We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unpleasant expericence..”
Review of Hotel Palapa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Las Terrenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Palapa
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Very unpleasant expericence..

We traveled to Las Terrenas 2 weeks ago. What a lovely town, with so much to offer. Unfortunately, we tried getting a room at Hotel Palapa, wich is located in across the road from the main beach.

First, we walked in, and there was no one at the front desk. We went to the restaurant up front, and the couple there, explained that it was 2 separate businesses, but that if there was no one, to go by the pool area, usualy there is someone there.

There is no indication, and preety much no lights on the way there. Once we got to the pool, a french man was sitting watching tv. We asked if if he had a room available, but he pretty much spoke no english, and was very rude. It’s as if we were bothering him.

The place seemed pretty decent, looks like i twas newly renovated, but the overall attitude, made us feel like we werent welcomed at all.
We proceeded to walk out, and book a room at another hôtel further down the beach, that welcomed us with open arms.

Let’s just say, we will not be coming back to this hôtel….

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank franck c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palapa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 41 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

Awesome 2 weeks and 3 more to go. A quiet place at the eastern end of the main waterfront strip and just steps to the beach. The recent renovations and upgrades are quite pretty.
Plenty of great restaurants around including Kahuna which is on the property and has the BEST burgers in town! Or there is a communal kitchen upstairs where you van cook and enjoy your meal overlooking the strip and watch street action or the sun set.
There are rooms for every budget from backpacker to AC with satellite TV and there is a quiet pool and patio in the back.
Great staff that speaks English, Spanish, German and French!
Will definitely return ;)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The Place just opened up recently and I have to say, that they did a great Job on this one. The service was great, the prices are very reasonable and the rooms are great also!! Last but not least, it s beach front!! So what else could you want?

They are gonna have live acts soon too. Can t wait to be back!
Thanks a lot for giving me this great time!!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Presidente1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

As James said below " hard not to have a good time". We stayed a couple of nights last month, and I have to say, what a difference a year and a new owner make. Lots of nice new renovations. Very clean and comfortable, and certainly affordable.This place is right on the beach on a really calm bay (perfect for the kiddies to play in the ocean). Everything you need is right on site, great restaurant, car rentals, pool bar and a really cool 2nd floor pavilion/dance hall overlooking the beach. Only good things to say about this place.

Room Tip: Sam's the man if you need anything
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dieselfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights last month. After returning a year later I found the Hotel has a new owner Sam. Great guy, very helpful. Sam has is a Canadian who has spent a lot of time in the DR and is renovatinng the hotel. The rooms were very clean, the hotel staff friendly. It would be hard to not have a good time at Hotel Palapa.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1james2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

Within walking distance from town and just across the street from the gorgeous beach with a friendly bar, this was one of the most warmest friendliest environments I've ever traveled to. I was sad to go. The hotel is safe, clean, and everyone is incredibly friendly and helpful. The restaurant is magnificent, and the bar is welcoming and relaxing. As incredibly relaxing as this stay can be, it is also convenient to sight see as much or as little as one would like.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goatdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

While we stay one night, I was earnestly wished stay awaken untill next morning, the reasons are, 1) There is no inside door lock. 2) Too much fish kinds smell from washroom (Floor tiles are so dirty. 3)They did not changed bed sheets all 3 beds, we found may hairs inside sheets and sheets were so crimpled where people had slept. 4)Mosquitoes came in through unblocked back side wall.5) they charges extra US$10.00 for airconditioning per night, which they didn't mention it at the time of reservation.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
4  Thank Ian4703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thallpalapa, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Palapa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2011

Spring 2011, Hotel Palapa was taken over by new owners, who have given this well known property a thorough facelift, cleaning and refurbishing, with a mind to providing simple yet comfortable accommodations and excellent value in an ideally located hotel, situated both right on the beach and close to the center of town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
564 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casas del Mar Neptunia
Casas del Mar Neptunia
#18 of 35 in Las Terrenas
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Enjoy
Hotel Enjoy
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aligio Aparthotel & Spa
Aligio Aparthotel & Spa
#17 of 35 in Las Terrenas
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Marilar
Hotel Residence Marilar
#10 of 35 in Las Terrenas
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palapa

Address: 27 de Febrero, Punta Popy, Las Terrenas 00000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $40 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED in 2014 ! Hotel Palapa beach club is located on Playa Punta Popy, Las Terrenas. On one of the nicest beaches in the Dominican Republic. And only a few steps away from the sparkling city center of Las Terrenas Our Hotel has 16 bungalows who can accommodate 1 to 6 People, perfect for couples with children or small groups, some of our bungalows have a small kitchen. Every morning you can have breakfast served on the beach or at the pool. A little bit hungry in the afternoon or in the evening? Our beach bar 'Calmos Cafe is open from 7.30Am until 8.00Pm . We serve a variety of fresh local food, fish, meat & pastas at great prices. Every day between 5pm and 7pm it's 'Happy Hour' on al rum cocktails. In the evening you can have some nice dining in our restaurant 'Tam Tam' where we serve lobster, camarones, meat and Swiss Fondue with exquisite side dishes. Palapa Beach Club also offers a lot of water activities and excursions. You can take some kite surf lesson, surf the waves and paddle on the crystal clear water of Punta Popy. If you want to book an excursion and visit the waterfall 'Limon' , watch the wales or rent an ATV and visit 'Route de Cafe' our staff will gladly inform you about all the activities our club offers. We hope you enjoy your stay in Hotel Palapa Beach Club ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Palapa Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing