 star it really needs improvement. We had a 2 bedroom apartment. The layout was very good but the cleaning was a bit to be desired. Cobwebs in the lounge room ceiling, walls in the hall badly marked and looked very dirty, mould in the shower and the shower head needs descaling badly. I found the beds very firm. Just small things like finger marks all over the fridge. The hairdryer in the bathroom didn't work. I went to iron some clothes but the iron board had no cover only to discover it had fallen down on the floor all screwed up and stained. On the website in the room description it said it had bath robes, fresh milk supplied and a clothes dryer. None of that was there. The breakfast was good and staff were ok. Had dinner in the restaurant and the staff were excellent. My daughter and I ordered the fillet steak which was very tough. Overall the staff in the hotel were very good. Not usually a complainer but when your paying good money and expecting a 4 1/2 star resort you expect a lot more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. We certainly have some issues to address and having a detailed description of some of the faults associated with your stay it will certainly make it easier to conduct an internal review and address these issues.We do our best to deliver a product and service that is consistent and your assessment will give us the opportunity to achieve this goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    341
    122
    32
    16
See reviews for
177
560
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This accommodation is a bit out of the hustle and bustle of Victor Harbour so it's great if you're looking to stay somewhere quiet and easily accessible. We stayed in a balcony spa room with a view over the golf course. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The spa bath was big enough for two.

The only real issue we had was the state of the bathroom - it failed the hair test! There were long dark hairs in the shower recess and on the floor (both my partner and myself have short blonde hair). I let reception know and I was pleased to see that someone came to clean the room pretty much straight away and the room was thoroughly cleaned. We were also given complimentary buffet breakfast for the next morning in recognition of the inconvenience. This was very much appreciated and is what service is all about. Service was also provided with a smile.

Breakfast was in a lovely room overlooking the golf course. There was a good selection of hot and cold dishes and the pastries were the best I've ever tasted - light and sweet and melt in the mouth.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer, I'm sorry we failed the bathroom test but it looks like we did pretty well every else.Your comments are very much appreciated and i'm very proud of the way the staff handled the only blight on your stay. All the best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
520 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I were only here for two nights but would have been happy to stay longer. Our room was large, bright and airy with a nice bathroom ( with spa ) and big white fluffy towels and bath robes. Our queen sized bed was very comfortable and made for good sleeping. On the downside, the iron was a crappy non steam iron and was matched with an equally poor ironing board.
Some basic maintenance wouldn't do any harm either. The plastic basin in the bathroom is starting to show its age while some of the skirting board next to the bed is pulling away from the wall and is badly stained. Breakfast trays in corridors early in the afternoon do not look good.
Food in both the bistro and for room service was from the same menu and was tasty, reasonably priced and ultra generous. While my wife and I both ordered the salt and pepper squid, one would have been adequate for both of us. The very drinkable " house " shiraz was served in larger than normal quantities at less than normal prices.
Universally, staff were friendly, helpful and professional. They would be the resorts most valuable asset.
Would I stay there again? Most definitely.

Room Tip: If you are a golfer, request a room overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlepper1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback and i can assure you that all of your comments have been recieved constructively. We are in the process of conducting a soft refurbishment of several of the rooms and public areas to keep the standard of the product up. We are so glad you enjoyed the food & beverage outlets and look forward to you visiting us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray Bridge, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We took advantage of a the three night stay with our friends mid-week, using an apartment. We had a lovely view over the pond and golf course and enjoyed our breakfasts and one evening meal. Took the advantage of using the sauna and pool area one evening and really enjoyed it. Our friends enjoyed the stay as we did and it was central to all the attractions we were able to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 310Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for such a positive review. The apartments and facilities are certainly ideal for a family break and we hope to welcome you back someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a 5 night stay at McCracken. The rooms were clean and we enjoyed a good view over the golf course. We did not use the other facilities, so I can not comment. We did eat all our evening meals in the dining room or the bistro. The menus were the same and the prices were the same in both. The breakfasts were standard motel fare. We were very disappointed with our evening meals. Only one was good, the others were not up to the standard that a chef prepared meal. Quantity does not make up for quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussieandy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer , Thank you for your feedback. I was sorry to read that your meals were not to your satisfaction, we certainly try our best and listen to our customers. We have recently instructed our Chef to create a seasonal based menu reflective of the local food that is a available within the regional area and i think you will find our pricing is very competitive to any establishment.We would love the opportunity for you to come back and dine with us and wish you both all the best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a lovely weekend at McCracken in July 2013. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We also loved the spa in the bathroom. We ate breakfast and dinner at the restaurant a couple of times and found the staff were quite friendly. The food was good too. There was a big group booking at the restaurant that was so loud but as soon as we shut our door it seemed to block all the noise out. Overall nice place to stay and we will come again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Myself and the team are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.All the best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Friday night in Victor for business on Saturday. Country Club is comfortable and convenient. Quiet location. Lovely view from room (646) over pond, of the golf course and the surrounding areas. Restaurant, Bistro and Liquor store are on the grounds. Pokies too. Nice little spot.

Room Tip: We liked room 646, view over pond and quiet spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artroomali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Were so glad you discovered us and your right, with those apartments having magnificient views and with the on site Cellabrations Bottle Shop providing a vast selection of local SA wines, what more do you need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCracken
1.5 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
323 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
175 reviews
18.6 mi away
Links Lady Bay Resort
Links Lady Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Normanville
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
124 reviews
1.5 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
262 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Bluff Resort Apartments
The Bluff Resort Apartments
#1 of 2 in Encounter Bay
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCracken Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCracken Country Club

Property: McCracken Country Club
Address: McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor > McCracken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McCracken Country Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCracken Country Club is a 4 star resort overlooking the championship golf course at Victor Harbor, on South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your McCracken Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Harbor Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing