We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casas Del Mar Neptunia is worth the visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casas del Mar Neptunia
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here Feb.8th to 13th 2013...... It was our first trip to the Dominican and were a little leary regarding accommodations and safety. We brought our 13 year old son with us....Las Terranas is not a booming hot spot for night life but was perfect for us. Jim and Suzanne were incredible hosts and it was like staying at a friends house who gave you a key for your freedom but was there to aid in any way or answer any questions. The accommodations are clean, have cute little gecko guys to keep the bugs away, and the breakfasts are lovely. They include fresh fruit, fresh local bread, coffee, fresh orange juice, honey and fruit compote. We had the unit with the kitchen so boiled eggs and added them for a protein with our breakfasts.We also cooked a few suppers with local products and loved it! Our teen was a little bored. Snorkeling is not something exciting in DR in general compared to other places ( Maui, Cuba). Suzanne did however have boogie boards that other visitors had left behind and generously offered him one. That was it. Boredom solved, he road the waves and had fun. The pizza place at the end of the lane was FABULOUS! Our Mr. Picky Pants kid ran down the lane almost everyday (alone!) to buy his own pizza.Location-perfect, hosts-perfect, cleanliness-perfect, breakfast-lovely, center palapa for meeting other travelers was a bonus. A lot of info gets exchanged here over coffee or drinks. We really enjoyed the dog Rubio (he stole my earplugs off the bedside stand and tried to eat them!!!LOL!!!) note: keep Rubio out of your room!!LOL!!! Seriously, he is adorable. Also felt good with the night watchman there all night. We asked him his name and he smiled and said , "Watchman"!!!LOL!!! I would go there again with just my hubby and leave the kid at home! The kid was REALLY into Cabarete however, the next stop on our journey! Since our visit, 2 sets of friends have stayed there and loved it as well. We are all from Canada.....

Room Tip: There is only one room with an attached kitchen.The complex is located next to where the tourist pol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tige-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne S, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thanks for your kind and humorous review. We are glad your stay was so enjoyable and that the location provided easy access to all the things you needed. Rubio is easily encouraged to become a friend, but he never forgets his job is help protect our guests. Some of our beach toys are for children or for two or more, but the body boards can keep one teen happy, at least for a little while. We do all we can to help and enjoy doing it, thanks again for letting us help you enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 166 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

This small hotel, tucked away just minutes' walk from the beach road along a palm-fringed bay on the Atlantic ocean, is a delightful retreat in an otherwise scruffy and busy coastal town with obvious growing pains. Nine rooms in five buildings circle a palm tiki hut with lounge chairs and tables where breakfast is served, all in a very pretty and well kept garden - an oasis in the town's sometimes annoyingly intrusive and touristic atmosphere. The rooms are basic, spacious, with good bathroom facilities, and all cleaned daily. Breakfast is plenty, healthy, leisurely and with that excellent Dominican coffee! The staff is very friendly, courteous and helpful. 
To top it off, the on-site Canadian, English-speaking owners, Jim and Suzanne, manage the property hands-on, yet with all the time they can find to pour out of their seemingly unending knowledge and information about things to do, places to go and what to eat, where to buy what, making telephone calls to get the right information, and if they don't know they may link you up with other guests who do. Suzanne's pre-arrival information by e-mail about bus service to Las Terrenas, where to get off the bus etc., etc. was prompt and precise. On the morning of my departure, Jim got up two hours before regular breakfast time to prepare coffee and a fruit bowl so that I wouldn't travel on an empty stomach on the bus trip to Santo Domingo. Touché!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank PeeWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne S, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you so much for the detailed review. We previously were travelers so we understand the importance of assistance with travel information and we sincerely care about the experience our guests have during their stay and not just at the hotel itself, but on excursions, in the restaurants, shopping or relaxing at one of the beaches. We are very grateful for your acknowledgement of our efforts and those of our staff and we are happy you enjoyed your stay here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you're the type to scuttle around snapping photos of every patch of damp to post on the internet, this is not the place for you (hello -- these hotels are all in the tropics, people!), but if you're looking for a beautiful, comfortable, private patch of tropical paradise, you will not do better than staying with Suzanne and Jim at one of their "casas" (if you're fortunate enough to book early enough to get a spot). The bungalows are comfortable, cleaned every day, private and very quiet at night. The continental breakfast is more than enough to start each day. The staff are truly wonderful and obviously very happy to be there. This was my first trip to the Dominican Republic and I researched for three months before booking. We made our choice based on other people's reviews and our hosts' prompt, informative, cheerful responses to my numerous emails. They were bang on with every single recommendation and bit of info, whether it was regarding restaurants, prices, stores, safety, excursions, anything at all! Not surprisingly, this hotel just won an award for 2013. The only thing I'm concerned about is that Casas del Mar Neptunia will become super-busy based on word-of-mouth and I'll have to make my reservation a year in advance. :) We've started saving already to come back next year. Only 362 more days to go.

Room Tip: We stayed in #6. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne S, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

We enjoyed having you stay with us. You asked lots of good questions that showed you cared about the people here and the environment. We do our best to provide accurate information so your adventures will go smoothly, with surprises being only good ones. Knowing what to expect allows you to travel stress free and helps you avoid the pitfalls. All your research meant you could feel more comfortable right away, overcoming the language barrier with a few words, charades and smiles. We think your first trip to the DR was a big success and the island is also counting the days until your next visit. A big hola from the staff and other friends you made here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed four nights at Casas del Mar in Las Terrenas. The customer service started three weeks before we left home with Jim sending us perfect, detailed directions on how to get there on a bus from four hours away. First, the location of Casas del Mar is perfect. Your little oasis is only 1/4 block from the main road along the beach, yet you'd never know anything existed outside this quiet little enclave of eight simple, clean cottages. You are very safe there. Only one of the cabins has a little kitchen but all of the rooms have a mini-fridge. Across the road is a makeshift morning fish market on the beach that sells the many catches of the day. You can walk to anything in town. Everything is close, from high end to beach-shack restaurants, ATM, groceries, bars and shopping. You can walk or rent a scooter and spend several days canvassing the area. After a day soaking up the energy of this lively town, you will be so glad you can go back to your little, one room cottage at Casas del Mar. The grounds aren't big but the layout of tropical plants, trees and paths among the sprinkling of cabins make it feel more expansive and remarkably private. We had a ceiling fan which kept the room cool and a king bed with an extra single bed that served as a staging area for our suitcases (so handy) and a private bath with a hot shower. Closet space is fine. Rooms are airy with screened windows with wood slats that can be closed. Each cottage has a little front porch with a small table and chairs and two rocking chairs. Ziggy, the black and white "house" kitty made herself comfortable on one of our rockers. A treat for us. Breakfast was served in a round, outdoor palapa. It consisted of cut up fresh fruit, various kinds of fresh squeezed juices, fresh baked breads and hot coffee served with hot milk. Talking with travelers from around the world at breakfast is fun, interesting, enlightening and helpful, as are the hosts, Jim and Suzanne, who I think are secretly angels. Ask them anything. They know and won't steer you wrong. When we were leaving, we had to catch a cab at 6am to the bus stop at the other end of town. Suzanne called the cab the night before. He arrived the next morning at the lobby porch, on time. As wonderful as that was, JIM met us at our cabin at 5:45 that morning with a little pot of fresh coffee he made for us and two to-go cups. I mean, really? Oh, just stay here. You'll love it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5. It might have been the most private but they're all somewhat private anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandie947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne S, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank for the glowing review. It was pleasure having you as guests, your enjoyment was contagious. We know how hard it can be to get yourself started in the morning so an early cup of coffee is an understandable necessity. Although the world is a big place with lots of places to go and things to do, we do hope you will find your way back to our little oasis someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Lovely well groomed property with sweet affordable clean cabins.Excellent hosts. If Suzanne recommends anything to you - just go there or do it! She didn't steer us wrong once.
Jim & Suzanne make it easy for you to feel right at home & mingle with other guests if you choose-yet we still felt we had complete privacy when we wanted it.
Breakfast is a good serving of fresh fruit, fantastic breads & great coffee.
Overnight security on premises-though we were never concerned.
Very comfortable bed in cabin 3.
We have to move on for the last 5 days of our trip because Casas is fully booked-no surprise!
Great hosts, great staff, great property, great price. We would return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne S, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and sharing your experiences. We can make recommendations with confidence, from personal experience and the feedback we get from guests about the services, shops and restaurants we suggest. We feel lucky to be well located in Las Terrenas and well rewarded when we hear comments like "was that ever good" or "what an experience" Our staff appreciated your friendliness and we all look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Suzanne and Jim were wonderful hosts at these beautiful cottages steps away from the beach AND from town. Their trusted taxi driver Toni, yes with an "i" , is gentle, safe, and more than dependable. He took us to Playa Coson, our favorite beach, to Luis's (restaurant serving lobster, shrimp, fish and chicken, and anything else you want (french fries)) on multiple occasions. He came to get us an hour early on one windy cooler day to see if we wanted to go early. We stayed in room #4 for 8 nights. Was a little shell shocked the first day without air conditioning, but after I adjusted, I was even cool at night, needing my covers. My family and I were so glad we stayed here, since it allows you to immerse yourself in the Dominican culture as much as you like. We shopped all over town without problem, even though 90% of the town speaks NO english. We could make do with sign language, and pen and paper. Loved the breakfasts of bread , fruit, great Dominican coffee, and jam. The staff there is more than gracious. Was sad to leave, and would consider a longer stay. Suzanne and Jim and their dog Rubio went out of there way to make sure we were welcome and kept track better than we did of our daily activities.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chesterista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne S, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

We certainly remember your stay with us, you were a little tentative at first, but seemed to turn into a Dominican ambassador pretty quickly and that was very nice to see. We were not actually monitoring your activities, we just wanted to see if we could help beforehand and enjoyed hearing about your adventures or dining experiences after. Your stories were interesting on their own and we appreciate information we can pass on to other guests, like the fun and value of your ATV hill tour and it was always good to know that you did enjoy the restaurants we thought you would. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Meet at the airport by Jim and Local driver Tony 40 minute stunning drive along new empty coastal highway to sleepy fishing village of Los Terrenas and Casa del Mar Neptunia 100 mtrs up lane from beautiful beach ,set in a tropical garden our cottage was perfect .we stayed 6 nights enjoying fabulous breakfasts DR coffee ( took beans home) best breads n fruit salad and company Susanne and Jim's recommendations spot on Morning 4 mile beach walks helped work of the French inspired Seafood Dinners from affordable beach side Resturants, Staff friendly and helpful family feel. Good vibes. We're be back

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne S, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank you for lovely review. We always share the comments with our staff so they know their efforts are appreciated. Not many guests are as enthusiastic as you about a 4 mile walk every morning, glad you enjoyed the nature and the town as you walked and that it added to your enjoyment of Las Terrenas. Most guests do share your enthusiasm for seafood meals and enjoy the fact that there are so many good restaurants within a much shorter walk of the hotel. We know we can trust the quality at the restaurants we recommend so it is easy to suggest places to eat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Palococo
Hotel Palococo
#25 of 35 in Las Terrenas
75 reviews
2.1 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#9 of 35 in Las Terrenas
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Residencia del Paseo
La Residencia del Paseo
#27 of 35 in Las Terrenas
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Rincon De Abi
El Rincon De Abi
#11 of 35 in Las Terrenas
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
#10 of 35 in Las Terrenas
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Costarena Beach Hotel
Costarena Beach Hotel
#19 of 35 in Las Terrenas
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas del Mar Neptunia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas del Mar Neptunia

Address: Calle Emilio Prud'homme #1, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $45 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casas del Mar Neptunia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic location, only a minute walk to the beach and five minutes walk to the town square, numerous restaurants, bars, and shops. Set in a lush tropical garden filled with a variety of the island's flowers and trees, attracting many hummingbirds and other colourful species. Friendly and helpful staff that take pride in the hotel's cleanliness. From the comfortable and charming rooms, french doors open to your porch where you can enjoy the peaceful beauty of the garden. Some guests like to have their breakfast served on their porch, while others prefer to eat in the common social lounge area, where travellers share information about their adventures or their dining experiences at one of the numerous restaurants located within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casas del Mar Neptunia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casas Del Mar Neptunia Hotel Las Terrenas
Casas Del Mar Neptunia Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing