We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't count on your reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Grande Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Reviewed February 25, 2010

We arrived at Casa Grande and were told they have no room for us. We had a reservation for 3 nights, confirmed by an email from the hotel, that we had with us, as well as by phone. They have not denied the validity of our reservation, which they had in their records. We interacted with the owner of the place who was rude and kept lying about "wonderful alternatives" for us on Playa Bonita while the reality was that no hotel at that site had available rooms. They ruined our vacation.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
7  Thank zohari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 114 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2010

This hotel was recommended so we made a reservation for three nights. The best (only) good thing I can say about this place is that the food is good, which is an exception in the DR. The curtains in the room were torn with holes, the fixtures in the bathroom were hanging by a thread, the towel bar collapsed when you put any weight on it. The overhead ceiling fan rumbled. There were no blankets. We paid $120 a night and it was a dump. The beach in front of the hotel is nice but the water is so rough you really can't swim in it. Not to mention that it's on a road that is practically impassable by car. Go someplace else! The people who run the place also tried to rip us off by handing me a bill that was 30% overcharged. His comment to me when I questioned him about the amount was "Oh, I guess I made a mistake." Unfortunately for him, I speak French.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MickeydeNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

This is my second review of this place. The first one was not published. Had pix and everything. My biggest complaint is that it is overpriced for what it is. It's dilapidated. I'll post pix when this get's posted.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
3  Thank rubels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Great place, small hotel facing the beach and coconut trees. Spacious, clean and simple rooms. Great people, warm, communicative and honest. They want to make you feel good on vacations and it works. Food is fantastic, fresh and creative!
If you don't like resorts and big hotels, go there, you will find a quiet, good and friendly atmosphere.
Difficult to find them on the web, so here is their website http://www.casagrandebeachhotel.com
Closest international airport El Catey (1h drive)

Jacky, Sophie and Marie-Laurence, a big thank you for your welcome, we had a great time!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmaNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Although we did not stay at the hotel, we did have lunch there. We are Dominicans living in the United States and must admit, the food was the freshest and by far the best we have had in the DR.
We are a large family group of small children, teens , adults and grandparents and EVERYONE was satisfied with their selection. We had selections of seafood, beef, chicken and pasta and everything was awesome!
If you eat at the hotel, you are allowed to use the lounge chairs on the beach which is located about 20 feet from the hotel. The grounds of the hotel are immaculately kept.
It was TRULY a delight!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b31573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We are a retired couple who like a winter break where we hope for some warm sunshine and a beach where we can swim. We like small hotels. This place was ideal in every way for us.It's very relaxed. The bathroom had the largest showerhead I've ever encountered! It was a joy to use. The food was excellent. Local coffee is served at breakfast along with delicious tropical fruit. Fish and seafood were prepared beautifully. The French chef is very good. The beach is sandy and when we were there it was easy to get out beyond the breakers to swim.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exmoorewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

My mother, brother and myself stayed at this hotel from February 1-February 5. We had an excellent time. There was some confusion as to the rooms, but the owner was quick to fix the problem and not only offered us a better room at a lower price, but also allowed us access to both hotel rooms that night.
The road to the hotel is awful, but thats no fault of this hotel or any other hotel in Las Terrenas. However, once you finally get thru the dirt road, you enter onto the front of Playa Bonita and go by several villas and hotels until you reach Casa Grande. The hotel is very lovely and gives you a Caribbean feel. The staff was amazing, and the included breakfast was delicious.
I do recommend that only couples go here as the environment is very romantic and you can't exactly experience everything has to offer with your mother and brother.
Access to the beach is just footsteps away, and there's a wonderful little eating place right down the road where they serve inexpensive seafood right under the palm trees.
Get yourself an ATV from Fun Rental in town and enjoy the sites.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kaleena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Acaya
Hotel Acaya
#29 of 35 in Las Terrenas
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coson Bay Hotel & Residences
Coson Bay Hotel & Residences
#16 of 35 in Las Terrenas
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#19 of 35 in Las Terrenas
157 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Marilar
Hotel Residence Marilar
#10 of 35 in Las Terrenas
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Enjoy
Hotel Enjoy
#7 of 35 in Las Terrenas
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Grande Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Bonita 1, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $35 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Grande Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the white-sand beach of Playa Bonita and 5 minutes drive from Pueblo de Pescadores Town, this beach front hotel features an extensive garden, a furnished terrace and free Wi-Fi throughout. The rooms offer typical decor, air conditioning, a fan, desk and flat-screen TV. The bathrooms come with shower and are private. The on-site restaurant serves intrnational cuisine and guests will enjoy free breakfast. There are also a variety of restaurants and bars within 5 minutes' drive. Excursions to Humpback Whale Sanctuary, to Los Haitises National Park and to El Limon Waterfall can be arranged at Hotel Restaurant Casa Grande. This hotel is 5 km from Las Terrenas Town Centre and a 25-minute drive from Samana El Catey International Airport. Las Americas International Airport can be reached in 1 hour and 45 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Casa Grande Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Grande Beach
Casa Grande Beach Hotel Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing