We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful little hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casas del Mar Neptunia
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful little hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

An affordable and peaceful oasis amidst the wonderful madness that is Las Terrenas, and so perhaps the best of all worlds. Within easy walking distance of the beach and town (restaurants, shops, rentals, tour companies, etc). The rooms surround the central palapas meeting place/eating place and are separated by beautiful gardens- giving each room a sense of privacy greater than one would expect. Colourful folk art furniture, louvered windows, outdoor shower, great layout, and the easy going nature of the place finish off the lovely ambience of Casa del Mar Neptunia. The staff were wonderful and so was the interesting mix of laid-back international travelers staying there. Jim, the proprietor, was helpful, knowledgeable and personable. Thanks for a wonderful five days Jim!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We appreciate your effort and the kind words in your review. Helping guests is the most rewarding part of running the hotel. A few minutes of useful information can save people a lot of time and help them avoid disappointments. It is so nice to hear that my suggestions or recommendations helped provide enjoyable experiences at a restaurant close by or adventures on the peninsula. Our location does make that easier. Our staff enjoyed sharing your smiles and doing their part to help keep you smiling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    34
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
66
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I just spent a week at Casas del Mar Neptunia and can't say enough good about it. It's unique because you're staying in a small, quaint, rustic cabana instead of the typical hotel room. The cabanas are laid out in a circle so it feels like a small community. I traveled alone and met some very nice interesting folks from all over the world. In the center of the small complex is the tropically designed palapa where breakfast is served every morning. Another plus is the location, just a few steps from the beach, and in walking distance from anywhere you want to go. Another great benefit is Jim, the owner, who goes out of his way to help and inform, and sometimes does tours to other parts of the Samana peninsula. His staff is equally as friendly and helpful, and watch over the place day and night to insure your security. All this for an
incredibly reasonable price. It was a totally enjoyable experience thanks to Jim and his super
staff. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Tell Jim what you're looking for. A couple of the cabana's have small kitchen facilities, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for submitting your review and of course for staying with us. It is always a pleasure to help our guests get the most from their time in Las Terrenas and since you told us in advance what your main interests were it was easy to arrange the necessary arrangements to help you enjoy your stay here and we are very glad it all worked out so well. The staff and other guests enjoyed the conversations you shared and appreciated you as much as you appreciated them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Las Terrenas is a maze of hotels, restaurants and street madness. Finding a place 20 meters from the beach, in a relatively quiet location and walking distance to all the restaurants is a challenge. However, we found this place; a series of tastefully decorated cabins surrounded by beautiful gardens. In the center there is the pleasant breakfast gazebo. Breakfast consist in delicious bread, a small fruit salad and jams. It lacks a little bit of protein (eggs).
All the staff members were gracious and helpful. The Canadian English-speaking owner, Jim, sat with us for almost an hour to give us ideas, suggestions and tips. He is very friendly.
This place has a great quality-price value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palomonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for submitting a review. It is always a pleasure to help with information, it helps ensure you get the most of your time here and helps you find restaurant suiting your price range and choice of foods. Our staff enjoys helping when needed and making sure you are comfortable and safe. We appreciate your patronage and agree that Las Terrenas can be a busy place, just outside of our quiet garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

nice quiet little retreat a block away from the beach.
rooms are basic, attractive and clean. No TV just the sounds of the carribean drifting through the shutters. pretty little central garden with palapa where a wonderful breakfast is served of fresh fruit, bread from the french bakery and good coffee and juice. owner is helpful, friendly and very accommodating. sit on your verandah and relax in the rocking chairs or walk to town or the beach. a great find for a very reasonable price

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank viajeragringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for writing a lovely review for us. It is a simple and basic hotel which we hope helps people relax. The fruit and bread are delivered daily, which helps with quality. The garden is a little sanctuary and we are so glad you found it relaxing. Thank you again for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have stayed here 3 times at the Casas del Mar Neptunia. The price and the super warm and friendly staff, are just 2 of many reasons of why I came back, again and again, not to mention that you are only within a short walking distance to the main beach of Las Terrenas and a slew of cafes and bistros. ***For example, I highly recommend Pizza Coco, an Italian place right next door for piping hot, wood-fired oven pizza and delicious pasta dishes, definitely one of the best places in town, especially for the price point and value for your money.*** The rooms at Casas del Mar Neptunia are decorated in your basic, laid-back style of the Caribbean,. with lots of cheerful, as well as colorful pastels. The breakfast, which is included in the price, consists of fresh baked French baguettes, fresh fruit, along with juices and coffee, all in a beautiful garden setting. Again, kudos to Jim and Suzanne and their entire staff for their hospitality and local island charm!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. We enjoy your visits and your friendly interactions with us, the staff and I know you have provided appreciated helpful information to other guests. We are always glad to hear that the decor and setting help people feel immersed in island life and that the location is convenient. Your stay this time was a little hectic, with a side trip to Puerto Rico squeezed into the middle of it, but you always have a smile and a friendly word. Thank you for your continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I found out about Casa del Mar Neptunia through trip advisors and I've got to say the extremely high rating it earns is completely warranted.
My Christmas trip was my first time travelling to the Dominican Republic and I was also travelling alone. As soon as I arrived on the extremely charming and well kept property I felt at ease. But, actually before I even ventured to the D.R., Jim and I had exchanged emails and he was a wealth of information that I genuinely appreciated. To say that Jim goes above and beyond to make his guests feel welcome and cared for is a complete understatement.
The week that I was there went by quickly and I can't wait to come back and linger over delicious coffee in the morning and talk with the incredibly sweet and helpful housekeeping staff.
If you are looking for a well situated, safe, clean and cheerful beachside hotel, I cannot recommend Casa del Mar Neptunia highly enough.
And thank you to Jim, Rosanna, Jenny and everybody else for making my stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. The staff enjoyed your visit, maybe not as much as you because they were working, but guests like you make those tasks more rewarding. The smiles in the photos taken with the staff reveal the connection that was made. I try to make as much time available as i can to help guests and first time visitors in particular, since information at the start can make the whole stay better, instead of you not finding that great restaurant or beach area until your last day. We are all so glad you chose our hotel and look forward to another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My partner and I travelled throughout most major cities in the DR and wanted to end off our holiday somewhere with local charm with decent restaurants. Swiftly after I sent an email to the owner Jim, he responded with extremely useful information about his hotel and the area. We were sold and do not regret it. The hotel has all of your basic needs covered and if you need an extra blanket or anything at all the staff will try their best to accommodate you. I cannot say enough about the owner Jim. He was more than helpful in providing information we needed from inviting us to a Holiday supper on the beach to helping us arrange a tour of Samana and getting us off the airport on time. He had even checked to see if our flight had been delayed to be able to squeak in a few more hours at the beach. The breakfast in the morning was scrumptious considering the extremely affordable room rates and we bought some local fresh cheese and yogurt to add to the fresh bread and fruit provided. The fresh mozzarella-type cheese is DELISCIOUS with the mango jam on baguette. The area is unique since it has some of the beautiful beaches I have visited yet has not been taken over by large hotel chains. Thanks SO much Jim and your wonderful staff. All the best in 2014 and I hope we see each other soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am proud of the staff and enjoy helping people get the most of their time in Las Terrenas. This beach town does offer some excellent restaurants and easy access to a number of different beaches, so I'm not surprised you enjoyed your meals and beach times, but it is always nice to hear. If you had more time, we could have helped you find more beautiful nature spots on the Samana peninsula, because I remeber how much you enjoyed your visit to Playas Coson and Bonita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.1 mi away
El Rincon De Abi
El Rincon De Abi
#6 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
#20 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.1 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#7 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Palococo
Hotel Palococo
#31 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas del Mar Neptunia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas del Mar Neptunia

Property: Casas del Mar Neptunia
Address: Calle Emilio Prud'homme #1, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Best Value Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casas del Mar Neptunia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic location, only a minute walk to the beach and five minutes walk to the town square, numerous restaurants, bars, and shops. Set in a lush tropical garden filled with a variety of the island's flowers and trees, attracting many hummingbirds and other colourful species. Friendly and helpful staff that take pride in the hotel's cleanliness. From the comfortable and charming rooms, french doors open to your porch where you can enjoy the peaceful beauty of the garden. Some guests like to have their breakfast served on their porch, while others prefer to eat in the common social lounge area, where travellers share information about their adventures or their dining experiences at one of the numerous restaurants located within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Casas del Mar Neptunia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casas Del Mar Neptunia Hotel Las Terrenas
Casas Del Mar Neptunia Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing