We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, the end” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Residencia del Paseo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Residencia del Paseo
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Jackson Heights, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Location, the end”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel is old and outdated, the place smells like mildew, intensely. The location is perfect, you are right in the middle of town. There is no restaurant on site and the bar at the pool is not part of the hotel so you cannot run a tab, or charge it to your room. The bar has sandwiches, you can walk right our into the plaza and there are restaurants everywhere. We were there for 3 days and never saw anyone in the pool, I went in on the last night and it was fine. The major issue with the hotel is the stench, the towels has bleach stains. The staff is nice and were helpful, they do not speak English. Nicer on the outside than inside.

Room Tip: We asked for a different room and they were able to do so, the place was sold out so that may not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hondahero77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    63
    17
    15
    15
See reviews for
39
43
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

I can't say if this is the whole town because even in the parking I saw cockroaches flying(one to be honest) but in two nights stay at first one I had to go for baygon to a nearby market.

In the other hand the place is not bad at all for the price you pay as it holds many people for the same price rooms are not that bad but bathroom shower needs workout. They have kind of kitchenette that works a little bit for common use.

Location I can't say is bad at all as it is 200 meters from beach, of course is not the ultimate spot but I would say for low budget tourist holding baygon cans it will do

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERRveneno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Terrenas hotels

Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We were quite pleased with our accommodations at La Residencia del Paseo. The rooms were quite large and, although not up to 4 star standards, clean and inviting.

The property is located adjacent to a pleasant little plaza which features everything from clothing stores to restaurants. We had wonderful Dominican cafe con leche there every morning.

The beach is across the street, and there are good restaurants all along the main drag.

We stayed here 2 days, and would definitely return

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I had a great time at establishment. I has a perfect location. The pictures of this site do no justice for the interior backyard. For the price and location this is isa good place. Definently will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarletR12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Hotel Residencia Paseo is conveniently located but not located on Calle Duarte as stated. We drove on Calle Duarte but couldn't find it. It's actually located on another street that I can't remember (we drove around and just stumbled upon the hotel). When we asked the receptionist about this, she acknowledged this and said that Las Terranas is crazy that way. She only spoke Spanish but she was nice and gave us a "better room". However, the "better room" was dirty. There was hair on the bathroom floor and everything was old and outdated. The room was like a loft; you had to take narrow stairs to get to the bed. This might be ok for some people but I'm a bit clumsy and the stairs are a bit narrow. What if you have to use the toilet at night? The pool did look nice and the receptionist was friendly. We were only there for one night so didn't make a big deal about the state of the room but I definitely wouldn't return there. As others have said, its a nice exterior and convenient location but the rooms are just not worth staying in. I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yi Ting C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I was very pleased with everything except the bathroom. The property is gorgeous and has a swimming pool. The location is great- about a block from the beach and in the center of town close to restaurants, shops, and tour operators. The room we had was complete with a fridge, stove, dishes, and sink and had a balcony covered with a screen so bugs don't get in. But, the bathroom was not as clean as I would've liked it to be- it looked like someone did try to clean it but didn't put any effort into it. There were random hairs and the toilet was stained. I asked for another room with a cleaner bathroom but the receptionist said they were fully booked, which I doubt was true. But other than the bathroom I thought it was pretty decent (although for $63 a night, I would expect more for my money).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seemz41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Having stayed at several hotels all over the island, my expectations weren't that high of this hotel but I was nonetheless disappointed. The exterior is beautiful, lots of wood went into the construction and the grounds are very well kept. However, the interior was nothing to write home about. I was on a third floor room with an interior "staircase" to get up to the second room. The stairs were more like a ladder they were so steep and the stairs extremely narrow. Quite dangerous if you decided to go down to the washroom at night. The kitchen is only accessible thru the balcony or over a counter that divides it from the rest of the room, not too useful when you've got the a/c on to keep the place cool. The A/C worked well but was quite noisy. And since I paid extra, I had a/c and "hot" water. The water was at best lukewarm and the shower tiny with the curtain rod held up by a chain tied to the roof. If you pulled just a tad too hard, one side would come off and the curtain would slip off. One morning there was no water and when informed, the manager almost rudely informed us that he was aware of the problem and was waiting for the technician. The upstairs bed (Queen or King) was comfortable but the 2 twins on the first floor were very soft and you could feel the springs in some places. Location-wise, it's quite good, located behind a plaza that's right across the street from the beach. No beach chairs there though so either sit on your towel in the sun or walk down to the right about 400-500m and rent one. For dinner, definitely go to Restaurante La Yuca. Great pizza, good pasta and very nice service.

So overall, it was ok for a short weekend stay but I wouldn't have spent a longer period there. For someone looking for a less expensive option and doesn't mind the abovementioned details, then go ahead.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a screen on the balcony to limit the mosquitoes that can get in. Different room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PuntaCanaKateP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palococo
Hotel Palococo
#31 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#18 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casino Niza
Hotel Casino Niza
#27 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#4 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Dolce Vita Residence
La Dolce Vita Residence
#17 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
#9 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residencia del Paseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residencia del Paseo

Property: La Residencia del Paseo
Address: El Paseo de la Costanera, Las Terrenas | Calle Juan Pablo Duarte 272, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residencia del Paseo 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residencia del Paseo Located in the heart of Las Terrenas, Samana, only 50 meters away from all restaurants, bars, shops and an amazing tropical white sandy beach, the Residencia del Paseo Apart Hotel is a true hidden oasis, offering a high level of tranquillity for those who enjoy hotel service but with the privacy that garden apartments allow. Enjoy our BBQ, situated in our gardens, overlooking the pool. You could give pleasure to your friends or family cooking your barbecue With its privileged site and setting, abundant and harmonious spaces, the hotel La Residencia del Paseo gives you the best of the Dominican Republic for an unforgettable vacation experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Budget Places so you can book your La Residencia del Paseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residencia Del Paseo Hotel Las Terrenas
La Residencia Del Paseo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing