We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”
Review of The Running Fox

The Running Fox
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Felton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small, friendly Coffee Shop and Artisan Bakery with a philosophy to serve simple yet good quality food, offering a range of sandwiches, platters and soups all served with fresh hand made breads. A full range of fresh pies and quiches made daily are also available to eat in or take away. Also serving lovely Afternoon Teas. Reservations recommended.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Best to book at this very popular restaurant to make sure of a table.
The food is wonderful and very reasonably priced generous portions.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kris b, Owner at The Running Fox, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are a busy little place and do recommend booking when possible, but we always try our best to seat those who haven't called ahead. Its great to hear you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Many thanks,
Kris Blackburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    141
    55
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great local bakery, cafe and deli”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Visited here on strength of the reviews and was not disappointed. Great food, my only gripe is that I wish it could seat more people! Deserves the success it has.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NathalieMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kris b, Owner at The Running Fox, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Its lovely to here that we are doing things right. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Many thanks,
Kris Blackburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great cafe and bakery”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

A very pleasant café and bakery in Felton. Varied menu and generous servings. I had salad and very good omelette and friends ordered quiche, pie and salads which were excellent. A lovely range of bread and pastries served in the shop...Will definitely return and try breakfast next time. Quite busy so would recommend booking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kris b, Owner at The Running Fox, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We hope you can make it back again soon to try one of our infamous breakfasts!

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards,
Kris Blackburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely lunch!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I visited on a saturday lunchtime after hearing good reviews and wasn't disappointed. We both ordered the choritzo melt which was served with a dressed salad that was delicious. However when someones goats cheese salad was brought out I got serious food envy...which is a brilliant excuse to go back! Really good selection of cakes too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahthompson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kris b, Owner at The Running Fox, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 'Melt,' its a firm favourite here at The Fox! Hopefully you'll be back soon to sample our other delicious offerings soon.

Kind Regards,
Kris Blackburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tea for two - sorry, make that four!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a small bakery cum cafe. Inside it has a rustic feel with a quirky decor. We ordered tea for two, and were gobsmacked at what appeared on the table. Both of us received a sandwich of our choice, a quiche or pie of our choice, a huge piece of cake of our choice, plus a huge scone with fruit and cream and unlimited amounts of tea. All the food is homemade and delicious. We said we would have to take the quiche and cake home and boxes were promptly brought (apparently this happens a lot!). The prices are very reasonable. Not surprisingly, The Running Fox is very popular so booking is advisable at all times.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ermintrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kris b, Owner at The Running Fox, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea for two. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kris Blackburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Running Fox also viewed

Longframlington, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Newton on the Moor, Northumberland
Warkworth, Amble
 

Been to The Running Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing