We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hold that seat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
McCracken Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2012

the accomodation on arrival for what was termed the exutive spa suite seemed to be as expected but soon went downhill starting with the toilet seat lid that refused to stay up on it own accord.the toilet also continually ran and has done so for some time judging by the rust stain on the porclain.the toilet roll holder looked like it was going to fall off at any time.there was also mould all around the edge of the shower.
after arriving at the dining area we sat down to decide on drinks and food.after some thought went the bar to order. the wine i selected was not available by the glass so ordered anothe brand only to then be told that they had run out of it.
my wife and i both ordered the same meal off the board but then advised that that was unavailable and should have been taken off the menu.
so all in all a forgeetable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWCourt, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your comments have been noted and passed on to the relative departments. I am truly sorry for any disappointment you experienced and I hope to welcome you back again sometime.

Dan Court
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

921 - 927 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

the best staff , great views from everywhere in and around the hotel, very good food, although the menu is the same in baudins restaurant as in the bistro, which we found odd, but the wine lists are different, and the baudins one is excellent,the rooms are a very good size and well fitted, although in our shower and in the room next door , the silicone part of the grouting needs replacing as it is mouldy, not happy with that! it has a very good gym and the pool is lovely and warm. overall, it is understated and a must for everyone even if you do not play golf

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWCourt, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave such nice comments regarding your recent stay with us. A maintenance program is in currently underway in order to rectify any issues with our bathrooms. Your comments have been greatly appreciated and passed on to all our staff.

Dan Court
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed at the McCracken Country Club during a trip to Victor Harbour and had an enjoyable stay. There are options for golfers and a small but quite adequate swimming pool. The hotel has good views of the town and ocean and is well placed just outside Victor harbour.
The standard of restaurant food was good and there was an extensive wine list.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredhardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWCourt, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Thank you for visiting us at McCracken Country Club and for taking the effort to leave such nice feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and am especially pleased by the special mention of the wine list. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Dan Court
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a very relaxing weekend away, the room was supberb with an outstanding view. The staff were helpful and lovely. The room was perfectly sized and the spa bath was delicious. The pool was unreal and although we didn't use the gym it's great to see it is available. I will definately recommend the McCracken Country Club to all. I hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guest572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWCourt, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful comments. All of our staff appreciate such lovely feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Dan Court
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We had a wonderful relaxing weekend away at the McCraken Country Club the room was fantastic the view over looking the 18th Green was wonderful the staff were polite and very helpful. We will be highly recommend our friends to come and stay at your resort.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view over looking the 18th green
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWCourt, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. It gives us great pleasure that you enjoyed your time with us and we all hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Dan Court
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

What a great surprise - the food here was absolutely delicious. We decided to go and have dinner here on the recommendation of a friend who lives in Meadows and works in Victor Harbour, on our way home to Willunga. The food was hearty regional produce at a reasonable price. The serving portions were generous and well presented. Unlike most other cafes and restaurants you actually get vegetables with a main course - yes! We were pleasantly surprised to also receive complimentary - yet another unique feature of this restaurant, bread with our meal. Nice touch. We had the duck and chicken - both outstanding in flavour and quality. I am a petite person but I managed to devour the entire meal - it was so delicious! My friend and I had the chicken with sweet potato mash, asparagus, prosciutto, basil pesto and rocket, while my partner had the duck with potato rosti, white bean and chorizo ‘cassoulet’, sugar snap peas & red wine jus - simply delicious, compliments to the chef. The wine list suited all budgets, small yet extensive, and generally good value with reasonable but not outrageous mark-ups. We will definately be eating here again, it's well worth the 40km drive. Professional and friendly service by Tyson our waiter, great views and easy car park. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug007A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWCourt, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed what we have to offer, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Dan Court
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend away and a delicious 3 course meal in Baudin's restaurant. Food was awesome as was the friendly waitress. However the room service breakfast was cold and unappetising. The receptionist on check-in was lovely and very helpful. Our main complaint was the noise of people coming and going at all hours of the night and morning as our room was part of an 8 room complex and the doors make a terrible noise (not to mention people calling out loudly in the echoing hallway). The outlook from our balcony was lovely and the room was also very comfortable and we were very happy overall with our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamelaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWCourt, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on you recent stay with us. I am sincerely happy that you enjoyed your stay and your meal in our restaurant. I am dissapointed to read about your breakfast. I do hope you brought this to our attention at the time so that we were able to offer a refund. Again thank you for your comments and I hope to see you back soon.

Dan Court
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCracken
1.5 mi away
The Anchorage Hotel
The Anchorage Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
330 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
189 reviews
18.6 mi away
Links Lady Bay Resort
Links Lady Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Normanville
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
130 reviews
1.5 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
287 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apollon Motor Inn
Apollon Motor Inn
#6 of 6 in Victor Harbor
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCracken Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCracken Country Club

Address: McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor > McCracken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Price Range: $99 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McCracken Country Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCracken Country Club is a 4 star resort overlooking the championship golf course at Victor Harbor, on South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your McCracken Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Harbor Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing