We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dominican Republic Honey in Las Terrenas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Dolce Vita Residence
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dominican Republic Honey in Las Terrenas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We traveled to Santo Domingo to meet up with our daughter interning at the Canadian Embassy for the summer. While we loved our escape one weekend to our first all-inclusive at Natura Park Beach Resort in Punta Cana, our visit to Las Terrenas and the La Dolce Vita Residence was our kind of vacation.
A quick 2 hour bus trip from Santo Domingo brought us within walking distance of the hotel. We were quickly and warmly received at the registration kiosk and were taken to our unbelievable unit-a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom 'villa' overlooking the gorgeous Caribbean, and the hotel's pool, and beautifully maintained grounds. We had a kitchen, indoor living room, and outdoor dining area with an additional sitting area which I really enjoyed using to read while I waited for 'the girls' to awake.
The beach is gorgeous with very little seaweed, and you can walk in this community feeling safe. The restaurants are fabulous and the hotel had it's own restaurant. We didn't use it but it was always busy....we walked into town to enjoy restaurants right on the beach. Great value anywhere you went.
We were just there for 2 nights and we had the best side trip. We rode horses to the waterfalls in Limon (Limon Falls!!!). We organized a $30 package (each) to take the horse ride, enjoy an unbelievable swim right under the falls (perfectly guided by 2 Dominican Republic lads, followed by a great lunch at the host restaurant. WHAT AN ADVENTURE FROM START TO FINISH!!! One warning....it's very easy to take a bus from right in front of our hotel to Limon. We didn't realize that transportation to Limon wasn't included an took a taxi organized by the hotel ($60 for a 15 minute ride return!!!). It was our fault for not figuring it out so we paid. Either take the bus, or negotiate a better price.
OTHERWISE....the continental breakfast brought to our 'patio' each morning was great and we could not have had a better location, or better accommodations at what I considered an extremely reasonable rate.

Room Tip: If you want a 2 bedroom unit, Room 8 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GopherGolfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    23
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
29
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel was by far my favourite place to stay because of its well presented facilities, spacious terrace and comfortable room- not to mention good sized pool and on-site restaurant- literally a stone's throw away from the beach. Las Terranes itself is a small but characterful little town with cosy eateries and bustling bars full of locals, overlooking the most stunning coastlines and sandy white beaches I have every seen. The tides comes in so far, you can practically roll into the warm waters of the Caribbean!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is very well located, but also quiet, no matter a lot of night places near. The beach is in front, but the best ones are outside the town. The rooms are well done, but look that has some time already, no matter well maintained. All the stuff works and when need something arrived fast and easy. Is not a luxury place, but more than enough for vacations with a fair price. Recommended to any kind of groups.

Room Tip: If negotiate with owners will get some little discount in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfregil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

My husband and I have been at this hotel three times in the last year. We live in La Romana , Dom . Rep. and we travel three and a half hours to Las Terrenas. La Dolce Vita is an apartment building. It has 1,2 and 3 bedroom apartments, with 1,2 or three bathrooms accordingly. A modest kitchen, but complete, with stove some have ovens and the kitchen utensils. The restaurant at the entrance is managed by an italian father and son team, who have been in the restaurant business for years. The italian grandfather was also a restaurateur. The food is great, traditional italian food from pasta to seafood. The wine selection is also very good. The beach is public, it means you can go anywhere you want to go. There are restaurants at the beach. You order your food, you go swimming and they call you when your food is ready. When we are there, we do not want to be anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jramon1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#4 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
#6 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
#12 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
2.3 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#21 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dolce Vita Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita Residence

Property: La Dolce Vita Residence
Address: Calle 27 de febrero, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Dolce Vita Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your La Dolce Vita Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Residence Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing