We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem...”
Review of Hotel Alisei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alisei
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A hidden gem...”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

A fantastic hotel, just off the beach. It appears to be fairly recently built and with great eye for detail.

We got a complimentary upgrade (which was not mentioned, but well appreciated) and had a room on the ground floor next to the swimming pool (which has a bar in it!). We never experienced any issues with being so close to the pool, as it was not crowded, even though the hotel was full.

The restaurant is good quality for breakfast as well as dinner and there are some nice restaurants nearby as well. You can walk there, but I recommend taking a moto concho, a ride on the back of the motor of the "taxi driver". Also possible with two persons!

The spa was amazing, and I still regret only going there just once. Price wise it was very attractive as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Th0master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    125
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
164
246
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed in Alisei for almost 10 days. We picked it because of the reviews we read here in Trip Advisor.

The hotel is in a great location, a 10 minute drive and you are already in the center of the town Las Terenas. And to go to the beach you just cross the street. The beach is very beautiful aqua blue. But in that beach in front of the hotel there is a coral so, there isn't a lot of room to swim there but, you can either walk or drive to the right or left and there are other good beaches where you don't have the problem with the coral. We went to the left to playa Las Ballenas. We sat with our towels in the shade of a coconut tree and had some snacks, then went in the water which was very refreshing :) 

Round the area there are a lot of tours that you can take. We did the one of the Limón Waterfall with Rancho Santi and we went to Los Haitises with Flora Tours. Both very very good tours.

It's peaceful only that sometimes, especially in the mornings there are a lot of street salesman that want to talk you into buying their merchandise: paintings, decorative elements and other. They will insist a lot, but they're just trying to make a living.

The apt where we stayed in was very well decorated and distributed. Looked just like in the pictures. Every apt has its own balcony with a hammock. Everything worked well except for the white doors with screeners that led to the balcony and the doors in the bathroom that led to a little area where one could hang clothes to dry them out. The doors where very difficult to close.

Our apt had air conditioning in the bedroom. It worked perfect. And in the other areas there were fans that also worked fine. We did have to turn them on sometimes because in that time there were a lot of Mosquitos. Important to have repellent and if your skin is sensitive also sun screen for the beach.

The cleaning ladies cleaned everyday in the morning. and in the first two days they even left flowers and used a very beautiful cleaning thing that had a beautiful scent. As days went by they stopped leaving flowers but always cleaned up well.

The apt has its own kitchen well equipped, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, everything you need to cook. There Are several supermarkets in Las Terrenas. The big one is Supermercado Lindo. I think they open early in the morning at 8, close for lunch break at 12 and re open at 3. There you can get good food.

the hotel has a restaurant called Baraonda. We had breakfast included and ate there. They serve it from 7 to 10:30 I think...the food was good, we usually got omelets, waffles, salami, manú, bread, and fried sweet plantains. Love those. they had a variety of juices, coffee and tea.

The staff of the restaurant was very very kind. Always smiled at us. That was really nice, same as the staff at night where we sometimes had dinner. The food is not bad but it great. The Parmesan eggplant was really good.

The good thing is that there are a lot of other restaurants in that area, so you have a lot of choices. I suggest you always have cash cayuse there are some restaurants that don't take credit cards. Not all of them but some.

In town there are some banks with ATMs in case you need to get cash. The ones I saw were  a Scotiabank, Banreservas, Popular and Progreso.  We rented a four wheeler. It's very useful to do so. We only had to fill it up once and used it a lot. We transported ourselves everywhere. There are pharmacies and gift shops everywhere in town too in case you want to buy souvenirs. There are also taxi services in case you are going somewhere far.  

What else? Oh yes, the pool is great whether you swim in the morning or at night is really really nice. It right in front of the spa, which is also very good. The staff there was very nice too. After a massage they would ask us if we wanted tea. It was very good tea in a very nice environment with relaxing music.

Just always have a bug repellent with you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LACM555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel, FL
Level Contributor
273 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Rooms have limited views of the beach, but are just a quick walk to the beach. Rooms were spacious, water was hot, beds were comfortable. AC is in the bedroom only, if you leave the door open the living room/kitchen stays cool. The pool is nice with some shady areas. Staff are friendly. Complimentary breakfast is nice: cooked to order eggs, lots of fruit, fresh juice, breakfast meats etc. Location is a quick quad ride to the restaurants. I'd return here anytime.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmore2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We've been at Alisei for 1week during our travelling around holiday in the Samanà peninsula. Reviews in TA have been confirmed since for us Alisei it's for us the best location in LT starting from which you can explore both LT and the Samanà peninsula. The hotel is composed by some three-floors buildings located in a beautiful tropical garden few step form the beach and with a fantastic sea view. You can lazy both directly on the beach (Alisei's stuff equipped) or the sw-pool of the hotel (jacuzzi included) or, if you like to walk, you can take 10min walk to colibrì beach (to west) or 20min walk to punta popi beach (to east): this amazing walk on the beach is all the seafront of LT. Every room is kitchen equipped (large fridge, mixer, burner, water dispenser, etc.) with a large bathroom and terrace (small garden if you're on the ground floor) where you can lazy both on the sofa and the hammock sea view (amazing!).
The staff is very kind and you'll find a wide continental breakfast (try coconut cookies and the home-made jam!). We've had lunch/dinner also and the service/stuff is quite good (even if sometimes you've to wait to much compared to other std). The hotel has got also a small central SPA whre you can fine a wide range of beauty/massage treatments at competitive prices. Last but not least to be remarket the fantastic late check out service with room left 3h later than check out set time.
We've travelled around also in other LT locations (Coson, Bonita, etc.) but we think this is the strategic accomodation with good price/quality ratio to spend you hol in LT.
Suggestion: if you want (you must!) discover other Samanà beaches rent an ATV till Limon, Samanà-Levantado or Gagua (easy driving max 30min) but if you want to go to Las Galeras rent a car (it's to far for driving all the day an ATV, you'll be back with you back broken... :).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cohiba77_valpongo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Great beachfront hotel in Las Terrenas. Extremely clean facilities and Room. We stayed in a Penthouse unit. Which was spacious with a king size bed and fridge and water cooler. Restaurant and lounge were very good. Breakfast is included and was delicious. Big buffet breakfast. Made to order omelette station, fresh fruit, ham, cheese, pancakes, sausage, toast and assorted bread, as well as platains. Fresh fruit juices, coffee and hot chocolate as well. Hotel has a nice swim up bar in pool, great lounge chairs. The spa is also very nice. Staff was pleasant.
Will definitely stay here again when in Las terrenas!! Close to town..and many great restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naod21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abroad
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel was an ideal choice. It is a convenient location which is near enough to the town to be convenient but far enough to avoid all of the noise and traffic. The hotel grounds are beautifully maintained and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The level of service is exceptional from the housekeepers to the servers to the reception. The breakfast options are ample and the restaurant is beautiful. The hotel is located across the street from a beach, so clients can choose between the pool, beach, or heading elsewhere. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abroadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We had two Type V villas (loft) for 9 adults. The rooms were beautiful! great lounge area. I did not sleep on the sofa but I was told it is very comfortable. so not just for kids. We walked to town for dinner. There are many choices of restaurants and bars in town of Las Terranas. Nice walk along the beach at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWei00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
3.0 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 34 in Las Terrenas
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 34 in Las Terrenas
467 reviews
1.7 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#9 of 34 in Las Terrenas
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
#7 of 34 in Las Terrenas
240 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#13 of 34 in Las Terrenas
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
#10 of 34 in Las Terrenas
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alisei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alisei

Property: Hotel Alisei
Address: Calle de la playa (Beach Side Street) | Francisco Alberto Camaño Deñó, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#4 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alisei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Beach Front Apartments, where life is a breeze. Hotel Alisei consists of 54 brand new apartments with en-suite bathroom(s), private access and spacious terrace. Decorated in stylish Caribbean elegance with rich tropical hard wood furniture, king size bed(s) and/or single beds, fine fabrics in soft tones and a cozy integrated seating and kitchen area with plenty of colorful pillows. Tall glass doors lead to a large private terrace with enchanting ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Vacatia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alisei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisei Hotel Las Terrenas
Hotel Alisei Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing