We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Residencia del Paseo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Residencia del Paseo
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a ground floor studio apartment with a small refrigerator for a decent price. The outside sitting area with the kitchen table was fully screened to the lawn and beautiful gardens outside. Building is unique and well laid out surrounding the pool. Very quiet.

Room Tip: Small refrigerator in the ground floor studio suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CommonSense60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    69
    21
    16
    15
See reviews for
42
49
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location, the breakfast is good but you can get a cheaper price for the breakfast if you go and buy it yourself in the cafeteria, there's a lot mosquitos and cockroaches in the hotel room, the AC doesn't work properly, the water heater is OFF late at night and the pool is ok. You can get a lot of more options for the same price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Terrenas hotels

Jackson Heights, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel is old and outdated, the place smells like mildew, intensely. The location is perfect, you are right in the middle of town. There is no restaurant on site and the bar at the pool is not part of the hotel so you cannot run a tab, or charge it to your room. The bar has sandwiches, you can walk right our into the plaza and there are restaurants everywhere. We were there for 3 days and never saw anyone in the pool, I went in on the last night and it was fine. The major issue with the hotel is the stench, the towels has bleach stains. The staff is nice and were helpful, they do not speak English. Nicer on the outside than inside.

Room Tip: We asked for a different room and they were able to do so, the place was sold out so that may not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hondahero77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

I can't say if this is the whole town because even in the parking I saw cockroaches flying(one to be honest) but in two nights stay at first one I had to go for baygon to a nearby market.

In the other hand the place is not bad at all for the price you pay as it holds many people for the same price rooms are not that bad but bathroom shower needs workout. They have kind of kitchenette that works a little bit for common use.

Location I can't say is bad at all as it is 200 meters from beach, of course is not the ultimate spot but I would say for low budget tourist holding baygon cans it will do

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERRveneno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We were quite pleased with our accommodations at La Residencia del Paseo. The rooms were quite large and, although not up to 4 star standards, clean and inviting.

The property is located adjacent to a pleasant little plaza which features everything from clothing stores to restaurants. We had wonderful Dominican cafe con leche there every morning.

The beach is across the street, and there are good restaurants all along the main drag.

We stayed here 2 days, and would definitely return

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I had a great time at establishment. I has a perfect location. The pictures of this site do no justice for the interior backyard. For the price and location this is isa good place. Definently will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarletR12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Hotel Residencia Paseo is conveniently located but not located on Calle Duarte as stated. We drove on Calle Duarte but couldn't find it. It's actually located on another street that I can't remember (we drove around and just stumbled upon the hotel). When we asked the receptionist about this, she acknowledged this and said that Las Terranas is crazy that way. She only spoke Spanish but she was nice and gave us a "better room". However, the "better room" was dirty. There was hair on the bathroom floor and everything was old and outdated. The room was like a loft; you had to take narrow stairs to get to the bed. This might be ok for some people but I'm a bit clumsy and the stairs are a bit narrow. What if you have to use the toilet at night? The pool did look nice and the receptionist was friendly. We were only there for one night so didn't make a big deal about the state of the room but I definitely wouldn't return there. As others have said, its a nice exterior and convenient location but the rooms are just not worth staying in. I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yi Ting C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palococo
Hotel Palococo
#31 of 36 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casas del Mar Neptunia
Casas del Mar Neptunia
#15 of 36 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#9 of 36 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casino Niza
Hotel Casino Niza
#26 of 36 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Grande Beach Hotel
Casa Grande Beach Hotel
#22 of 36 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Rincon De Abi
El Rincon De Abi
#6 of 36 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residencia del Paseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residencia del Paseo

Property: La Residencia del Paseo
Address: Calle Juan Pablo Duarte 272 | El Paseo de la Costanera, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residencia del Paseo 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residencia del Paseo Located in the heart of Las Terrenas, Samana, only 50 meters away from all restaurants, bars, shops and an amazing tropical white sandy beach, the Residencia del Paseo Apart Hotel is a true hidden oasis, offering a high level of tranquillity for those who enjoy hotel service but with the privacy that garden apartments allow. Enjoy our BBQ, situated in our gardens, overlooking the pool. You could give pleasure to your friends or family cooking your barbecue With its privileged site and setting, abundant and harmonious spaces, the hotel La Residencia del Paseo gives you the best of the Dominican Republic for an unforgettable vacation experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Residencia del Paseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residencia Del Paseo Hotel Las Terrenas
La Residencia Del Paseo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing