We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Girls Weekend Away”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tented camp -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Luskintyre, Maitland, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ntawali
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect Girls Weekend Away”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Last month, I stayed at Donnybrook Eco Retreat with three girlfriends, in the Hillview/Valleyview tents, and it was absolutely perfect. Not only was it less than 30 minutes from Pokolbin, the drive was beautiful, the property was gorgeous, and the accommodation was so welcoming that we didn’t actually leave for the whole weekend. We’ve been glamping several times and this was easily one of our favourites to date, the attention to detail and homely touches made all the difference.

Sweeping views of the surrounding countryside; a wicker swing chair; large and comfortable beds (with chocolates on each pillow!); a gas barbecue; a fire pit (with wood and kindling provided); ensuite bathrooms for each tent; a deck area with outdoor furniture; and (my favourite) a yurt between the two tents which served as a kitchen or communal dining area. The two bar fridges came fully stocked with fresh farm eggs, bacon, jam, butter, milk, juice, pancake batter, and delicious homemade chocolate slice!

One of my favourite parts was waking up to the sounds of birds echoing through the valley – such a great incentive to get up and enjoy the sunrise. And the beautiful colours at dusk made for some excellent reasons to go exploring. Definitely made this Girls Weekend well worth the wait. Thank you so much to Phil who was great with communication in the lead-up and made sure to welcome us on arrival. We'll definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittany...
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing experience - Perfect for a couples getaway!”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were a group of 4 (2 x couples). Hillview & Valleyview was perfect! The tents are well equipped and the beds are VERY comfy. We went on a cold weekend and the blankets were extremely warm. The fire place was a great place to sit by at night while cooking a BBQ. Everything you need is supplied and the view and surrounds are lovely. We went on a walk around the property and visited their animals. The eco retreat exceeded our expectations. We will be back! Highly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFar14
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed February 10, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Amazing location with views to match. The entire set-up at Donnybrook Eco Retreat is unique, comfortable and very well maintained. We were welcomed by our very gracious and helpful host and a fridge full of farm-fresh produce. Couldn't have asked for better. Our favourite place to stay in the Hunter Valley. Only stayed for one night but could easily spend a week at Donnybrook reading in the hammock chair and wandering the surrounding countryside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2017
Thanks for an excellent review Brian. Please return and stay longer. Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kass L
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing stay we had. Couldn't recommend this place more highly. Only regret was we didn't stay longer.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
Thanks Kass. Always a pleasure to host passionate guests like you and Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing