We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful clean, safe hotel”
Review of Hotel Alisei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alisei
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed one week March 16-23. Spacious clean suites. The bed was firm, but not uncomfortable. Our anniversary was marked by the cleaning crew decorating our unit with fresh flowers. Nice touch. The grounds were well kept. Reception staff was helpful. Baraonda restaurant on location was good. Their employees very friendly & helpful. Included breakfast was basically the same offerings every day but you can pick different things each morning (I recommend the pancakes).
Location is good as beach is across street with plenty of lounge chairs. You can walk to Fisherman's village & beyond but don't recommend at night. Too dark, no sidewalk. We are already planning a return visit and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in 46 (building 4 - 6th unit), 2nd floor, very rear of resort grounds. Our view was of the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 566 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I had been reading about the Las Terrenas area for a while and due to the great reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor, we booked for 10 nights in February 2013. From the time we checked in (and was upgraded) to the time we left, we had nothing but great things to say about our stay. The owners/managers are always around and quietly checking on things throughout the day. The hotel property is very well kept, the pool area is great with nice relaxing music playing at the pool bar.

The beach directly across from this hotel is rocky but great for snorkeling. A short walk in either direction will offer you long stretches of almost deserted beach, with great areas for swimming. There is a reef, so the waves never get too big here.

Breakfast is included every morning, with a big variety of fresh pastries, meats, fresh fruit and a hot station for your choice of fried eggs, omellettes, crepes etc.

The same on site restaurant serves great lunches and dinners as well.

Only a 10 minute walk along the beach or beach road takes you into the town of Las Terrenas and the first bunch of restaurants at the Fisherman's Village. We walked into town a number of times to get groceries, do some banking at the Scotia Bank, visit restaurants and the fish market and generally be a part of this busy little town.

We rented an ATV'/Quad for 3 days and that was fantastic! We were able to travel all over the area, including trips to other beaches and towns. One favourite day was taking a quad ride to Coson Beach where we played in the big waves and had lunch at Louis, virtually a shack on the beach that serves ice cold beer, great drinks and an amazing lunch of fresh lobster, fish, fries, beans and rice, salad and lots of other things. Too much food to eat and the price was great!

We will be back to the La Terrenas area again next year, and we'll stay a the Hotel Alisei again as well. What a trip!

Room Tip: We didn't see all of the rooms but I can say the 2 bed, 2 bath room on the third floor was spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A very well run and beautiful facility with daily maid service in your own condo with lovely covered veranda facing ocean. Fully equipped kitchen, pool, Spa, restaurant. The town is walking distance with excellent restaurant and little shops. Very inexpensive vacation for what you get. The owners of Alisei do a super job. Also, you can now fly into a local airport direct on Jet Blue out of JFK.

Room Tip: We had unit 18 in the second building and it was great. The second or third floors have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank poncelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just a mile away from the crowdy center of las Terrenas and in front of the beach, this place is simply wonderful. The rooms/appartments are well decorated and modern, the restaurant is great, the swiminig pool is refreshing ... all is great. Then comes the personnel that makes it all even greater. Not often have we experienced such service-minded employees (and not only on this island where tourists can sometimes feel teated like catle) who really make you feel special and relaxed. Is you don't mind being on the somehow higher end of pricing, this is really a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can affort it, opt for the big - 2 levels - appartment facing the restaurant (sleeps 4 adults...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nikitheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very well maintained and operated hotel. The Rooms were in near perfect condition as were the grounds and restaurant. This is the Hotel that you always want at your destination, but seldom get. Grounds and room service were impecable. Twice I needed room service and they were there within several minutes. Very attractive facitlty with nicely detailed rooms, which were actually suites, with bedrooms, large sheltered balconies and large living room. Very nice bathrooms with great shower and lighing. Guests from all over the world, with a large portion from France. Add all this up and you have a destination that should quite expensive. On the contrary,this was one of the best values I have ever received at a hotel.

Room Tip: Multiple buildings all 3 story. No elevators, but if you can climb the stairs the 3rd floor offers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We very much loved our stay with 3 small kids at the Alisei. Las Terrenas is a fun place with beautiful beaches and some incredible restaurant. It is also one of the few places in the DR that is where hotels are not self-contained, shut off from local Dominicans. If you stay at Alisei you will experience and appreciate what the DR is all about. If you prefer being away from locals, with buffet meals, and long lines for drink - the Alisei might not be for you.

We really liked the layout, the garden, the pool/pool bar, the great food at the restaurant (truly excellent), the proximity to other restaurants and the town (while still far enough away), the friendly staff and management (thanks Imke!) , the nice chill music, the good beds and pillows, big rooms, kitchen and the great value. Upkeep of the place is very good and proper food hygiene standards. There's is also a nice mix of low-key people staying here.

They could make some minor improvements: the lighting in the rooms (quite dark), maybe use a comforter instead of a blanket, better internet (it works very well in some places). Service is extremely friendly but can be slow in the restaurant at peak times (typical everywhere in Las Terrenas so no big deal).

The beach is great - and it is not difficult to find a lounger - but there are some rocky areas so beach shows not a bad idea. Snorkeling is good on the second reef - not so good closer to the beach. many other nice beaches (Coson our favorite) are nearby but some require transportation. I also suggest taking mosquito spray/plug (easily bought at the supermarket in town) as they do come after sundown.

If you want a relaxing, non all-in crowd, more local experience that delivers on its promise - you can't go wrong with Alisei.

Room Tip: We had 41 which is in the back corner and perhaps not the best positioned 2 bedroom (no view). We di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erik567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is located across from the beach. The place is medium size so everything is near by.
The apartments are very nice and comfortable. The food at the restaurant is amazing.
The pool area is great. The customer service is a plus, especially at the reception desk Miskaury.
Also the people at the restaurant are very helpful.
Very honest people, my son forget his tennis shoes and they call me to go back to get it.
I will be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Resort-Expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
3.0 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
471 reviews
1.7 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
#9 of 35 in Las Terrenas
248 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Dolce Vita Residence
La Dolce Vita Residence
#14 of 35 in Las Terrenas
85 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alisei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alisei

Address: Calle de la playa | Francisco Alberto Camaño Deñó, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#4 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $120 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alisei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Beach Front Apartments, where life is a breeze. Hotel Alisei consists of 54 brand new apartments with en-suite bathroom(s), private access and spacious terrace. Decorated in stylish Caribbean elegance with rich tropical hard wood furniture, king size bed(s) and/or single beds, fine fabrics in soft tones and a cozy integrated seating and kitchen area with plenty of colorful pillows. Tall glass doors lead to a large private terrace with enchanting ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alisei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisei Hotel Las Terrenas
Hotel Alisei Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing