We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient location but dirty room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Residencia del Paseo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Residencia del Paseo
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Las Terrenas
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Convenient location but dirty room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Hotel Residencia Paseo is conveniently located but not located on Calle Duarte as stated. We drove on Calle Duarte but couldn't find it. It's actually located on another street that I can't remember (we drove around and just stumbled upon the hotel). When we asked the receptionist about this, she acknowledged this and said that Las Terranas is crazy that way. She only spoke Spanish but she was nice and gave us a "better room". However, the "better room" was dirty. There was hair on the bathroom floor and everything was old and outdated. The room was like a loft; you had to take narrow stairs to get to the bed. This might be ok for some people but I'm a bit clumsy and the stairs are a bit narrow. What if you have to use the toilet at night? The pool did look nice and the receptionist was friendly. We were only there for one night so didn't make a big deal about the state of the room but I definitely wouldn't return there. As others have said, its a nice exterior and convenient location but the rooms are just not worth staying in. I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yi Ting C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    65
    17
    15
    15
See reviews for
39
44
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I was very pleased with everything except the bathroom. The property is gorgeous and has a swimming pool. The location is great- about a block from the beach and in the center of town close to restaurants, shops, and tour operators. The room we had was complete with a fridge, stove, dishes, and sink and had a balcony covered with a screen so bugs don't get in. But, the bathroom was not as clean as I would've liked it to be- it looked like someone did try to clean it but didn't put any effort into it. There were random hairs and the toilet was stained. I asked for another room with a cleaner bathroom but the receptionist said they were fully booked, which I doubt was true. But other than the bathroom I thought it was pretty decent (although for $63 a night, I would expect more for my money).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seemz41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Having stayed at several hotels all over the island, my expectations weren't that high of this hotel but I was nonetheless disappointed. The exterior is beautiful, lots of wood went into the construction and the grounds are very well kept. However, the interior was nothing to write home about. I was on a third floor room with an interior "staircase" to get up to the second room. The stairs were more like a ladder they were so steep and the stairs extremely narrow. Quite dangerous if you decided to go down to the washroom at night. The kitchen is only accessible thru the balcony or over a counter that divides it from the rest of the room, not too useful when you've got the a/c on to keep the place cool. The A/C worked well but was quite noisy. And since I paid extra, I had a/c and "hot" water. The water was at best lukewarm and the shower tiny with the curtain rod held up by a chain tied to the roof. If you pulled just a tad too hard, one side would come off and the curtain would slip off. One morning there was no water and when informed, the manager almost rudely informed us that he was aware of the problem and was waiting for the technician. The upstairs bed (Queen or King) was comfortable but the 2 twins on the first floor were very soft and you could feel the springs in some places. Location-wise, it's quite good, located behind a plaza that's right across the street from the beach. No beach chairs there though so either sit on your towel in the sun or walk down to the right about 400-500m and rent one. For dinner, definitely go to Restaurante La Yuca. Great pizza, good pasta and very nice service.

So overall, it was ok for a short weekend stay but I wouldn't have spent a longer period there. For someone looking for a less expensive option and doesn't mind the abovementioned details, then go ahead.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a screen on the balcony to limit the mosquitoes that can get in. Different room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PuntaCanaKateP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This hotel is situated on the main street of Las Terrenas. Its very close to the beach (2 minutes walk). I stayed there during High Season (Holly Week) and the Hotel was quiet. The staff is very friendly and respectful. My room had a little kitchen and it was fully equiped. The hotel is not beachfront but it has a nice pool. Close to the hotel you can find nice stores, boulangeries and minimarkets. The area is sometimes busy but its safe. Finally what I can tell you is that in Terrenas you can find frontbeach exclusive hotels but in a higher price. If you want to save some cash or if you simply don't need to be in the most trendy hotel of the area, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Good service and friendly attention. The rooms are clean and quiet. It has an excellent location, close to a wide range of restaurants and souvenir shops

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kattchme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Is an exotic place and the staff serves well.
Go visit las Terrenas, you´ll love it

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubupanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

A very good value option. Very clean, everything you need to feel confortable and haver fun. Near to the beach and to the restaurants in a place of dream.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerardo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palococo
Hotel Palococo
#32 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casino Niza
Hotel Casino Niza
#25 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#18 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aligio Aparthotel & Spa
Aligio Aparthotel & Spa
#17 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
#8 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Rincon De Abi
El Rincon De Abi
#7 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residencia del Paseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residencia del Paseo

Property: La Residencia del Paseo
Address: El Paseo de la Costanera, Las Terrenas | Calle Juan Pablo Duarte 272, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residencia del Paseo 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residencia del Paseo Located in the heart of Las Terrenas, Samana, only 50 meters away from all restaurants, bars, shops and an amazing tropical white sandy beach, the Residencia del Paseo Apart Hotel is a true hidden oasis, offering a high level of tranquillity for those who enjoy hotel service but with the privacy that garden apartments allow. Enjoy our BBQ, situated in our gardens, overlooking the pool. You could give pleasure to your friends or family cooking your barbecue With its privileged site and setting, abundant and harmonious spaces, the hotel La Residencia del Paseo gives you the best of the Dominican Republic for an unforgettable vacation experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Budget Places, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Residencia del Paseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residencia Del Paseo Hotel Las Terrenas
La Residencia Del Paseo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing