We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel,great staff, very good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed here 4 nights in a 1BR unit which was VERY spacious and more than adequate.

STAFF : Were all great and help with all questions. When we brought our coffee maker and broken corkscrew down they were replaced within 10 minutes !! Cleaning staff, security staff etc were all great. No complaints. Also met a number of nice people in the resort which made it more personal. Mike/Sandy and Andre/Francoise I hope we will see you both again.

FACILITIES : Lovely little beach bar across the street and lovely restaurant next door which we only went to for a drink(appeared to only be open during the day). Pool was great and quiet and open till 10 PM. The grounds looked the be the nicest of all the hotels we saw in the area. Place was very secure which is clearly necessary in Las Terrenas. Felt 100% safe at all times.

ROOMS : Good size, clearly showing it's age a little but nonetheless clean. The gas burner stove worked fine but was a bit aged. Utensils for the kitchen were fine and had all we needed.
Beds were hard (however to be fair, they were no harder than at the 5-star resort we stayed at in Samana). Pillows were a bit lumpy, but not a big deal. Balcony was very spacious and free WiFi worked great. Both the rooms and resort as a whole were not done justice by the photos on the internet.

All in all, very good value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdesmond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 255 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2011

The location just outside of Las Terrenas, is perfect. It's on a beautiful white-sand beach, with a nice reef less than 100m from shore. The apartments are inside a secure compound, containing parking, a swimming pool, and lots of nicely maintained tropical vegetation. Our apartment had a kitchen/living area, with all the trimmings (even a corkscrew), a bathroom, and bedroom with A/C unit. The ceiling fans were a little noisy, but useable. The staff were helpful and friendly. Everything was very clean and tidy. As in many Latin American countries, the armed guards start showing up around dusk....but in this case, I don't think they were really needed. Nearby restaurants were excellent, if somewhat pricey. We stopped at a supermercado in town for supplies, eating some meals in...very relaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Checkin was great - friendly and efficient staff.

Location is in a quiet and bit upscale part of town and on a great beach, that is quite calm. A few pricey restaurants nearby, and 2 stores a bit of a walk away. Secured parking.

Room 18 was great, because of the great view from the huge balcony. Mattresses were quite poor. Kitchen had dishware, crockery and cutlery but not in good shape - dull knives and can openers.

Bathrooms could be a bit more updated, but still decent. We paid $168 per night.

Pool was nice enough. Landscaping was quite nice.

Room Tip: Room 18
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdynumnum43214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Having read the many positive comments we thought we would try this place and glad that we did.
The drive from the airport takes about an hour and includes a slow but scenic drive across the mountains before you arrive in Las Terrenas. Playa Colibri is right on the beach about a kilometre from the town of Las Terrenas. The room are very clean and the staff are helpful. There is not a lot of English spoken in this area since many of the visitors are French but the desk staff here do speak English. The grounds are well kept with lots of shrubs, flowers and palm trees and a good size pool.
This is a good place for people not seeking a lot of entertainment,since it is quiet after dark. It seemed safe at night walking along the beach road to nearbye restaurents but we did not walk the full distance into town. There are good restaurents nearbye, particularly Le Thalassa by the roadside fish market. We did walk into town in the day, it is an interesting place to look around and we shopped at the supermarket for groceries.
We did the trip to the El Limon waterfall, the ride there and back is not for the faint of heart particularly if if has rained and the trail is muddy,but the falls make it worthwhile.
We also did the trip across Samana Bay to the natural park of Los Haitises with its bird islands and caves. The one disappointment was a snorkelling trip to Cayos Las Balenas - not a lot of fish and poor visibility on the particular day. We also rode as passengers on mopeds to the nearby beaches of Playa Bonita and Playa Coson, both fabulous beaches and scarcely anyone on them. We had fish cooked for us on the beach by a local at Playa Bonita. (At present you cannot walk from the the Las Terrenas beach to Playa Bonita -some issues of land rights).
We would defintely go back some time. Again it is not a place for the party crowd but if you like terrific scenery and unspoiled beaches, somewhere a little off the beaten path, then this is a great destination

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandK-Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Paradise in the Dominican Republic
Our family spent fourteen days of happiness in Las Terrenas. We stayed at the Hotel Playa Colibri which we want to recommend to all of you. Peace and calm, in a beautiful tropical garden, with a gorgeous swimming pool and right on the best beach, fine white sand and clear water protected from the waves by a coral reef. My husband and our two small kids enjoyed it thoroughly.

The hotel is lovely, we had a nice apartment with two bedrooms and two bathrooms, air conditioned and a very practical kitchen all equipped and a balcony overlooking the see. We plan to come back next year.!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyrob78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I live in the Dominican Republic and have done a lot of short trips to a lot of different beach towns, and so far my stay at Hotel Colibri in Las Terrenas has been the highlight. The apartments are huge, immaculate, and include kitchens stocked with every utensil you need. The staff and residents are extremely friendly and helpful. It´s steps away from the beach, and if you walk 10 minutes down the beach you can buy lobster, crab, shrimp, etc. from the guys who caught it a couple of hours earlier, and you don´t need to fight them for a reasonable price. Of course you need to take the same care as you do anywhere, but you can walk around Las Terrenas without being hollered at and accosted by con artists every 5 seconds, as is the case in other towns.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarlWinslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

My sister and I stayed here in Feb 2010. We had a great experience both at the hotel and in town. The staff at the front desk were very helpful - both with recommendations and with answering questions. The night we arrived, we had problems with getting the in room safe and they came out and fixed it. The rooms are bright and airy and a good value. Ours was a little small and basic but we weren't in it much and it was clean and well tended. My only complaint (and not of the hotel) would be that we were on the first floor and the people above us had children that were up at the crack of dawn playing outside our room.

The beach is lovely - very sunny with some more shady areas (for me who gets burned). Yes the beach isn't private but none of them are. We saw whales jumping off the coast! And you can walk for miles without seeing many people. Which is the best part about Las Terrenas - it is so much less built up than other parts of the DR.

This area of the beach had a bar with great service and just a short walk away was a lovely restaurant on the beach that we ate lunch at 3 times. Both my sister and I are picky eaters and the food was quite nice with a range of fish and pastas.

The hotel is about a mile or so along the beach to town. After walking it a couple times, we rented an ATV which was a very worthwhile investment. We ate breakfast in town every morning -had great crepes for breakfast. The town is basic but cute. And there are tons of restaurants that are very good.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
570 reviews
1.4 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
156 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
471 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Dolce Vita Residence
La Dolce Vita Residence
#14 of 35 in Las Terrenas
87 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#17 of 35 in Las Terrenas
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Playa Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Playa Colibri

Address: Calle Caamano Deno Francisco Street, Las Terrenas 32200, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#8 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $98 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Residence Playa Colibri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri is located directly on the beach and close to the centre of Las Terrenas. Most of its 45 spacious apartments, suites and studios have an ocean view. The hotel has many amenities, such as an outdoor pool with jacuzzi, guest service and information in 6 languages, a restaurant and bar with beach terrace, room service, and a high speed internet connection (DSL) in every apartment. It is a great place to spend a Caribbean vacation and encounter the Dominican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Residence Playa Colibri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Playa Colibri Hotel
Residence Playa Colibri Las Terrenas
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing