We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of heaven in Patagonia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rio Manso Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nahuel Huapi National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rio Manso Lodge
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit of heaven in Patagonia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Roberto has created a bit of heaven in this part of Patagonia. A wonderful lodge, welcoming and responsive staff, delicious food, Argentinian wines, gorgeous scenery from every window, and access to some of the best fly fishing in the world on the Rio Manso with terrific guides and more trout than you can imagine on this under-fished, crystal clear, blue-green wonder. Lots of things for non-anglers to love, too. Hiking to waterfalls, fantastic scenic outlooks, horseback riding, reading, yoga, and more. And take a look at the southern sky at night after the BBQ! What's not to like. Most highly recommended.

Room Tip: Every room faces the Channels and Mt. Tronador and its glacier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyE185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMansoLodge, Public Relations Manager at Rio Manso Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
It's a pleasure to share our "bit of heaven" with people like you, Andy. Please come see us next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Roberto and his staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful in making our stay a wonderful experience. As a non-angler I enjoyed our week at Rio Manso as much as my husband enjoyed the fishing and overall experience. Not only is the lodge comfortable, but I was happy with the other non-fishing activities, which included bird watching, horse back riding, hiking, and simply curling up with a good book and enjoying the scenery. The kitchen staff worked extremely hard to come up with vegetarian dishes for myself and another party that traveled with us. They welcomed us, as all guests, to come into the kitchen and ask for whatever we desired. We were also fortunate to experience our week with a father/son group from the states that helped make our stay complete. Well worth the trip!

Room Tip: All guest rooms have a fabulous view of the mountains and glaciers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KANSpringIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMansoLodge, Public Relations Manager at Rio Manso Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We feel it is important to provide a complete Patagonian experience for our guests and visitors, so we try hard to deliver quality outings. From birding, hiking and horseback riding to our outstanding fly fishing, we are constantly working to improve your visit. We hope you will return to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Rio Manso for the fly fishing and natural beauty, but came away with much more. Roberto has carved out a slice of heaven in the Nacional Nahuel Huapi Park. His passion is evident in the extraordinarily capable staff that he has gathered together, his beautiful lodge, whose sole purpose is to insure that you have the best experience possible.

Your day starts out meeting your guide after breakfast where he whisks you away to one of countless possible fishing destinations...Trout filled, gin clear lakes, rivers, or streams. A stop along the river to partake of quiche prepared at the lodge, or grilled steak or chicken prepared on the shore. When you retire from fishing, Diana will unfailingly meet you at the lodge by asking how your day was, and what would you like to drink? Several trays of appetizers await you in one of many cozy gathering spots inside. Once all the anglers have arrived, you will sit down and partake of a delicious meal prepared by a world class chef, and pastry chef, and attended by Diana and Noe. The comfortable, and well appointed bedrooms over look the Lake and the mountains punctuated by the glacier on Mount Tronador. And although we didn't do anything but fish, there are plenty of activities for the non angler, and places to curl up with a book.

Roberto's history and understanding of the area, his vision and passion for the lodge, and flexibility laid the foundation for a marvelous experience and lifetime friendships. It has changed our minds on never visiting a place more than once.

Room Tip: All rooms over look the glacier and lake. There is a larger room that might accommodate a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irwinftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I've been all over the globe with my husband on fly fishing trips and Rio Manso is at the top of his list...and as a non-angler, mine too. Roberto is a great host and runs a really top-notch operation in one of the most beautiful spots in the world. The meals are delicious, the lodge is lovely and rooms are quite comfortable with stupendous views over Lake Hess to Mt. Tronador. Non-anglers can enjoy a number of activities -- I've hiked, ridden, birdwatched, enjoyed a massage (subject to availability), and just relaxed on the lawn in the sun and read. Another highlight was unwinding at the end of the day with drinks at the huge fireplace and after dinner, seeing if we could spot the Southern Cross in the night sky. We have enjoyed Rio Manso a number of times and surely will return.

Room Tip: Be sure to hike to the amazing waterfall just up the river, and spend a day with Lorenzo birding.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bimini Twist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Fabulous experience - glorious scenery, cozy mountain lodge, pleasant/helpful staff, excellent guides, fine cuisine - overall 5 star experience. Both the beginner and advanced enjoyed world class fly fishing. Our group included a chocolatier. The Lodge arranged for a special visit to a chocolate factory in Bariloche - way above and beyond what we expected. Additionally, the other guests were interesting, fun, friendly - from all parts of the globe; their company was an unexpected bonus. Also - thank you Rio Manso for making our Christmas a special holiday with a gift giving and celebratory feasts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27Gershwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Rio Manso Lodge in early November right at the beginning of the season. From the booking process to the transfer to and from the airport and everything in between, our visit was perfect. The lodge is situated in a gorgeous setting (overlooking Tronador and the mountains), our rooms were lovely and very comfortable (all rooms have a view of the mountains and river), the food was absolutely delicious (and very diverse - from gnocci to steak to chicken and fresh cooked eggs every morning) and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We are not anglers and instead spent our time at the lodge hiking, white water kayaking and relaxing (sitting by the fire with a glass of wine and delicious appetizers gazing out at the mountains was breathtaking). What a lovely lodge and visit - we will definitely be returning! Thank you to Roberto and the entire staff at the lodge!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMSNYC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family including my 21 year-old son and 13 year-old daughter had the recent pleasure of spending 4 days at Rio Manso Lodge in December, 2012. We arrived as novice anglers and were enthusiastic about everything the lodge had to offer. Roberto, Diana and all of the staff could not have been more accommodating to our family. In addition to fly-fishing, Roberto and staff organized several other excursions that we thoroughly enjoyed including a spectacular hike up El Granitico. Each evening was filled with an amazing array of appetizers and mouthwatering meals, the fascinating company of fellow lodge guests and the expert hospitality and warmth of Roberto and his staff. The lodge and rooms were well appointed, comfortable and immaculate. We awoke every morning to spectacular views of Mt. Tronador and the genuine greeting of guests and staff.
It is no surprise that every review for this lodge is nothing less than outstanding. In addition to the avid angler, I would highly recommend this lodge to families with older children who are interested in fly-fishing as well as the opportunity to experience the splendor of this area and real Argentinian hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMansoLodge, Public Relations Manager at Rio Manso Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Lisa, it was a pleasure to watch your family open up and enjoy the wonders of Patagonia. Especially enjoyable was watching your son take to the sport of fly fishing and catch his first trout - a large brown on fly. I think he is a convert!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nahuel Huapi National Park
7.0 mi away
Hotel Tronador
Hotel Tronador
#37 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
15.7 mi away
Estancia Peuma Hue
Estancia Peuma Hue
#14 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
23.7 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 mi away
Isla Victoria Lodge
Isla Victoria Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isla Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rio Manso Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Manso Lodge

Property: Rio Manso Lodge
Address: Lago Hess | 90 minutes from San Carlos de Bariloche, Nahuel Huapi National Park 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Neuquen > Nahuel Huapi National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Nahuel Huapi National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Manso Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Manso Lodge overlooks beautiful Lago Hess deep in Nahuel Huapi National Park. Surrounded by forests, mountains and crystal clear rivers, it's the perfect place to enjoy the wonders of Patagonia; hiking, birding, fly fishing or just relaxing in our beautifully appointed lodge removed from the noise of Bariloche. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing