We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect gateway! Loin des bruits du village”
Review of Villas EVA LUNA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas EVA LUNA
Ranked #5 of 31 Las Terrenas B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect gateway! Loin des bruits du village”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Third trip to las Terrenas, and on the 1st 2 we stayed at the "ibiscus" and enjoyed it very much, but Eva Luna is so much better...Aude has put together a small oasis of tranquility far away from the noisy village, and yet not so far that you cannot go buy food or eat out! It is just perfectly quiet and clean, and exotic! The beach is so close..The place is immaculate and Moliere works so hard all day, quietly mind you, behind the scenes to make sure that evrything is always immaculate...In the AM when you wake up, your breakfast will be served on your patio table before you have the time to actually say good morning!
The kitchen is well appointed, and since I cook a lot, I needed more ustensiles and pots, but Aude provides that too...as well as all good advices on what to do, where to eat etc...We will come back with friends soon....And by the way the Wifi worked like a charm.....Un tres bon choix pour s'eloigner du stress qu'est notre vie de tous les jours. Un tres bon rapport qualite prix. Proprietaire parle anglais, francais et espagnol.... N'hesiter pas ca vaut le coup...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgutierrez5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    12
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
35
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Eva Luna was nice stay, close enough to the beach but secluded - definitely a great place if you want some alone time with your signficant other. And def rent a jeep or a 4x4 if you stay here. Owner was helpful - seemed more so helpful to those who were french but nonetheless cooked us a great meal with a nice wine pairing on our final night.

PROS: nice balcony and clean sizable room with kitchen, easy walk to our favorite restaurant - Eden - best ceviche and tequirinas! town was nice with some cool restaurants/lounges not too far from the hotel ... hotel service was good and the owner was helpful when asked, breakfast was prompt and standard carribean

CONS (not all to do with the hotel): most of the cons can be blamed on the rain since it did so everyday except for one, at night the back roads are obviously very dark and if you want to go out at night its tough getting back - we had cabs take us, the roads are aweful so be prepared, and the mosquitos were just as bad - bring bug spray or ask for some when you get there (big mistake on our part) ... with the wetness outside the room got pretty musty

If you are into going out at night alot you might want to look elsewhere but if you want to enjoy a nice day on the beach / exploring and then relax in a quiet tranquil setting with friends and whatever you can bring back Eva is a great spot

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestadviceever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We got lost in Las erranas and called Patricia on the phone and she personally came and got us..although we were very close...she was gracious and lead us to the posada..WOW O WOW...it was so serene...lush greenery palm groves...flowers..birds and wildlife all around... 5 colorful little artsy bungalows surrounding the swimming pool...we could take our pick no one was there..cool..real cool........Patricia was wonderful & helpful giving us directions to sightsee..helpful hints...we felt right at home...we awoke to the sounds of wildlife...a warm delicious breakfast served on our comfortable terrace every morning AND THE DOMINICAN COFFEE WAS TO DIE FOR. SUPERB !!!..we felt like kings and queens.....all in all..i brag..& boast about Villa Eva Luna...i would not hesitate to visit again...I highly reccomend VILLA EVA LUNA if your looking for PEACE...TRANQUILTY...AND SUNSHINE...WE THANK YOU PATRICA AND AUDE

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERIK10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

My husband and seven year old son and I just returned from the Dominican Republic and a five day stay at Villa Eva Luna. Eva Luna was absolutely lovely, the perfect place for us and we hope to be able to return one day. From the moment I booked the room Aude was extremely helpful. She offered to help us hire a taxi from the airport (that would be taking us to our hotel in Santo Domingo) and then to hire the taxi from Santo Domingo to Las Terrenas. We took her up on those offers and our taxi driver Eddie was a great guy, on time and a good driver (important in the DR!) Once we arrived at Eva Luna Aude's assistant Patricia was invaluable in helping to make our stay truly worry free. She recommended we not rent our car on Sunday as the traffic would be bad and we're happy we listened. It's a 5 min walk to the beach and then a 15 min walk on the beach to town. We spent Sunday walking around town, swimming on the beach and in the pool, eating at the restaurant on the beach that is on the lane Eva Luna is on (Eden Beach restaurant - very good and very nice staff) and grocery shopping at a well stocked bodega. Patricia then arranged for our rental car to be delivered to us on Monday morning. Perfect! We rented a jeep. We are so happy we did. We drove to Las Galenas and then Playa Rincon and I'm not sure a small car would have made that trip. Many of the roads in the DR would not be called roads in the US. The ride was spectacular and driving back from Playa Rincon, leaving the beach at 6 PM and seeing the little villages come alive as the day cooled off, was one of the nicest experiences we've ever had. Music was everywhere.
Eva Luna's grounds are very lovingly cared for by Nicolai, a sweet man with a ready smile. The housekeepers were also very friendly and breakfast was served with a smile each day. We spent most of our days exploring and came home each night to an impeccably clean cabana. They kept fresh flowers in our room and each day lined up my son's stuffed animals on his bed. Very sweet. Breakfast was simple with fresh fruit (very delicious!), good coffee (hot chocolate for my son) scrambled eggs and white toast.
The other guests were very similar to us. Low-key people who wanted a friendly, clean and beautiful place to stay while they explored the island.
Eva Luna is probably not for everyone. If you need tv or telephones in your room you won't be happy here. The electricity is inconsistent in las Terrenas and there were times it went out during our stay. This did not cause us any hardship (breakfast, including coffee was still on our table in the morning) but if living without an A/C for a few hours is difficult for you, you may want to look elsewhere. The other thing to know is that Las Terrenas has a great number of stray dogs. They did not bother us and they were easily shooshed away from our beach table as we ate diner (one dog - not a pack) at night however they are loud. I don't know if there is a place in Las Terrenas where you cannot hear dogs barking at night. I doubt there is. This is similar to experiences we've had in Spain and Italy and the barking did not bother us but is something to be prepared for.

We would love to come back to Eva Luna in the future hopefully with family or friends along.

Lastly, bring mosquito repellent and use it especially in the early evening and morning. We did and were not bothered. Others who did not were bitten up like crazy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmomqplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Spent 6 nites in Las Terrenas at Villa Eva-Luna and had a great time. This small complex of 4 villas - one and 2-bedroom units arranged around a pool, was a quiet and serene hangout, a short walk down a dead-end road to the beach. The beach on the west side of Las Terrenas was spectacular - nearly deserted if you head to the west and a very short hike to beach bars and lounge chairs if you head east. Beaches lined with coconut palms were spectacular and we ate lunch at different beach bars or cafes backing onto the beach each day. We had a vehicle which made it easier to check out different beaches each day (Don't miss Playa Bonita and Playa Coson) but most visitors seemed to rely on scooters to get around.

Patricia was taking care of things for Aude while we were there and she was extremely helpful recommending restaurants and arranging a whale-watching trip. The staff did a great job and there was an interesting collection of Fench and German visitors we shared the pool with. It's a wonderful setting to wind down with a drink lounging at the pool at the very end of the day. The landscaped setting was lush and beautifully maintained. Our 2-bedroom unit had a living room with adjacent kitchen, 2 outdoor terraces and each bedroom and its own bath (large showers - no tubs). The kitchen has a full-size fridge, cooktop, sink and enough pots, pans and dishes for cooking meals but we were lazy. The staff cooked a hot breakfast for each morning , served on our terrace. The villas are lovingly decorated and very relaxing. Beds were comfy and we slept well each night under the ceiling fan without ever needing to turn on AC. We would be thrilled to return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2010

I haven't stopped recommending Las Terrenas and Villa Eva Luna since I got back. Spent Christmas there with a friend - we had a lovely time. Very chilled and very charming.
Fab place to stay - intimate without being claustrophic.
Patricia is looking after things whilst Aude is away - she helped with everything we needed, gave great recommendations and was an absolute hoot.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroofc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

We had a very peaceful 4 day weekend at Eva Luna but beware - when it rains, that 200 m road (? lane) seems too long to wade through to get to restaurants or beach. Most of our visit the lane was covered in water and we had some hilarious trips down it. As we were only there for a long weekend, we didn't want to carry in groceries - expecting to be able to get to restaurants easily. By the last night the lane just seemed too much trouble so we ate crackers.
Overall, the villa was gorgeous and very comfortable. The service was sporadic depending on whether it was siesta but nothing major. The staff were very friendly and more helpful than the owner. We expected a little more value for the money we spent.
To get around, we hired a cab or scooter taxi - beware again - by the time they drove us through the terrible roads or our 200 m water lane, they always insisted on being paid more than had been negotiated before setting out. One evening's lovely dinner was somewhat tarnished by the vehicle cab which detoured to pick up another couple which was very out of the way for us, but then charged both parties the same price!
If you are looking for white sand beaches, this isn't the place. We did enjoy the Mosquito bar patio looking over the water - funky atmosphere.
Would we return again? Probably not - there are many DR locations that offer better beaches - would not stay at the same accommodations. We could have spent far less at hotels that had better access to the amenities. Beautiful place but a little too remote if it is rainy and you want to get out to shop, eat or enjoy the rustic beach. The villa's pool area was great but then aren't they all in the DR?

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LasTerranesVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
2.6 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 34 in Las Terrenas
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
#6 of 34 in Las Terrenas
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 34 in Las Terrenas
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 34 in Las Terrenas
141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
#11 of 34 in Las Terrenas
195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 34 in Las Terrenas
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas EVA LUNA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas EVA LUNA

Property: Villas EVA LUNA
Address: 4 calle Marico | playa Las Ballenas, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas EVA LUNA 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EVA LUNA is a small and intimate cosy place, located at 150m from Las Ballenas beach. 5 great and comfortable bungalows of 2 or 4 persons in a beautiful tropical garden and swimming-pool. Perfect place for romantic moment or with your family. Friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villas EVA LUNA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva Luna Villas Hotel Las Terrenas
Villas EVA LUNA Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing