We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tiny bit of perfection!”
Review of Casa Coson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Coson
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Quite spontaneously, we booked 10 days here, based largely on location and the reviews of other Tripadvisor travelers. Truthfully, bumping down a very potholed dirt road to the hotel had us a bit worried, but arriving a couple of kilometers later, we found ourselves at a jewel box of a hotel. It is situated on the northern end of the Playa Coson, which is several kilometers of beautiful white beach. We stayed in a garden-view suite (located on the 2nd floor of the main house), comprised of a spacious sitting room with sofa, two arm chairs, small refrigerator stocked with mineral water, large commode and colorful dhuri rugs. The sleeping room has a king-size bed (exceedingly comfortable), large closets and a safe. Each room has a large ceiling fan. An airconditoner is available, but we didn't need it. The suite was impeccably clean and the bathroom is stocked with blow dryer, magnifying mirror, shower and plenty of shower gel and shampoo.

The dining room/breakfast room, also in the main house, opens out to a wood patio which then is open to a lovely garden area featuring a small swimming pool and beautiful succulents, sloping directly to the beach. The garden area also has a number of open-air, shaded gazebos, equipped with extremely comfortable chaise lounges, upholstered in colorful fabrics -- suitable for two people. One is also used for spa/massage -- open air, but quite private.

There is a separate restaurant for lunch, directly adjacent to the main house, also open air and shaded, which seats perhaps 30-40 people and includes a small bar. We ate lunch here every day and loved such offerings as fresh pasta with local clams, tuna tartare and grilled fish. The service staff is excellent -- professional, friendly and quick. We happily lingered over lunch and then returned to swimming, walking the beach or reading in one of the gazebos until late afternoon.

Yvan and Marzia are wonderful hosts -- they are constantly present, whether making sure their guests are happy or greeting friends who stop in for lunch. There is a grand mix of French, Spanish, Italian and English being spoken at any given time.

The breakfast served as part of the price of the room is one of the most delightful aspects of the Casa Coson. Either ordered directly to one's table or served in a casual buffet, the platters of beautifully ripe mangoes, papayas, melon, passion fruit and berries were excellent. Someone is also baking fresh, tiny French pastries -- passion fruit or mango tartlettes for example -- as well as mini Madelaines and wee pound cakes. Fresh, warm, whole wheat bread, excellent yogurt, and French butter finish the basics. Marzia will see to eggs prepared to order whenever one asks. Topped off with fresh-pressed passion fruit juice and terrific coffee, your day can begin no better.

We're diehard swimmers and could have spent hours simply swimming in the easy water of the Playa Coson. The beach itself, though public, is pretty remote and other than the weekends, when many locals come to enjoy the water, it is very uninhabited: there are only two other properties (currently occupied) located directly on either side. An open-air restaurant serving grilled fish, barbecued chicken and pina coladas in real pineapples is located down the beach a couple of kilometers -- far enough away that the inevitable Dominican boombox music played on the weekends is hardly discernable, but close enough for a change of pace for lunch.

Dinners at Casa Coson are treasures. Marzia never tells you what she's making -- it's all a 3-course surprise and well worth the US$42. Everything is lovingly prepared from fresh ingredients and served beautifully -- both in presentation as well as by the staff.

Finally, it is the people who own, manage and run a hotel who really make it, we find. This is where the Casa Coson is a cut above. Every single person who works there and with whom we interacted, was professionally trained, gracious and friendly. Our preferences were respected and we were delightfully charmed with how much care each person took to ensure our comfort. Once again, thank you so much Marzia and Yvan (as well as Andrea, Jacqueline, Gieselle and so many others!).

We will be definitely returning...perhaps even sooner than we planned!

Room Tip: The garden suite is lovely. Next time, however, we'll book one of the rooms facing the ocean, ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BerlinAmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 171 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at Casa Coson for one week. Marzia and Yvan made us feel at home from day 1. We felt more in a home than a hotel. This small hotel is like renting a house on the beach but with all the hotel perks. The food is great, Marzia is an amazing cook, the whole staff is very friendly. Exactly what you expect from a small independent hotel. We would love to stay there again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BrigitteetDidier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Marzia and Yvan are the perfect hosts who treat you like guests in their home as soon as you arrive at their small, charming hotel on the magnificent playa coson. Our room was attractive, comfortable and always clean. The staff do an excellent job. We had a small balcony with a view of the sea. How lovely to hear the sound of the waves.
Our first night we had a marvelous meal at Casa Coson. Marzia is a great cook and her presentation is also beautiful. We ate delicious langoustines followed by an amazing chocolate dessert. Breakfast was also a treat-wonderful fruit, pastries and eggs if one is in the mood. The cafe serves great pizzas, salads and more elaborate fare such as tuna tartare which we ate twice during our stay.
As for location, there is no reason to leave the incredible playa coson. After swimming in the sea, you can relax by the pool. The town of Las Terrenas is a short taxi ride if you want to shop or eat at one of the local restaurants.
I have been to many places in the Caribbean but there is something very special about Casa Coson.
Thank you Marzia and Yvan and of course, the friendly, kind and helpful staff for a perfect holiday. We'll be back !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stunning setting right on the beach, almost too close to the waves at night, this is a beautifully developed, small, boutique hotel. Marzia and Yann are perfect hosts, warm, multilingual and will help with anything without being at all intrusive. Marzia and her team run an outstanding kitchen, from the lovely fresh breakfasts, lunchtime snacks, or sumptuous 'surprise' dinners. Any Michelin starred chef would be delighted with what they find. Their smiley support team are very good too, and if you have a little Spanish that will help.

The rooms are nice, well furnished, not huge. Nice toiletries provided, very firm bed. Outside is a nice garden area, with good loungers, shade and sun, and 20 metres from the main building to the beach. They have an in-house masseuse, who should be booked in advance, who knows her stuff but is firm!

Don't be put off by the short road down to the hotel - it is bumpy and rutted, and a 4WD would help, but any car can get through. Can't speak too highly of this hotel and its owners - go if you are in the area, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room if you can. Great balcony and view - you can almost feel the spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MuffinDordogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Choosing Casa Coson for its great rating on Trip Advisor we were absolutely charmed by the location away from the touristic noise and superficiality of Las Terrenas. This is a tasteful inn on a beautiful beach. The guest gets a piece of Espanola Island's paradise. The owners take pride in providing their guest a personalized service from breakfast to dinner with optional spa or island tour arrangements. Rooms are lovely, spacious,,and clean. The staff is friendly and efficient. The food refined and fresh. Overall very affordable

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Casa Coson would be perfect even if located somewhere on the beautiful Mediterranean Coast or anywhere else in the Caribbean because it is expertly run by Marzia and Yvan. It helps that it is located on the best stretch of the unspoiled beach, Playa Coson. Our rooms were overlooking the ocean, but even the cottages in the garden without the ocean view, which are right next to the main house and part of the fenced compound, enjoy the soothing yet exciting sound of the waves. Even when lounging on the lawn or around the pool, or eating in their restaurant, one enjoys the ocean view. And the food! Let me mention the fruit and vegetables first because those are the hardest to get in any other restaurant in Las Terenas. In Casa Coson, large colorful choice of local vegetables! Desserts, the best ever anywhere! Made by Marzia and her well trained numerous staff.You don't need to stay for dinner but we did, because the quality of ingredients and imaginative menu and its presentation was superb. Marzia makes 3 course dinner plus a dessert, the same for everyone, like eating in your grandmother's house (confusing at first for Americans used to choose from the menu, but gratifying later once realizing that you might have not experienced that particular dish). Marzia will adapt to your dietary wishes if told in the early afternoon and you would end up with the dish of your choice. For lunch, we enjoyed a la carte menu of pizza, pasta, fish and meat dishes and salads. Later on when we tried other restaurants in Las Terenas we regretted of not staying in. We were after the unique and simple yet superb and Casa Coson proved for us to be the only such choice in Las Terenas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rillary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I took a 2 day break from our hotel in Costa Dorado and drove down to the Samana Peninsula to stay at the Casa Coson. It was exactly as decsribed.
Dont judge it by the road leading to the property! It is just a wonderful little hotel, ideal to unwind and spend some relaxing and quiet time with your partner.
The room we stayed in was lovely and had an African theme, the garden leads straight onto the beach which is beautiful and untainted. The only company we had were the two dogs from the hotel - and they were very welcome!
We had dinner here on both evenings, and everything from the service to the food to the presentation were perfect. We would highly recommend - and look forward to out next trip to this lovely jewel in Samana.
Thank you Marzia and hubby, and staff and dogs for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jockyboyaitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
466 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
566 reviews
2.3 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#7 of 35 in Las Terrenas
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Coson Bay Hotel & Residences
Coson Bay Hotel & Residences
#18 of 35 in Las Terrenas
86 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Marilar
Hotel Residence Marilar
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
100 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Coson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Coson

Address: Playa Coson | Playa Coson, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $178 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming small residence directly on the marvelous beach of Coson. The residence was built with love and understanding of the natural beauty around it by it's owners. The long and crystal clear waters of Playa Coson and the evergreen of the mountains in the back makes this place unique and wonderful where you can spend your next holidays. Once here you will not want to leave... The main house has 4 private beachfront bedrooms. The Villa Colonial is a replica of a Victorian Style house with four bedrooms and private kitchen. It has been finely decorated with nice furniture and colorful tissues. In the back there is a magical round private Casita Mexicana. The swimming pool is in the middle of the residence. The garden has long chairs, hammocks, private seating with sun covers, tables to play chess or cards. There is also a first class restaurant that serves delicious juices, drinks and French, Italian and International cuisine. It also has a traditional oven for pizzas. You can enjoy a massage in the gazebos's garden or in your room or you can walk for four miles surrounded by hundreds of coconut trees, golden sand and refreshing water. What are you waiting for? Come join us... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Coson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Coson Hotel Las Terrenas
Casa Coson Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing