We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property”
Review of Villas EVA LUNA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas EVA LUNA
Ranked #6 of 33 Las Terrenas B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The road to the property is a little bit rocky but once you get to Eva Luna, you really feel at peace. The property is beautiful and very well-maintained, the villas are very comfortable with a full kitchen and the bedrooms are well decorated and cozy. Aude is very helpful in recommending restaurants, excursions or even rent a car for you.

What I loved most: getting the breakfast brought over to your villa's terrace!

One negative: the walk in the mud to get to the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 84 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

Eva Luna has a definite charm that feels like the Southwest in an island beach community. On first Impression, the bundalows are quaint, it's recessed and quiet and it has the possibility of being something really great.

Unfortunately, what it had in charm could not overshadow what it lacked in owner service and attentiveness. This small villa vacation experience is all about attention to detail and the owner dropped the ball in various ways.

1. Swarms of mosquitos aren't attractive when you're trying to sleep, especially when they are in every room and there is no protective nets around the bed. And, in the event the electricity goes off, like it did one night, arm yourself with a ton of bug spray, as the fan in the room will not save you from being bitten OVER AND OVER.

2. Do not ask the owner for help trying to organize anything as you will have to do it yourself or your request will not be done correctly. The one request to Aude we made of having a car ordered to take us three to two local airports in Santo Domingo repectively was botched and ended up costing us more. And to add insult to injury, we had to contend with her attitude, as if we were wrong for having indicated to her twice, two days before, of what we needed.

Word of Advice to Aude: Don't put your paying guests in an awkward position of disputing taxi charges when you comfirmed the night before that it was done. The one request we made of you was met with a cavalier attitude and you really should never promise things you can't deliver on.

We believed the small villa community would be a better fit and would provide a unique, attentive experience. Obviously we were wrong as the owner did not share that same sentiment and was the definite "Achilles' Heel" to what could potentially be a real gem.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank raun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

My husband & I just returned from a weekend stay with Aude at Eva Luna; I originally narrowed down my choice to Eva Luna beacuase of the positive reviews from other travelers. This very quaint, lovely & super maintained property was a delight throughout our entire weekend. Not directly on the beach (which was totally fine with us & only a 3 min walk) is a slice of paradise that offers tranquility, downtime & amazing hospitality. The Villas are very spacious, neat, private & very romantic. We have traveled all over the caribbean & have never come across such a divine property. We are already planning a small family reunion; Eva Luna offers 5 fully equipped Villas which are truly ideal for a family get together. We highly recommend Eva Luna & hope you will too!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank elimarcus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were blown away! This was the first hotel I have ever stayed at that not only met, but exceeded, all of my expectations.

If you're looking for a resort hotel this is not it. There are plenty of 'apartment' style hotels along the beach. However, if it's an unforgettable experience you're after, this is the place for you!

The hotel grounds are so beautiful and well maintained. The variety of trees and plant life is stunning! They are so thick and lush that it's easy to forget that there are any other hotels nearby.

We were lucky enough to be the only guests at the hotel the first few days of our stay. Because of this, Aude upgraded our 'room' from the reserved bungalow to a larger villa. The villas are wonderful. It feels more like home than a hotel! They are authentic Dominican style. Eveything is so bright and colorful. One nice touch is the variety of books provided in each villa.

The private terrace is a perfect place for reading or napping, and of course, to start your day with the delicious breakfast prepared and served by the gracious staff!

All three of the hotel employees are so friendly, despite the language barrier. Then there's Aude, who couldn't be a better hotel operator! From the time we began contacting her, several months before our trip, she was so helpful. She suggested hotels in Santo Domingo, booked flights and transportation for us, and was always prompt responding to any questons we had along the way. Upon our arrival Aude greeted us at the gates, and always made herself available to assist in anyway she could. From directions to suggestions on what to do, or even booking excursions or reservations, she was not only willing, but glad to help! To top it off, when she heard that we had gotten engaged :) she surprised us with a bottle of champagne!

The only bad part of our stay was having to leave. We will definitely be going back to the Samana Peninsula, and of course, staying at Villa Eva Luna!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cayso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Villa Eva Luna far exceeded any expectations had when searching for a quieter lodging option for my first trip to DR. I should have known it was going to be an amazing stay, because Aude was so helpful with me in planning ALL aspects of my trip. She suggested a wonderful hotel in Santo Domingo for our final night, hired taxis for me there and in Samana, gave us great tips on where to go in Las Terrenas and how to get there...I didn't have to worry about one thing!

The property is a true oasis in paradise. Safe and convenient to town.
We were waited on hand and foot by the polite staff.

The sign of a good vacation is not wanting to leave...and after only 4 nights, we did not want to leave Eva Luna!

Thank you, Aude, for making our first trip to DR such a pleasant one. Hope to see you again someday!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bkdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Third trip to las Terrenas, and on the 1st 2 we stayed at the "ibiscus" and enjoyed it very much, but Eva Luna is so much better...Aude has put together a small oasis of tranquility far away from the noisy village, and yet not so far that you cannot go buy food or eat out! It is just perfectly quiet and clean, and exotic! The beach is so close..The place is immaculate and Moliere works so hard all day, quietly mind you, behind the scenes to make sure that evrything is always immaculate...In the AM when you wake up, your breakfast will be served on your patio table before you have the time to actually say good morning!
The kitchen is well appointed, and since I cook a lot, I needed more ustensiles and pots, but Aude provides that too...as well as all good advices on what to do, where to eat etc...We will come back with friends soon....And by the way the Wifi worked like a charm.....Un tres bon choix pour s'eloigner du stress qu'est notre vie de tous les jours. Un tres bon rapport qualite prix. Proprietaire parle anglais, francais et espagnol.... N'hesiter pas ca vaut le coup...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgutierrez5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Eva Luna was nice stay, close enough to the beach but secluded - definitely a great place if you want some alone time with your signficant other. And def rent a jeep or a 4x4 if you stay here. Owner was helpful - seemed more so helpful to those who were french but nonetheless cooked us a great meal with a nice wine pairing on our final night.

PROS: nice balcony and clean sizable room with kitchen, easy walk to our favorite restaurant - Eden - best ceviche and tequirinas! town was nice with some cool restaurants/lounges not too far from the hotel ... hotel service was good and the owner was helpful when asked, breakfast was prompt and standard carribean

CONS (not all to do with the hotel): most of the cons can be blamed on the rain since it did so everyday except for one, at night the back roads are obviously very dark and if you want to go out at night its tough getting back - we had cabs take us, the roads are aweful so be prepared, and the mosquitos were just as bad - bring bug spray or ask for some when you get there (big mistake on our part) ... with the wetness outside the room got pretty musty

If you are into going out at night alot you might want to look elsewhere but if you want to enjoy a nice day on the beach / exploring and then relax in a quiet tranquil setting with friends and whatever you can bring back Eva is a great spot

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bestadviceever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
566 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
466 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
#11 of 35 in Las Terrenas
202 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Dolce Vita Residence
La Dolce Vita Residence
#13 of 35 in Las Terrenas
85 reviews
2.5 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Samana
Viva Wyndham V Samana
#4 of 35 in Las Terrenas
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas EVA LUNA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas EVA LUNA

Address: Calle Marico 4 | playa Las Ballenas, Las Terrenas 32200, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $166 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas EVA LUNA 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EVA LUNA is a small and intimate cosy place, located at 150m from Las Ballenas beach. 5 great and comfortable bungalows of 2 or 4 persons in a beautiful tropical garden and swimming-pool. Perfect place for romantic moment or with your family. Friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas EVA LUNA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva Luna Villas Hotel Las Terrenas
Villas EVA LUNA Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing