We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary vacation”
Review of Casa Coson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Coson
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a quiet relaxing get a away and Case Coson delivered in so many ways. The miles of beautiful beaches all to our selves, the a amazing fresh food, and the wonderful attention to details by our host and owners Marzia and Ivan. The cafe has great fresh fish and amazing pizza made in their wood burning oven. A car is a most as it will let you explore the area that is full of amazing sites. Go for one night or for a hole week the experience will be great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vivian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 171 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is probably the best small boutique hotel I have stayed in in the Dominican Republic. The very friendly French owners try their best to make the stay a pleasant one, the grounds are very well kept, as are the rooms. One of the nicest beaches out there as well! The stay was an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dominik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Casa Coson is one of the few properties on the beautiful, long, peaceful Coson Beach. The staff and owners were extremely welcoming and kind and dinners and breakfasts were delicious. (There is also a cafe serving lunch and snacks.) The staff explained how to get to the Limon waterfall and set up a visit to Los Haitises National Park. Just in front of the hotel, the beach is perfect for swimming and is a good surf/boogie boarding spot. In sum, Casa Coson was a perfect getaway. A car is highly recommended for getting to the hotel and to other sites on the peninsula.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lily_F11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

On a very rainy day, we drove from our rented villa in Las Terrenas to Casa Coson for lunch. What an amazing spot.We ordered the schrimp lunch and the anchovie pizza. We were served a seafood pate with warm french bread and what tasted like homemade mayo with a slice of tomato. This was superb and on the house!!

The shrimp (about 9/10) came in a garlic sauce with a small mound of spaghetti and perfectly cooked house potatoes. Could not finish it all. The pizza was 8 large slices and some of the best pizza we have ever had. Again could not finish it all. The service was great. Generally while on vacation we do not visit the same place twice as we cook the majority of our meals in the villa. However, we are making an exception for Caffe Coson and planning to return before we head home.Try this caffe, you will not be disappointed and it is reasonably priced for the quality of the food.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarsvanc0uverbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Casa Coson is a jewel hidden on the beautiful and wild playa coson, a few km from the center of Las Terrenas. The owners really know how to welcome a guest and make him feel at home, surrounded by beautiful landscape, you will surely get great accomodation and terific food. I would say is the perfect choice either to stop by for a quick lunch or stay a couple or nights or more. Special for friends, couples and families too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank martina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband and I spent a week at Casa Cosón and we didn't want to leave! Ivan and Marzia, the owners and hosts, are very kind and wonderful people. They are generous and interesting and they run a fabulous small hotel with amazing food. We stayed in the Casita Blanca and it was lovely. Every evening Marzia makes a special meal and she caters it to your individual tastes. These dinners are truly gourmet extravaganzas and well worth the cost. The breakfast is great and the staff are all very pleasant and attentive. The beach is beautiful and not overcrowded (we were there in early to mid November). The hotel's amenities (cabanas, lounges, pool, café) are all superb. Even the hotel dogs are sociable and friendly. You are not far from other restaurants and bars if you want to get out and explore, but we were perfectly happy staying at Casa Cosón the entire week and just beaching, walking, bodysurfing, reading, sleeping, and, of course, eating! A truly wonderful experience if you're looking for a relaxing and indulgent getaway!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed at this place twice and went for lunch two other times. We had miles of beautiful beach literally all to ourselves just outside the garden, and lots of fun bogie-boarding with the hotel's boards. The white wooden house rooms are simply decorated, with sand dollar pendants, and a homey feel. For dinner, guests can enjoy Marzia's delicious homemade Italian food, which can also be enjoyed at lunch. Seriously recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nykr888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
466 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
566 reviews
2.3 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Coson Bay Hotel & Residences
Coson Bay Hotel & Residences
#18 of 35 in Las Terrenas
86 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Marilar
Hotel Residence Marilar
#10 of 35 in Las Terrenas
100 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Coson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Coson

Address: Playa Coson | Playa Coson, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $179 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming small residence directly on the marvelous beach of Coson. The residence was built with love and understanding of the natural beauty around it by it's owners. The long and crystal clear waters of Playa Coson and the evergreen of the mountains in the back makes this place unique and wonderful where you can spend your next holidays. Once here you will not want to leave... The main house has 4 private beachfront bedrooms. The Villa Colonial is a replica of a Victorian Style house with four bedrooms and private kitchen. It has been finely decorated with nice furniture and colorful tissues. In the back there is a magical round private Casita Mexicana. The swimming pool is in the middle of the residence. The garden has long chairs, hammocks, private seating with sun covers, tables to play chess or cards. There is also a first class restaurant that serves delicious juices, drinks and French, Italian and International cuisine. It also has a traditional oven for pizzas. You can enjoy a massage in the gazebos's garden or in your room or you can walk for four miles surrounded by hundreds of coconut trees, golden sand and refreshing water. What are you waiting for? Come join us... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Coson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Coson Hotel Las Terrenas
Casa Coson Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing