We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,217)
Filter reviews
1,218 results
Traveler rating
580
409
151
53
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
409
151
53
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictor harbourbedroom apartmentbuffet breakfastspa bathbottle shopindoor poolmid weekexcellent facilitiesenjoyable staygreat place to staylovely viewshort drivestaff membergreat roomgreat weekendfleurieu peninsulashort stay
Filter
Updating list...
957 - 962 of 1,218 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed with our 9 year old daughter for the weekend, upgraded our room to a balcony spa room with no extra charge, nothing was too much trouble despite it being almost fully booked with a wedding there as well. Staff were very friendly, meals and drinks were good at good prices.

Room Tip: some rooms have kitchenette facilities, eg microwave crockery, others dont, so you need to be specific if you want kitchenette facilities.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Reviewer , Were so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly can be very busy at times as the resort is such a popular wedding venue and is a place where people can relaxe and enjoy the many resort facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great place to stay!

However, even though Wifi is free, you have this weird situation where you need to go to reception daily to get a free "password card" for each internet user. These cards supposedly last 24 hours. We were a family of 4, so needed 4 cards (Ipad, iphone x 2, laptop) for each of 3 days we were there (ie 3 x 4 = 12 cards). Sometimes these cards ran out quicky, and bad luck if it is after 11pm when reception closes.

Most places just give you a common password! And the poor receptionist ... distracted all the time by people requesting password cards.

McCracken ... I would get an independent technical team to review your internet solution.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mo-Po-onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Reviewer, I totally agree the WiFi has been an issue for us and we are only to happy to give you as many cards as you need for the duration of your stay, because when we say we provide free WiFi, we mean it. We quite recently upgraded our service provider and installed additional equipment which has improved our coverage through out the resort. Hope to have you stay with us again some day so you can measure the improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a great two day escape at McCracken with our 3 kids in a 2 bed apartment. They kindly provided a roll away bed for our littlest one. The rooms were large, beds comfy and the staff friendly, especially Kylie on the front desk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your wonderful feedback.The two bedroom apartments are certainly ideal for a family get away and your right, Kylie on the front desk is very much a star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Towels changed every day when their for 3 nights. Would like to be offered special rate if stay on regular basis. Perhaps little more variation to menus in bistro and restaurant. Very friendly staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diseyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Reviewer, The team and I are really pleased you had a relaxing stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A weekend away at Victor Harbor is great for many reasons.
The views, comfort and quality of the accommodation at McCracken Country Club are excellent.
Always clean and kept up to date, my wife and I have stayed here several times and would come back again.

Out of ALL the many pools we've swum in around the world, the warmth of the water in McCracken is sublime and almost without comparision. The indoor pool area is a lovely place to spend an hour or two regardless of the weather outside, the golf course also is a great way to spend a morning or an afternoon.
Always worth upgrading to the rooms with golf course views.

Whilst Breakfast was lovely (and plentiful) in the Bistro, we had a dinner there on our first night and it was a little below 'par', I expected more for $17 that a slightly above standard bakery pie with a side of chips and a very very tired salad.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view, its worth the difference in price.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaygee79Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments relating to your most recent and previous stays. We are blessed with our location from Adelaide only being an hour away and its great that you feel relaxed and comfortable with the resort facilities. We are working on updating our menus every three months and your feedback good and bad is always appreciated.We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews